We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect campsite for everyone.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Runswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Runswick Bay Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect campsite for everyone.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely caravan and camping site. Clean showers and toilets. Friendly staff, family and dog friendly. If the sun is shining it's the perfect break or holiday.
Plenty of walking routes and local pubs. Beach at the bottom of a steep hill, great for fossils and crabbing.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicahall8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    29
    9
    9
    4
See reviews for
58
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have just come back from runswick bay, we have had a lovely time. We wanted a site that was dog friendly and it was defiantly that. The site was clean close to beach and some good walks. The local pub is just minuets walk away and totally dog friendly and the care taker on site was a great and helpful guy. Would we go back yes .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Deborahwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have stayed on this site a number of times now both as campers and most recently as caravanners and have enjoyed some fabulous stays. The site itself is very well kept and the grounds are maintained daily by the owners and the resident helper Howard who is always happy to help. The shower and toilet block are a little dated and it would benefit from being more of them as it can get busy when the site is full, that aside they are cleaned to a very high standard.

The site is situated a short walk from the beach at Runswick which is lovely, the beach itself is a 10 minute walk you can either go straight down the road or wind round the beautiful cottages, both are quite steep routes but worth it. There are a couple of nice pubs in close proximiy as well, we particulalrly like the Royal as it is lovely to sit out on their patio and take in the glorious sea view. We have also eaten at the Runswick Bay Hotel which serves lovely home cooked meals.

The site is situated by the many footpaths and is great walking country, there are also regular bus services to Whitby which is a lovely day out. There is loads to do in the local area whatever your interests.

Have our next trip planned already.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Owner at Runswick Bay Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for you lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay.. hope to see you again soon :)
Many thanks Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We set ourselves a challenge to find a campsite for Mayday Bank Holiday weekend and stumbled on Runswick Bay Caravan and Camping Park. We received a warm welcome and was told where to go to pitch up..the site is great, very relaxing and very well run, clean, tidy and very friendly.
Local to the campsite is the village of Runswick itself, coastal walks, beach, splendid scenery and a few good pubs as a bonus!
We will definitely recommend the campsite to friends and can guarantee we will return, there is lots more to find!!
Thank you for making us welcome!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorkC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Owner at Runswick Bay Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thankyou so much for your lovely review :) we are so happy you enjoyed yourselves.. we do hope to see you again xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We've just got back from a lovely bank holiday weekend at this campsite. The location is unbeatable- just minutes walk from the most beautiful beach. The owners are so welcoming and were brilliant with our very excitable two year old! The facilities are very clean and the site well kept. We will definitely return :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JusPaulandLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Owner at Runswick Bay Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thankyou for your review, we are so pleased you had a great time... So happy your toddler had fun... we do hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We visited this site last summer and it was pretty mutch everything we hoped it would be.when we arrived we received a warm welcome from the owner.The site was well set out and very well kept. The toilet and kitchen area was just about big enough for the site but clean and we'll maintained I even came across the owner cleaning a 2am in the morning. The site is situated in one of the nicest parts of Britain with definitely the nicest bay this country has. We are now looking forward to a visit in the near future

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tomgunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Owner at Runswick Bay Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thankyou for your lovely review.. yes I'm back to cleaning the toilets every hour on the hour.. We do hope you visit us again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The campsite is very relaxed has all the facilities you need for a stay and is in a very beautiful part of the world. If it is walking, cycling or just visiting the local areas there is something for everyone.
Historic towns such as Whitby and Staithes are well within striking distance as are the North Yorkshire moors.

Local pubs if that is what you like are within a 5 min walk bad the bay itself is basic but very pleasant but please only walk there if you are relatively fit as the footpath to / from the bay we have nicknamed angina hill and when you tackle it you will know why but we return every year

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleggy1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Owner at Runswick Bay Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thankyou for your lovely review, yes I have to agree the walk back up the hill does make your heart race.. there is a carpark at the bottom for anyone who doesn't feel like the walk though :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
0.2 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
4.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Firs
The Firs
#1 of 1 in Runswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.1 mi away
Captain Cook Inn
Captain Cook Inn
#1 of 6 in Staithes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runswick Bay Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runswick Bay Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Runswick Bay Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Hinderwell Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a camping and caravan park, Minutes walk from the Beautiful Runswick Bay, and also walking distance to the Cleveland way walk,We offer, Hard standing's,Grass pitches, Electric hook-ups,we are in walking distance to the nearby Runswick Bay Hotel, also the Royal Hotel down in the Bay, both offering fantastic food,A bus stop at the entrance to the campsite takes you in to Whitby...We are very Dog friendly, dogs are also allowed in the pubs and on the beach... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Runswick Bay Caravan And Camping Park Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing