We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“''Superb Stay''”
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cliffemount Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed for one night only, as we were on a business trip, but the welcoming atmosphere of this small boutique hotel immediately made us feel as chilled and comfortable as would a holiday break. On arrival, we were delighted to discover an upgrade to a room with a balcony overlooking the bay, further enhanced by luxurious little touches such as robes and an abundance of tea and coffee and complimentary cookies. The hotel environment is brimming with inviting glimpses of the bay and the wider Yorkshire landscape as it enjoys a privileged cliff top position. The interior décor is calm and contemporary and we found ourselves settling for hours in one of the little niches that the hotel offers for drinks, conversation and use of Wi-fi. Similarly the room appeared freshly decorated, pleasantly furnished and very clean. Importantly, it was warm and smelled of clean laundry. Staff were friendly, helpful and attentive without exception. We had dinner in the hotel and this proved to be a delight. We were as impressed with the home made breads and nutty flavoured hand cut chips as we were with the main dishes (flavoursome steak pie and perfectly cooked Whitby cod). High standards were evident at breakfast also. All meals were served piping hot and well presented. Consequently, we ate far too much during this short stay as portions were generous. Overall, the hotel made a favourable impression on us and we considered it to be good value for money, unlike some of the other venues we have tried (in Saltburn). We shall return soon as we left the hotel feeling refreshed and somewhat inspired by the gorgeously scenic Runswick Bay.

Epworth couple

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silka0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

fabulous little boutique hotel, we upgraded and had a room with a balcony overlooking the bay. Food was divine and staff very helpful and friendly. We had breakfast & dinner on both days and even though there was not a lot of choice on the dinner menu I found it difficult to choose as all of the dishes sounded (and were) delicious. Breakfast was fantastic too. We will definitely go back soon

Room Tip: balcony rooms are definitely worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here on a 2 night break with a Living Socials deal, opting for the more expensive Premier Room.( We were in room No.2) The Hotel is perched right on the top of the hill overlooking Runswick Bay, and has breathtaking views. Cleveland Way runs right past the hotel and is great for walking and dog lovers The room was very comfortable with a balcony which we loved, it was warm and very clean and complimentary robes provided. Staff were pleasant, we had dinner in the hotel restaurant one evening, there was plenty of choice on the menu, the food was well cooked and nicely presented, waiting staff were helpful and attentive. We were offered a free bottle of house wine when dining in, if we had two or more courses, I asked if we might upgrade the wine to one more of our choosing and pay the difference but request was immediately dismissed, so we bought it anyway and had to fore- go the 'freebie'! Never mind!
Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order. It arrived really hot and nicely presented, compliments to the chef. Overall I very pleasant place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are a must, the views are spectacular,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longreach59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just had a weekend away in this lovely hotel and have to say we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. This hotel is in the most perfect location high up overlooking the bay. We arrived a little early and had a drink in the bar while we waited for our room. As well as the bar there are several seating areas where you can relax. We had booked a standard room but on arrival were delighted to find we had been upgraded to an executive room - the Borrowby - a lovely large bright room with a bay window ( with window seat ) overlooking the sea. Beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean with everything you could need for a great stay. Lovely bathroom with a really good shower again very clean.
The restaurant offers an excellent menu at what we considered to be a very reasonable cost especially as the quality and presentation of the food is of such a high standard. We ate in on our second night and were very impressed by the whole experience. My baked Camembert starter was fabulous as was my main course of Lamb shank. So tender it just fell off the bone. I opted for Crème Brulee for my dessert and it was perfect. We also received a complimentary bottle of wine with our meal - an excellent Merlot which we both enjoyed. We thought that the bar prices were very reasonable too. Not much different to other bars in the surrounding area. Breakfast is very good. The dining room has spectacular views over the bay and we were lucky enough to be able to eat breakfast while gazing out over the sea. I don't usually have a cooked breakfast but I wouldn't have missed this. Well laid out and tasty. Fruit juice, fruit, cereals and yoghurts for starters, the Yorkshire breakfast and then toast and marmalade to finish with - lovely !!!
A very friendly and welcoming hotel serving top quality produce in an amazing location. Not sure what else you could ask for.
Thank you so much for a lovely weekend. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the area. We would love to come back in the summer and take advantage of the outdoor seating which affords a beautiful view of the bay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artisanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great village and sea side location. Not exactly boutique more of a G Plan retro dinning room. Did my best but impossible to make it a romantic dinner, after dark you might as well be in a windowless room. Breakfast was better but you need to be early to get the best tables. V nice superior room (Normanby) but for £180 I would have expected a decent tv. Staff tried v hard but we're working in a pretty bland environment. The bar was more airport hotel than quaint country and most of the beers were off. Food quality was great and good value but again chef deserved a more intimate restaurant. The owners and staff try to be accommodating so best to say each to their own.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hot55, Owner at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

I am unsure as to how to reply to this review as i don't think we should apologise for mother nature making it dark at night, also if a 40 inch digital tv is not good enough i'm not sure what we need?
I would ask prospective customers to look at our website and make their own assumptions on our decor!!
Finally thank you for your other comments which appear to be complimentary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent two days at the Cliffemount to celebrate our wedding anniversary at the beginning of October. The check in was straight forward and we were shown to our standard room which had beautiful views over the bay. The room was clean, with tea and coffee making facilities and hair dryer; the shower room was very small, but adequate for our two day stay. We ate in the hotel on our first evening and the food was excellent - tasty and well presented - if a little on the expensive side. The drinks also were a little expensive and the bar area very quiet. Breakfast was delicious.

The hotel is in a prime position overlooking Runswick Bay - it was very windy while we were there, the sea being very rough but giving us excellent photo opportunities. The only downside of our trip was that the staff never introduced themselves, and could perhaps have been a little more people friendly, but this would not stop us returning to an otherwise excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Relaxing hotel with a stunning view over Runswick Bay about 10 miles from Whitby. Lovely walks from the door step along the Cleveland way and very dramatic coast line, with pretty seaside villages. Food was excellent if on the pricey side. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Quiet hotel in a good location. Another hotel is about 50 yards away and down the steep bank into Runswick you will find a traditional pub.

Only negative I can come up with could do with larger beds, and bigger TV (not that you will have much time to watch it) TV on the wall was only about 15" and looked lost.

Room Tip: Upgrade to premium room with balcony. We stayed in Claymoor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,134 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,075 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,538 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range: £84 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing