We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious burgers with a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Hotel

The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious burgers with a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend shared the cheeseburger, the meat was succulent and juicy- very good quality! The service was very quick on a Friday evening, the staff friendly and service with a smile :)

Helpful?
2 Thank Hlm269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    47
    23
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Visit every time I go to Runswick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Staff are always friendly and welcoming. Options to sit indoors or out of the terrace that overlooks the bay. I've been here with my partner, friends and family sometimes for just a drink and other times for a meal. Lovely food and great service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Expensive but Handy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The view is amazing and I can thoroughly recommend a drink on the terrace.

We went for lunch with a party of 7 adults and 5 kids. We were politely seated and the service was great.

The menu wasn't small but it lacked a little substance. Most of us went for Scampi and Chips which was fried from a frozen bag (I expect) and tasty but nothig special.

It's certainly not one to avoid but I might have stopped for a drink and taken sandwiches instead.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TP-NEWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous fish n' home-made chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We sat out on the terrace overlooking the rollers coming in, enjoying the most fabulous fish n' home-made chips. It was the first day of our hols & we were well-pleased! The service was great. We would have been also been allowed to take our dogs inside. What a memory.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChocoloverBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“bev b.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

food fantastic service fast and cheerful . this is a place we go back to over and over again and have never been disappointed.its a gorgeous hideaway a real treat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beverley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Hotel also viewed

Staithes, North York Moors National Park
 
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing