We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option in the Sandton Area”

Chislehurst Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chislehurst Guest House
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Will never stay in another place in the Sandton area again. Owners and staff are welcoming and the property is superb. Transfers are offered to the main Sandton mall/train station area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this magnificent guest house! The en suite rooms are exquisitely decorated and furnished to the highest standard, thoughtfully equipped in a simply gorgeous setting. The outdoor area is set in a lovely garden with swimming pool, thatched lapa with catering and bar facilities. Breakfast outdoors in this lovely environment is simply delightful. Everyone was so hospitable and friendly and we were made so welcome.

We had such a memorable time and look forward to spending time at Chislehurst once again..

Room Tip: The garden rooms are lovely with the Walsingham suite slightly larger than the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

While undergoing a surgery at Sunninghill Hospital, I stayed for 9 days at Chislehurst recently. For the first time, I felt home in a guesthouse. With my special needs due to the treatment I was receiving, Jenny and Roger availed themselves anytime I needed them offering the best possible care in their quiet and peaceful place. I would definitively recommend anybody in need of special VIP care to pass there. Thanks a lot, Jenny and Roger

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaoulKigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We had the most wonderful stay at Chislehurst , everyone was so hospitable and helpful. The en suite rooms are decorated & fitted to the highest possible standard.We certainly look forward to staying there again one day.

Room Tip: All rooms are of equal high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieS240246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My two friends and I stayed for two nights at Chislehurst, and it was amazing. They weren't expecting us, the maids had already left and they had other important stuff to do. And still they managed to get our rooms ready within minutes and make us feel right at home.

The rest of our stay was full of hospitality and enjoyable conversations. We have even enjoyed our last lunch together with a splendid braai (barbecue). The goodbyes where hard to make, so I'm looking forward for when I go back later this year.

The prices were a bit higher compared to other guesthouses in the neighborhood, but for all three of us it's more than worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruud_Althuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

we were 3 of us my mum aged 87, myself and my husband. we took 2 rooms for a week and then extended our stay for another 5 days.

i only booked this place because i was looking for a place near the hospital while my mum was undergoing some treatment and because of the very many nice reviews the guest house had.

i must say the reviews were so correct. \this place was great, clean, luxurious, well serviced with wonderful staff and sumptious breakfast made to order.
well done jenny and roger and thankyou for making our stay so wonderful. your rooms were more than comfortable, clean with hi speed wifi, tv, hairdryier, microwave, tea and coffee making in the room and a small fridge which was so handy.
We got everything we needed.

We highly recommend your place to travellers whether on business or on holiday

Room Tip: walsingham suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Excellent place. The best service I have received in a hotel all around the world. It si not a conventional hotel

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greater Johannesburg hotels
10.3 mi away
Hotel Devonshire
Hotel Devonshire
#3 of 3 in Braamfontein
33 reviews
31.4 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
20.4 mi away
The Crystal Rose Lodge & Spa
The Crystal Rose Lodge & Spa
#1 of 11 in Krugersdorp
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,266 reviews
10.4 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
1.0 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chislehurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chislehurst Guest House

Address: 1 Vickers Avenue | Rivonia, Sandton, 2191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Greater Johannesburg
Price Range: £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chislehurst Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chislehurst is a small elegant guest house in a tree lined suburb of Rivonia, but close to the busy town center with shops, restaurants, and close to major shopping malls and entertainment centers with theaters and cinemas. It is a 20 minute drive from OR Tambo International Airport. Guests have full use of all facilities, including the lovely thatched lapa by the pool where breakfast is served weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chislehurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing