We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and fabulous views”
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cliffemount Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

a special weekend was enjoyed at this hotel, we were greeted in the car park and looked after during our stay by nice people, food is well made from an interesting menu, good wholesome food to bolster the walks in and around Runswick, a good base for visits to Whitby, Scarborough and Brid.

Room Tip: try for an upper bay front room to get the spectacular sun up skies over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beenthere1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Recently visited for lunch and opted to sit outside in the sun with a view over the bay. We ordered starters of Yorkshire Puddings with gravy and a homemade Whitby fish finger sandwich and a chip sandwich. The food was to a very good standard and I will return on my next visit to Runswick Bay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JC1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner went out for a evening meal and decided upon this very picturesque seaside village and chose the cliffemount hotel with its stunning coast views. The food was excellent in presentation and quality and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a spectacular location to stay or just a excellent meal in a friendly atmosphere. We would just like to thank all the staff for a unforgettable evening.
Thank you
Caroline Dixon & John Richardson

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank carolinecazdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

What shame. This hotel has deteriorated since our visit several years ago.the whole place is shabby and at the beginning of the season we expected it to be top notch.
When we booked we were told only Premium Rooms were available yet there was only another couple at breakfast so we wondered why .
The cost of the 2course dinner was the same as we had Paid at the Pipe and Glass for 2 courses and there was absolutely no comparison in the standards and the Pipe and glass has a Michelin star.
The only thing that hadn't changed for the worse was the spectacular view but we won't be returning to the hotel for that. It is free from the top of the hill.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the Cliffemount Hotel on the 3rd May 2014, on arrival the staff were friendly courteous helpful and professional. The views were incredible across Runswick Bay the room was large and airy with a lovely bay window. The only minor thing to mention is that some of the carpets are a little threadbare in places on the stairs. We had dinner in the evening and the food was superb, again the service was excellent from all the staff concerned, in fact the food was so good we booked in for the following evening as well, yes it isn't a cheap evening meal but I didn't feel it was over priced. Breakfast was excellent, fresh, good quality, well cooked food, presented well and served quickly. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and restaurant we will be going back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowent09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Do not be taken in by the 'beautiful view', peel back the fabric and find a very basic hotel. We found the staff very friendly, helpful and courteous. The breakfast was of good standard but, no better than you would get in a Premier Inn. Saturday's breakfast Cumberland sausage had not even paid a visit to Cumbria, they had obviously run out and substituted a pink, bready alternative. We had dinner on the Saturday night which, was very nice and well-presented but, I feel was over-priced: we had had a tasty meal the night before at a local restaurant which, I feel, gave better value for money.

The Room! We were accommodated in room 1, beware! Initial appearances were good, it was tidy, clean and presentable, testament to a good housekeeping team. The bed was comfortable and linen clean and fresh. We thought the furniture looked like it had come from a house clearance establishment, nothing matched, pine chest of drawers and a heavily varnished dark boxwood wardrobe.The bathroom was a health and safety nightmare, although there were signs advising you of the hazards! The bathroom could best be described as a walk in wardrobe. The shower had obviously had a previous problem with overflowing, as a piece of black plastic had been glued to the shower tray to contain the water. This created a large step up and down with no hand hold to steady yourself. The sink was small, the type you get in a small downstairs toilet and was loose on the wall, the towel rail, which fell off when putting the towel on it, was mounted on a piece of emulsioned 3 x 2 piece of wood with exposed end grain, perhaps this was a rustic effect! Disposable plastic tumblers in the bathroom, really! Is this what it takes to be an AA three star and in the Michelin guide for 2014?

I am afraid £120 per night for two with breakfast is about £50 per night overpriced. We will not be staying here again, principally because it is very poor value for money. The Firs up the road is a more realistically priced establishment. By all means, have a meal at the Cliffemount and enjoy a beer in the garden with a stunning view of Runswick Bay. Take away the view and you really do have a basic seaside B & B.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Beautiful spot on the top of the cliff looking over the wonderful Runswick Bay.
Nice dog friendly bar.
Nice friendly staff.
Nice beer.
Good food, although I would welcome more inspired choice for vegetarians.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anyoneinracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,134 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,075 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,539 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range: £84 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing