We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliffemount Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Breath taking view from large bay window in our small but comfortable room. Toilet and shower room far too tiny and in need of a refurb. Room 4 is above kitchen and when kitchen in operation there is a very loud buzzing in the room from an extactor fan. This is just not on! However, the owners and staff are friendly and professional taking great care over detail.
The food was quite good but not quite the fine dining experience promised in the Yorkshire Post advertisng feature.
Would consider again in the future but not accept room 4.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank realtigerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2008

A very good stay overall. Our room had a little balcony with a beautiful view of the bay and was charmingly decorated. The restaurant had a good menu and we enjoyed the atmosphere and food. The staff were very friendly and quite accommodating of our dog. The only thing that was less than ideal was the shower which would sporadically flip up and spray the ceiling without warning, but this was a very minor annoyance. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially to people traveling with pets.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peaceturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Cliffemount hotel, the hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. The views over the bay are to die for and the setting is very peaceful and relaxed. We booked a standard double room which was very comfortable and clean with a large bathroom with efficient shower and bath. The bed was really comfortable. There was always plenty of hot water. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room which are replenished daily. Our room was cleaned whilst we were at breakfast which was nice so no inconvenience at all. The breakfast was very nice with a fair choice but then for £90 a night b & b for the cheapest room without a seaview - I would expect a good standard.

We ate in the restaurant one evening, this was quite pricey and had a limited menu but the food was of a very good standard indeed using locally sourced ingredients and fresh fish so we didnt mind paying a bit more - after all you get what you pay for. However, I did feel the wine was incredibly over priced - and the bar prices were extortionate - a gin and tonic was almost £5.00 and a glass of house wine £5.15 - having said this - maybe a good place to go if you are teetotal!

Although we did not have children with us, we did notice that there are no facilities for children at all, and they are not catered for in the restaurant, also it is a real hike down to the beach.

Overall it was a nice break which we both enjoyed even if it was a bit on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 50sbumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hot55, Owner at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2008

The Prices for wine and gin & tonic represent a 250ml glass of wine and our measures for spirits are 35 ml not 25 ml therefore the prices are commesurate with the quantitys recieved.

Our food is locally sourced and the best available we believe our prices to be of good value for the quality recieved

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2008

With a few significant 'tweaks' this could be a great hotel. The sea view is to die for, and the evening meal food is good (although somewhat overpriced). On the whole, the staff were pleasant too.

On the downside, the hotel needs to address 4 important points:

1. We had a child with us but the hotel doesn't really cater for children - for example, in the evening there was no children's menu and only one main course dish was really capable of being adapted for size into a child's portion. Cliffemount could attract a lot more customers if the hotel were more child-friendly. On the other hand, if the hotel doesn't really want to attract families, its advertising should make it clear that it isn't really suitable for children.

2. For a hotel that claims to be 'Luxury', the breakfast menu isn't varied enough. For example, there was only one type of fruit juice on offer, and no continental option (e.g. croissants, yoghurt etc). Even the most humble B&B's provide these now.

3. The hotel has a beautiful sea view - so why dump so many unsightly cardboard boxes in the garden in a direct line with that view? Sloppy at the very least, and at worst this shows no consideration for guests. The hotel should put the boxes somewhere else or build a screen!

4. It was a cold winter's weekend, but the hotel chose to turn off the central heating each afternoon! So when on Saturday we returned from a long and cold walk at 4.30pm, the room was freezing! This is totally inconsistent with any 'hotel' label, let alone a 'luxury' hotel label. Money saving certainly shouldn't come into it given the hotel's rates!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwickyMinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

My daughter, her young daughter and I stayed in the apartment attached to the hotel. We paid £500 for (I think) five nights. On the plus side the accommodation was warm. On the minus - the sitting room cum dining room cum kitchen was sparsely furnished. It just wasn't homely. There was a double sofa bed and one armchair, four dining chairs and a table although it was advertised as sleeping five. My daughter slept on the sofa bed which folded up if she rolled over to the edge. In spite of its being advertised as sleeping five we had to ask for extra bedding as it was provided only for the double and single beds in the upstairs bedroom. The kitchen in one corner of the sitting room had the absolute minimum of equipment and not particularly good quality and I had to ask for a small vegetable knife. We found a frozen pizza in the top of the fridge from a previous guest. When we cooked sausages on the grill which was inside the oven the smoke alarm was activated and in a phone call from reception we were immediately accused of smoking in the apartment. Diplomacy somewhat lacking.

But by far the worst aspect was the noise and vibration from the unit positioned under the sitting room window. This ran intermittently all the time. We were told it was the cooling unit for the cellar which was at ground level under our apartment - our apartment was above this on first and second floor level. I think we should have been warned about this beforehand or been given a discount.

In August 2007 we stayed at a gite in Normandy. It slept nine, was quiet and peaceful, spotlessly clean and the kitchen had every conceivable gadget and enough crockery and cutlery to cater for the Russian army. It was also a fraction of the price of the Cliffemount apartment and this price even included the ferry crossing for car and passengers.

We love Runswick Bay and know it well but the apartment really was a rip off.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireFlora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

We have long planned to visit the Cliffemount-and what a disappointment! Two plusses: the view of the bay from our room was fabulous,despite the poor weather,& given the downsides we experienced,we were glad we paid the extra.Dinner was also good, though the menu varies daily as to be expected & we wished we'd eaten on the Friday instead of the Saturday when it was much more interesting ie lobster & green-lipped mussels.
Now to the downsides. Our first encounter with the owner was telling us we had parked in an inconvenient place (not sure who for) - despite being in the hotel car park! Not a very nice welcome.
Then we had the temerity to move a chair while eating in the bar & when we finished it was ostentatiously returned to its original position as 'it was blocking the door' .The next night we were told to remain 'in the bar' because we had dared to look in the restaurant for our booked table. I don't appreciate being treated like a naughty schoolchild when paying £215 per night for bed & breakfast.Owner customer service leaves a lot to be desired (though serving staff were much more pleasant)...The rooms are tired and need updating-our shower/bath combination resulted in a soaking as we vainly tried to work out the controls;I had to ask for a hairdryer and the drawers on the bedside tables fell apart when I opened them.Ah and breakfast...I can't recall when I last stayed in a hotel boasting about its food which offered TINNED grapefruit segments at breakfast.I felt as if I'd returned to Fawlty Towers.Some fresh fruit would be appreciated - its 2007 not 1977! Drinks are ridiculously overpriced : £3.30 for a TINY glass of lukewarm pinot grigio! Shall I go on? Needless to say,we won't be returning to the Cliffemount.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank RomaSubRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

I recently visited the Cliffemount Hotel for the third time.
My two previous visits were made when the previous owner was in charge.
The difference is amazing.
The previous owner was friendly, hospitable and gracious.The present owners do not have these personal skills.
My bedroom was dated and tired. The bed was too soft and was past its best. The kettle was old and grubby, the bedding was too hot and heavy for July. The bathroom was tired, the shower splashed all over the wall if not on full power. The wash basin was cracked, the loo roll holder fell apart when touched.
Service was minimal , with no smile. Breakfast was well cooked and tasty, but the waitress never asked anyone whether they needed more tea , coffee or toast. I have no doubt they would have been forthcoming if asked for but they should have been offered.
More choice should be available, different juices, local honey and jam, crusty rolls etc.
After all this is no cheap or even moderate priced B and B.
The chef cooks wonderful meals but not everyone needs three courses every night.
I opted for a smaller meal, chose what I thought was one off the chalk board in the bar, only to find out these were starters for the restaurant meals. People on the next table were served a bar meal, which is what I would have prefered. I asked why I hadnt been shown the 'Bar menu'. The owner said , '' Well you will know for next time, wont you''.
There was no next time, as I ate in the Magpie fish restaurant in Whitby the next evening. Very good it was, too.
This hotel is in an unenviable position on the cliff edge overlooking a beautiful bay. There is great potential to make this hotel a first class establishment. Sorry to say the present owners seem reluctant to upgrade the rooms and to give hospitality of a standard the price demands.
I hope someone with imagination and flair takes it over soon.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank mhhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,096 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
639 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,066 reviews
9.4 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range: £108 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing