We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Runswick Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Runswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Runswick Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Haven't stayed in a room here but we did stop by for an evening meal. Seems like a welcoming friendly pub with a decent range of drinks and food. Nice real fire - perfect for a November evening. Our meal was very good although we did have quite a long wait for it. My husband was just about to check that our order was being dealt with when it arrived. We ate in the small dining room which was very quiet and so sadly lacked a little atmosphere. The quality and presentation of the food was very nice and the wine was very reasonable priced. Would definitely eat here again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artisanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    74
    14
    10
    12
See reviews for
62
112
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-sea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A nice hotel, with nice rooms, lovely staff and a beautiful location. The houses near the bay are amazing and you can walk around them. The view of the bay is stunning. Nice large breakfast was provided too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My friend and I go here twice per year and every time it is really lovely. The food us superb, the portions are huge and we did say they ought to reduce these a bit! Dogs are welcome and the staff are brilliant. Even our dog got his own grilled sausage for breakfast each morning! It us very reasonably priced and very close to the beach and lovely Whitby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great pub in Runswick bay, the new landlord is great, and his cooking is delightful!
Can't go wrong in here.
Haven't stopped in the bedrooms, but I imagine it's good accommodations
Perfect location, Runswick bay is a beautiful village, and this hotel is right opposite the hill down to the beautiful bay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Another recommendation that didn't live up to expectation. We were aware that new Owners had taken over and were refurbishing for a new start. Website looked promising. However, arriving on a Lunchtime there was not a great deal to recommend it. Place didn't really seem ready for Customers ( at 1230 ). The Bar didn;t look inviting for a meal, only one table of comfortable size for four people eatingand that had a warped top. Another room smelt of a mixture of smoke and damp, and a proper dining room through the back was not open. Drinkswise there was initiallyno Vodka and the white wine came out of a bottle that had obviously been opened some indeterminate time before. Of the meal, two meals were adequate, one was mediocre and did not look very fresh, and one got sent back as the fish was obviously well past it's best. The chef did have the grace to personally come out and apologise, but it was not an experience to be repeated in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for one night at The Runswick Bay Hotel and wish we had stayed longer. The Hotel is set at the top of a steep hill overlooking the beautiful Runswick Bay and it’s sandy beach. The Cleveland Way coastal path actually runs through the pub car park so you could not be more ideally situated for wonderful walks along the cliff tops and through the pretty local villages.

We checked in with our dog just after 2pm and were greeted by a very helpful young lady. We were shown to our room and evening meal service times / breakfast times were explained to us. The room was large with plenty of storage space for a longer stay and plenty of space for our dog’s bed and paraphernalia. The room was bright, airy and very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was also bright and clean and had an electric shower over the bath. There are signs of wear in the room, some plaster that requires patching up, a very tired looking carpet and wires protruding from the ceiling (which look like work towards some updated light fittings). I mention these points only because such things could be an issue to others but for us they had no bearing on our stay whatsoever!

After a long walk and a swim in the sea with the dog (wetsuit essential!), we took up residence in the lounge bar with our dog and enjoyed a few drinks with friends who were also staying. The pub started to get busier around 5.30pm so we took the dog upstairs. Before booking we had spoken to the landlord to check that we could leave our dog unattended in the room during the evening as she is not at ease with strangers or other dogs! This is a huge plus point for us as many pubs / hotels which are dog friendly do not allow you to leave them alone in the room. Also, all the staff we encountered seemed dog savvy and knowing our dog’s personality traits didn’t try to fuss her and gave her plenty of space which was greatly appreciated!

We had booked a table in the dining room for 8pm for our meal. The menu offered plenty of choice with a mixture of basic British pub grub together with some more exotic offerings. The portions of food for both the starters and main courses were more than generous. I had a rib eye steak for my main which was excellent and cooked exactly as requested. The food was excellent value for money and you certainly wouldn’t go hungry here.

With full tummy’s we made our way to our room for a good night’s sleep. We hardly heard a noise through the night despite our early end to the evening. In fact the only noise was the exceptionally loud toilet cistern which made us rather paranoid about flushing the loo in the night! It seems however that this was not restricted to our room as our friends commented on the same and we heard our bedroom neighbours’ noisy cistern through the walls too! Perhaps the hotel could look into this minor issue.

Overall a very enjoyable stay with good food and comfortable surroundings, can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rm2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Dog friendly (even with a GSD !) the two of us had Sunday lunch here. The service was great, prices reasonable and wow, the food, a real plate full, lots of fresh veg, great roast potatoes. I had roast pork - great crackling - and my wife had roast beef. Usually Sunday roasts are well over-cooked but this was just right with the meat nice and tender. Highly recommended and we will definitely be going back for more !

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robinhoodsbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
0.1 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Firs
The Firs
#1 of 1 in Runswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runswick Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runswick Bay Hotel

Property: Runswick Bay Hotel
Address: 2 Hinderwell Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the top of Runswick Bay, the bay itself is only a 5 minute walk down the bank.  When you decide a day on the beach is quite enough you can make your way slowly back up the hill and come join us for a refreshing drink and either a light lunch or a main meal.  We are also the ideal location for a short weekend break or a longer stay if you desire. We are situated on the long stretch of coastline and surrounded by the North Yorkshire Moors which makes for a fulfilled stay, as the amount of activities to do are endless. The Cleveland Way runs directly through our car park so we are the ideal spot for a nights stay for a break in your walk, being just a short distance from Whitby. ​ We are proud to support local businesses by supplying local beers, produce and artwork.  ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Runswick Bay Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing