We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming!”
Review of Runswick Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Runswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Runswick Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had a Friday and Saturday night stay here on the last day of February and the first day of March 2014. Fortunately we took some great weather with us which enabled us to take advantage of this Hotels position adjacent to the Cleveland Way and walk to Staithes and back along the cliff path.
The Runswick has become a labour of love for the owner Simon who is gradually renovating throughout pretty much single handedly! As such, the accommodation presently has some rough edges but, nothing major enough to deter you having a nice stay other than, some quite loud flushing toilets but, better that than no flush at all!! We stayed in the four poster room which was lovely.
The best thing about our stay was undoubtedly the food! We had planned to eat out on the Saturday but enjoyed the food so much we stayed at base for a second helping!! A nice imaginative menu,well cooked and served by staff with a smile.We ate in the bar as that was where the wonderful log burning fire was to be found,very cosy! The breakfasts were equally wonderful and, served by the lovely Judy, for whom nothing was too much trouble!
An added bonus for us but, maybe a drawback for some, is that this hotel is canine friendly and has its own front of house Springadour named Ted!!We felt that this added to the overall friendly ambience of the place as a whole and we look forward to returning in the future to inspect Simon`s handiwork!

Room Tip: The four poster was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRMAGPIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had an evening meal here on New Years Eve, the food was cooked to perfection. This was the first time we had eaten here on an evening (we live local) and would definitely recommend and will certainly dine here again. Friendly staff and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank karen3703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We love this hotel they make you feel welcome nice staff one lady called shelly nice food very family friendly cant wait to go again nice walks nice beach we have made lots of friends there will go every year xxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Haven't stayed in a room here but we did stop by for an evening meal. Seems like a welcoming friendly pub with a decent range of drinks and food. Nice real fire - perfect for a November evening. Our meal was very good although we did have quite a long wait for it. My husband was just about to check that our order was being dealt with when it arrived. We ate in the small dining room which was very quiet and so sadly lacked a little atmosphere. The quality and presentation of the food was very nice and the wine was very reasonable priced. Would definitely eat here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank artisanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A nice hotel, with nice rooms, lovely staff and a beautiful location. The houses near the bay are amazing and you can walk around them. The view of the bay is stunning. Nice large breakfast was provided too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My friend and I go here twice per year and every time it is really lovely. The food us superb, the portions are huge and we did say they ought to reduce these a bit! Dogs are welcome and the staff are brilliant. Even our dog got his own grilled sausage for breakfast each morning! It us very reasonably priced and very close to the beach and lovely Whitby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great pub in Runswick bay, the new landlord is great, and his cooking is delightful!
Can't go wrong in here.
Haven't stopped in the bedrooms, but I imagine it's good accommodations
Perfect location, Runswick bay is a beautiful village, and this hotel is right opposite the hill down to the beautiful bay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
0.1 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
547 reviews
4.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,162 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,551 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
894 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 2 in Goathland
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runswick Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runswick Bay Hotel

Address: 2 Hinderwell Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range: £40 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the top of Runswick Bay, the bay itself is only a 5 minute walk down the bank. When you decide a day on the beach is quite enough you can make your way slowly back up the hill and come join us for a refreshing drink and either a light lunch or a main meal. We are also the ideal location for a short weekend break or a longer stay if you desire. We are situated on the long stretch of coastline and surrounded by the North Yorkshire Moors which makes for a fulfilled stay, as the amount of activities to do are endless. The Cleveland Way runs directly through our car park so we are the ideal spot for a nights stay for a break in your walk, being just a short distance from Whitby. ​ We are proud to support local businesses by supplying local beers, produce and artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Runswick Bay Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing