We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Runswick Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Runswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Runswick Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food and breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Eat here on Friday and Saturday night plus breakfast. Good food and reasonably priced. In a group of 10 and they made us very welcome and really enjoyed our time. Runswick Bay is a lovely place and so are the people we met. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnUK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    72
    14
    10
    12
See reviews for
60
107
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton Upon-Trent
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed last week, whilst walking Cleveland Way. It us a lovely Bay, although we did not have Bay views.

The location was perfect. The welcome was warm. The rooms were clean, cheerful, functional and on generous, size space-wise, which was good for unpacking contents of rucksack, which we chose to carry, rather than use a Sherpa.

The food (dinner and breakfast) was hearty. The staff couldn't have been nicer. It's not 'posh' but comfortable and ideal for our purposes. We thoroughly enjoyed our night in the bar for the 'general knowledge' quiz.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is a little tired, but is ungoing refurbishment. Having said that it is very clean and tidy. Staff were all great and provided a good service with excellent, freshly cooked meals. The breakfast was so hearty it kept us going all day. The hotel is very doggie friendly which is great for people like us who always like to take our girls with us.
Overall ......Top Notch. This was a girlie break but I will be returning with my husband.

Room Tip: Once the refurb is complete without doubt it will get top marks all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Nanas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped in Runswick Bay hotel on a spur of the moment trip to Whitby.

The decor is a little dated (shabby chic) but the room was clean and spacious, and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. They serve a mean breakfast as well!

The ultimate plus for us is that they were dog friendly, and meant it...they love our four legged friends.

For the money you can't go wrong. It's in a beautiful location, a hop, skip and jump away from a lovely secluded beach, and just 9 miles outside the hustle and bustle of Whitby.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bifster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We visited for a 1 night stay with our 2 children. Very warm welcome. Helpful staff, lovely room, ample car park, breakfast was fabulous and Ted the dog was nearly dognapped by our children as he is so lovely but we left him sleeping happily by the huge log burner !. Will hopefully be back very soon. Refurbishment is ongoing so should be even better when we return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleep33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lovely welcome from the friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere, made to feel very welcome indeed. ExCellent food in the evenings, good breakfast. Nice, comfortable room. Plumbing a bit noisy but no big deal. Excellent location. Pub dog Ted is the star of the stay! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toffeenosebooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we were met warmly by the staff and the wonderfully cute Ted the Dog. Our room was ready for us even though we were massively early, which is something you don't find in the larger, chain hotels.

Our room was great, clean and comfortable and with a nice big bath.

We ate in the pub on both nights and we were massively delighted on both occasions.( I heartily recommend the mussels) Fresh, home cooked food, lovely wine and great service, just what you need.

The hotel is situated at the top of the bay and just a short (steep) walk down to the beautiful Runswick village.

Overall, a great hotel, super food, lovely walks, beautiful place. All this and Ted. Would definitely go again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
0.1 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Firs
The Firs
#1 of 1 in Runswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runswick Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runswick Bay Hotel

Property: Runswick Bay Hotel
Address: 2 Hinderwell Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Runswick Bay Hotel is a warm and comfortable traditional coastal inn with cask ales and freshly prepared a le carte menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Runswick Bay Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing