We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities, safe & near Sandton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
Ranked #150 of 223 Hotels in Greater Johannesburg
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Have just spent 3 nights here. Was made to feel very welcome by friendly staff and managers who asked several times if I was ok. Was impressed by the hands-on approach of the managers who assisted the waitressing staff at breakfast. Internet speed & access was as good as any of the other places I stayed at in South Africa. Has a pool area which was lovely to sit at in the evening and a mini gym. Room great with everything I needed, comfy double bed. Didn't have access to a car, so dined at the Carpe Diem restaurant which is on-site - a good idea as didn't have to worry about getting home safely. Felt happy leaving luggage there while I stayed elsewhere before returning for a 3rd night. Easy access to taxis, close to Gautrain for airport. Would recommend this palce.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank WalkerG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for the great review. We are pleased to hear that our staff were so helpful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in February 2013. I traveled to Johannesburg for a concert and a weekend away with my friends. The hotel is lovely. The room is spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms are clean. I was impressed until on the Sunday morning after the concert and a late night out, I got loud bang on my door at 7.30am (I really wanted to have a sleep in). It was one of the cleaning staff wanting me to wake up so she could clean the room and be off early! I was tired and not impressed. And I must say it ruined my impression of the place. I reported it to the receptionist who didn't seem to care very much. Based on that one experience I have never been back.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Smaug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the spacious room.
We do apologize that you were woken up early. However, this is the cleaning routine and the cleaning lady perhaps wasn't aware that you didn't want your room cleaned early. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel is OK. Nothing fancy but serviceable. I don't know the city well but seemed to be conveniently located if you need to get around town to several meetings. The breakfast is the only meal I ate at the hotel but it is quite good. For $10 you have a nice selection of fruits, cereals, fresh cooked eggs and the accompanying bacon, etc. The internet during my stay was absolutely horrible to the point of non-existent. As a business traveler this made it a very frustrating and expensive stay as I was forced to use roaming data on my phone in order to get my job done. I don't know if this was a temporary glich or not but when I talked to the front desk they were not surprised at my comments. Call ahead and check before you book.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Dpaulson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you for your comments - we're glad you liked our hotel, apart from the wifi . You'll be pleased to know that we are in the process of upgrading our wifi offering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I recently spent 2 nights at this hotel. The check-in staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful. It was as if I was bothering the lady behind the counter when I indicated that I was there to check-in. The room was neat and clean and everything was in its place.The hotel is in a great location and provided easy access to the main highways. Overall, the breakfast quality and selection was ok but again the staff were far too busy chatting amongst each other to pay attention to my needs. All in all, this is a good hotel, but they certainly need to improve on the staffing issues and ensure that the staff focus on the guests needs and are more friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you for your comments - we're glad you liked the hotel, but we're sorry about some staff not living up to our "I'm Kind" philosophy - we'll look into this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Typical Hotel for the business traveller. Professionally run, but staff seem to have forgotten how to smile. Exception the Barman who was friendly and very accommodating. The adjoining restaurant, which is not part of the hotel, but is on the premises, is expensive, but the food is well prepared.
Breakfast staff needs to be told to look after their area of responsibility. They take their time to bring coffee and need to be reminded to clear used plates.
If you are a lover of cheese, bring your own, as the one on offer is dried out and hard.
Would I stay there again-yes, the hotel is conveniently situated near the place of business. The beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: No preference
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hendrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thanks for your review - we will look into the not so good aspects of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have stayed at this hotel often, and have found it to be a pleasant experience. On this trip I found some of the staff to be helpful and friendly, however there were others who were anything but. It is convenient, clean and neat - but a more friendly approach from all staff would have made for a better stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 937AndrewB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for your comments - we're glad you enjoyed your stay, but wish that the service had been more friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

I was given a room on the first floor. Nice view from my room. Well maintained rooms and pleasant front desk staff. The staff in the coffee shop have to be trained. It has a nice restaurant within the campus. You can do a morning walk in the campus.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rduraikannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greater Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
0.3 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 46 in Sandton
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 46 in Sandton
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
#21 of 46 in Sandton
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street

Address: Cnr Katherine & Grayston Drive | Sandown, 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 223 Hotels in Greater Johannesburg
Price Range: £73 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park-like gardens in the courtyard of the hotel contribute to a lovely ambience, accentuated by the swimming pool built as if joined to the lounge. For guests' convenience there is a fitness room in the hotel and a restaurant is located on the property. It is situated in close proximity to the M1 motorway with easy access to all major routes. It is 3 minutes from the shopping centres of Sandton City, Nelson Mandela Square and Village Walk and a 30 minutes drive from the Johannesburg airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing