We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem”
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliffemount Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a Gem”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Review: My husband and I are keen walkers and booked this hotel as it is virtually on the Cleveland way walk. The location of this hotel was not only practical (for the walk) but gives a beautiful view of the bay, which is definitely an added bonus and worth a look. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Our room was big, clean and tastefully decorated, with a balcony that gave another great view of the bay. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable and we both had an excellent nights sleep.
We had dinner in the restaurant, which again gave great views of the bay, very tranquil and romantic. We both had seafood dishes, which the chef was happy to change slightly, (my husband wanted fresh chilli adding to his dish). The food looked good on the plate but, tasted even better. All produce was fresh and locally sourced. The restaurant is definitely worth a visit even if your not staying.
Overall we had a wonderful stay at this little gem of a hotel and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet getaway, and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    129
    55
    43
    23
See reviews for
57
361
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just returned from two night stay at the Cliffmount Hotel, Runswick. Had a most enjoyable time,
Accommodation great, food excellent as are all the staff, Millie enjoyed her stay too.

Hope to see you later in the year,

Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
628 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stopped off here en route to Whitby & had coffee. Fantastic location with unbelievable views. Staff very friendly & welcoming the coffee was really good. Unfortunately we were unable to sit in the garden due to the rain.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilB505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Well what do you say as soon as we pulled up at the hotel we thought that the views would be good but when sitting in the beer garden and taking in the views you realise how fantastic the bay looks like bathed in sunlight. Coming from the land of the flat (the fens) this truly is a beautiful view. We did not stay at the hotel but we found the staff very accomodating. We did have lunch which was very good, the fish tasted like it was caught that morning and overall the meal was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank handsome1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

a special weekend was enjoyed at this hotel, we were greeted in the car park and looked after during our stay by nice people, food is well made from an interesting menu, good wholesome food to bolster the walks in and around Runswick, a good base for visits to Whitby, Scarborough and Brid.

Room Tip: try for an upper bay front room to get the spectacular sun up skies over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenthere1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Recently visited for lunch and opted to sit outside in the sun with a view over the bay. We ordered starters of Yorkshire Puddings with gravy and a homemade Whitby fish finger sandwich and a chip sandwich. The food was to a very good standard and I will return on my next visit to Runswick Bay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JC1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner went out for a evening meal and decided upon this very picturesque seaside village and chose the cliffemount hotel with its stunning coast views. The food was excellent in presentation and quality and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a spectacular location to stay or just a excellent meal in a friendly atmosphere. We would just like to thank all the staff for a unforgettable evening.
Thank you
Caroline Dixon & John Richardson

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carolinecazdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
185 reviews
13.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,189 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Property: Cliffemount Hotel
Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing