We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a terrible experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffemount Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Pennines
Level Contributor
165 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“What a terrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

We stayed here over a year ago. The area is fabulous but our stay at this place was dreadful. We booked last minute directly and were shocked at the price but chose to stay as nowhere else available in the area. At first the place seemed welcoming but were then shown to our annex room which was freezing cold. The furnishings were very cheap,mismatched and old fashioned - but not in a good way. We went for an afternoon walk on the beach - heavenly. Back in our room it was was still freezing so we asked for the heating to be looked at. We were told that there was no-one around to deal with it. I ended up having a bath to try and warm up. We found a small heater that was fairly useless. In the evening before going for dinner in the hotel we again asked for someone to check the heating but were told there was nothing wrong with it. We even went back into our room with the owner to prove that the radiators were barely warm but the owner swore blind that they were fine! We couldn't believe how weird this was, very faulty towers. The food was very mediocre and overpriced. Yes the breakfast was filling if you like lumpy porridge. Despite all this the employed staff were friendly, amazing considering the owners attidtude. When we checked out we did say tto the owner that we would be posting a poor review and he went bonkers with us, harldy likely to change our mind. It took me ages to post this review but I really want people to know that if they are visting this beautiful place this is not the place to stay. Freinds have since recommended a pub that is half way up the hill overlooking the bay - wish we'd known earlier.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pheasant1, owner at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2009
I have no recolection of going bonkers with any customer!!! and refute any of this review especially after a year has elapsed. I prefer to talk face to face with my customers and would be only too happy to sort any problems our customers have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    119
    55
    42
    23
See reviews for
55
347
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

We had a meal at the hotel dining room, but were not resident.
Good points:
1 We asked for a table next to the window and the view was superb
2 Friendly staff
3 Contemporary decor
Bad points:
1 We ordered an £18.95 bottle of wine, this was already on the table when we were seated. No one offered to serve the wine or ask us to taste it! This seems to be standard practice
2 The amount of veg served was an absolute joke - 8 slivers of carrot and 3 small sprigs of brocolli - this for two people to share! On main courses costing £15-£18 not good.
3 We ordered a cafetiere of coffee and it only contained enough for half a cup each!

At the prices charged the attention to detail is just not good enough

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pheasant1, Owner at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2009
We are sorry the reviewer felt like this but we have a relaxed dining style here and most guests prefer to attend to their own wine. The vegetables are an accompanyment to the main course as the dish has all potato and vegetable garnish which is unique to each dish on the plate as we are a 2AA rosette restaurant we also supply complimentary home made bread and petit fours to all of our diners. If only the reviewer would have brought any dissapointment to our attention we would have given more vegetables!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

Stayed in this hotel under previous owners (lovely), when new owners took over (some reservations) and now when new owners are established (absolutely wonderful). Rooms elegant and tasteful, dinner superb, service excellent. Prices reflect what you get and we shall certainly be returning. A fabulous escape from busy working lives!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillysheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

Spent Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and finished on Boxing Day Room spacious and clean, hospitality tray full including chocs. Food excellent and plenty of it. Staff friendly and helpful. Was here 2 years ago and would return if I was on my own for Christmas again.

  • Liked — Comfortable. Bathroom extras and hospiltality tray.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

Breath taking view from large bay window in our small but comfortable room. Toilet and shower room far too tiny and in need of a refurb. Room 4 is above kitchen and when kitchen in operation there is a very loud buzzing in the room from an extactor fan. This is just not on! However, the owners and staff are friendly and professional taking great care over detail.
The food was quite good but not quite the fine dining experience promised in the Yorkshire Post advertisng feature.
Would consider again in the future but not accept room 4.

  • Liked — The view and proximity to beach
  • Disliked — The room over the kitchen
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank realtigerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

A very good stay overall. Our room had a little balcony with a beautiful view of the bay and was charmingly decorated. The restaurant had a good menu and we enjoyed the atmosphere and food. The staff were very friendly and quite accommodating of our dog. The only thing that was less than ideal was the shower which would sporadically flip up and spray the ceiling without warning, but this was a very minor annoyance. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially to people traveling with pets.

  • Liked — view, food
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peaceturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Cliffemount hotel, the hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. The views over the bay are to die for and the setting is very peaceful and relaxed. We booked a standard double room which was very comfortable and clean with a large bathroom with efficient shower and bath. The bed was really comfortable. There was always plenty of hot water. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room which are replenished daily. Our room was cleaned whilst we were at breakfast which was nice so no inconvenience at all. The breakfast was very nice with a fair choice but then for £90 a night b & b for the cheapest room without a seaview - I would expect a good standard.

We ate in the restaurant one evening, this was quite pricey and had a limited menu but the food was of a very good standard indeed using locally sourced ingredients and fresh fish so we didnt mind paying a bit more - after all you get what you pay for. However, I did feel the wine was incredibly over priced - and the bar prices were extortionate - a gin and tonic was almost £5.00 and a glass of house wine £5.15 - having said this - maybe a good place to go if you are teetotal!

Although we did not have children with us, we did notice that there are no facilities for children at all, and they are not catered for in the restaurant, also it is a real hike down to the beach.

Overall it was a nice break which we both enjoyed even if it was a bit on the expensive side.

  • Liked — The setting and views are fantastic
  • Disliked — Over priced food and drink
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 50sbumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hot55, Owner at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2008
The Prices for wine and gin & tonic represent a 250ml glass of wine and our measures for spirits are 35 ml not 25 ml therefore the prices are commesurate with the quantitys recieved.

Our food is locally sourced and the best available we believe our prices to be of good value for the quality recieved
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Property: Cliffemount Hotel
Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing