We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real winner”
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliffemount Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A real winner”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Cliffemount Hotel. Although familiar with the Whitby area, we had never been to Runswick Bay but when we spotted a deal through Amazon for a 2 night stay at a very reasonable price we thought we'd give it a try.
We debated whether we should upgrade to a premier room but when we saw the room we were allocated, we were glad we did. We were given a room on the first floor with a balcony which had a wonderful view overlooking the bay. The room was wonderful - spacious, beautifully decorated, light and airy with a lovely comfortable bed and there was even a good quality telescope on the balcony. We were lucky with the weather and had wonderful sunny, warm days but I imagine that even in bad weather, the view from the hotel is stunning.
We didn't have evening meals at the hotel but the menu looked excellent and if the breakfasts were an indication of what the evening meals were like then I expect they would be wonderful.
The breakfasts were excellent, the food was beautifully cooked with locally sourced ingredients. Eating your breakfast overlooking the bay with the sun streaming through the windows was a great start to the day. The staff were attentive without being intrusive and we could not find any fault at all with this hotel.
The hotel has a good sized car park which is a bonus because we've struggled finding accommodation in the past in the Whitby area which has on-site parking.
We will definitely be returning to this hotel, hopefully for a longer stay next time.
Well done Cliffemount Hotel - you have got this spot on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    124
    55
    43
    23
See reviews for
56
355
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warrington uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is an excellent hotel if you are looking for a quiet and peaceful stay. Situated on the cliffs overlooking Runswick Bay it offers great views of the bay. Most rooms have a balcony to enjoy the view with a glass of wine from the hotel bar.
Close enough to Whitby without being too near the tourist areas it offers easy access to the coastal walks and villages in the area.
For the more scientifically minded easy access to the bay, (although the climb back up is steep) you can discover fossils in the cliffs.
The bay has a nice sandy area for children and a small cafe for cool drinks and ices.

Room Tip: request one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Cliffemount Hotel is a 3-star, 20-bedroom boutique hotel punching well above its weight. From its unique vantage point overlooking Runswick Bay in North Yorks, it offers unparalleled views of the bay and surrounding countryside
We were unaware of its existence until an Amazon Local "sampler" offer popped up in my in-box. For the princely sum of £189.00 for two people, we got a premier room with sea view balcony with breakfast for two nights plus a five course “taster menu” dinner on the first night
We were allocated its Lingrow room with a wonderfully comfortable bed, super en-suite and good sized balcony overlooking the Bay. The food, showcasing the chef’s undoubted talents. was excellent and with a very reasonably priced wine menu, no wonder the restaurant was full of both staying guests and locals. This is a privately owned and run hotel and the owners certainly know what they are doing to attract repeat business. We cannot recommend it enough and will return even though we live near Chester.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just like to thank carol and Ian and all the staff for making Trevor 60th birthday one never to forget the food was absolutely fantastic has always and dog friendly. cant wait for new year eve for a fantastic 5 course meal and drinks and entertainment .barbara and Trevor

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A two night stay here was not long enough. Stunning views from our room. Friendly and helpful staff. The food was outstanding. We had the taster menu the first night and Lobster the second night. Everything was cooked outstandingly well. Breakfast - well, the English breakfast was again cooked to perfection and the Whitby kippers were the best I have ever eaten. The chef is to be commended as are all the staff. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at the Cliffemount this week ( Aug 6 - 8) and it was really great - great room, great staff, great food, fantastic location - so why the 'but' ? For those of us who live and operate in the 21st century wifi (in the rooms ) is on a par with running water and multi channel TV. I rly on having wifi to plan my days, buy tickets, book restaurants etc etc and the Cliffemount really needs to get this sorted - unless of course they are totally happy to just go with those for whom this is not an issue ( The Royal, in Runswick, for instance has got it right. That said, the Cliffemount was faultless in every other respect.... Fresh, well prepared food and guests treated very well :-D thanks for a great stay - but please sort out the wifi.

Room Tip: Super premium - balcony & sea view - great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hot55, Owner at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for your comments,but we do have wi-fi in all public areas and have plans to extend the range to all rooms very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights. Room 6 has NO SEAVIEW. It overlooks the car park, can get noisey, especially with the rooster cocka doodle dooing from 6 am. It is a family room, very clean, bit dated. Good sized bathroom, you can struggle to gain access to taps, the shower door on bath would not budge. Breakfast was waitress served, you had to ask for extra coffee and toast. Boiled eggs were cooked perfect. Other half had full English on final day, it was excellent. You were asked each morning if you were dining at the restaurant. While this made great business, when you are on a break you never know what the day will hold????? A little pushy I thought. We did eat here on one occasion, the views are stunning out of the restaurant, hubby had squid I had crab and prawns in a jar, both were tasty and well presented. Hubby then had haddock, I had whitby scampi. The chips were not good, the fish was nice, the meal with a bottle of wine and 2 coffee came to Approx 70.00. A little overpriced as said by other contributors. The staff were excellent, hard working, always there at some part of the day. Our 4 night stay with breakfast cost 480.00. We would return.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 16kimc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
13.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Property: Cliffemount Hotel
Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing