We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisiest hotel room ever slept in”
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliffemount Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Castleside, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“noisiest hotel room ever slept in”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

after having a weekend here for our wedding anniversary we were very disappointed. Our room called roxby was next to the heating boiler which came on at regular intervals, the room above us, their sanitary pipes were in the corner of our room, so when the toilet was flushed and the shower was used, the noise of the water was very loud. The shower over the bath had a fixed screen that i couldn't reach to turn the shower or bath on, and the fan didn't work in the bathroom so the walls were very wet all the time. The radiators in the room would not turn off so the room was very hot. The sea view we didn't have just metal sheds and the farm yard next door. The restaurant prices were very expensive for a 3 * hotel, £15 for scampi and chips!! When we discussed our problems when leaving we were just fobbed off, won't be staying again

Room Tip: do not get the roxby room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna N Micha... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    129
    55
    43
    23
See reviews for
57
361
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We travelled up from Wakefield, arriving mid morning and called into the Cliffemount hotel hoping for a late breakfast and was warmly received. Lovely table with terrific views over the bay. Had the best poached eggs on toast, fresh tasting with bright yellow yokes, a fantastic start to our holiday.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have just had a lovely relaxing stay at Cliffemount. Perfect to do as little or as much as you want. Amazing views and walks with local towns only a short drive away. We were given a very warm welcome and the room was lovely with everything we wanted. The restaurant is certainly worth a visit, the menu is excellent and the food delicious. We will certainly be returning

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Its been several years since we last stayed in Runswick, and back in Yorkshire the other week for a family wedding I was tempted by other hotels in the Whitby area but my wife insisted on returning to the Cliffemount, happy wife happy life I thought and it was an excellent decision. Warmly greeted by the proprietor and his loveable terrier, who remembered us from our previous visit over two years ago, we had a delightful bedroom with the most amazing view over the bay, an excellent full English breakfast in the morning & a bracing walk on the windswept but beautiful beach. We attended the wedding the following day and were joined by two friends for dinner at the Cliffemount who had also attended the same wedding with us but with age against us we decided a lovely supper would engage us far better than a night dancing with the newly weds and all the young ones! The food was quite simply divine, as good as I've tasted for many a year, we all chose different starters & mains and on each course were jealously looking at the others plates with envy, the fillet steak was to die for, well hung locally sourced & cooked to perfection medium-rare, and with my ever expanding waistline I even managed to share a deconstructed lemon meringue pie served in a small kilner jar with my good lady wife.....it was superb. Our friends had been staying at Raithwaite Hall the previous evening and said that the food there whilst good was not in the same class as the Cliffemount. We won't wait another three years to return to this wonderful & very hospitable venue...thankyou to Carol & Ian and their amazing team

Room Tip: You must choose a room overlooking the bay, its worth paying that little bit more and you will strug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatJockLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

visit Feb17 through to 20th
Given room 7-no lift -26 stairs up
Uncomfortable sprung bed and bathroom with no shower and a bath with no grab handles. The bath was placed under the slope line of the roof so I could not get in or out.I suffer with neuropathy in my legs.
Arrived 30 mins early to be greeted by a landlady who told us very brusquely that the rooms were not ready.We knew the room would not be ready for another 30mins,we thought we would just check.She told us off like naughty children.
£99prpn Bed and Breakfast
Didn't ask for a room change because both our granddaughters were comfortable and safe in
Room 8 next door.
Rooms clean and food adequate.
Will not return -if you use this place look at the cancellation rules-then pick somewhere else
John and Ann Adams Chesterfield

Room Tip: If elderly keep lower rooms as no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandAnnAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pheasant1, Owner at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are extremely disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us, unfortunately you chose not to discuss anything with us during your stay or on check out therefore we could not do anything for you at the time. Had you mentioned your infirmity on booking we would placed you in a different room without hesitation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We booked this through Groupon and it was a really pleasant surprise both in location and accommodation. The room had a fantastic view over the bay and despite the January weather the changing scenery from sunrise to sunset was spectacular.

The restaurant has equally good views and the food was very good for both breakfast and dinner, the chef is great and welcomes you into the restaurant with recommendations and tips.

We will definitely go back to this little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked this hotel through Groupon on the recommendation of friends. We were not disappointed. Sitting as the name suggests on the top of a cliff, it overlooks the beautiful Runswick Bay. THe hotel is small and comfortable to my mind it was like the Tardis in reverese , it looked big on the outside but inside was quite small. The restaurant was comfotable and quiet (mid week in December) The food was excellent and service attentive. Our room was pleasant but small and although on the windy side of the hotel quiet. We were a bit disappointed not to be offered an upgrade to a balcony room as there were only two other couples in the hotel but that was not to be. The lack of a lounge other than the bar or reception area was probably my only criticism.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
185 reviews
13.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,188 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Property: Cliffemount Hotel
Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing