We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How life began! Fascinating experience!”

The Cradle of Humankind
Book In Advance
More Info
US$153.05*
and up
Full-Day Cradle of Human Kind Tour from Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“How life began! Fascinating experience!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Cradle of Humankind and Maropeng are fascinating. Thoroughly loved the caves, the guide was very knowledgeable and guided us well through the tunnels and explaining the different formations and minerals that exist. Plenty of time to take pictures too. The museum was my favourite- not too many dusty artefacts to gawk over, but more a o story or journey about life, the earth, the continents, the 'Big Bang'. Absolutely loved it. Worth a visit for the day, and a wonderful restaurant to re-coup thereafter. Would not recommend the caves if you are claustrophobic, and have back problems, as need to crawl or duck-walk certain parts of the cave.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank YD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    107
    33
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
406 reviews
264 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“The vortex back in time”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Really cool exhibition, very factual. The highlight was going through the vortex. The vortex is a passage way through which you walk and black with white stars revolve around you.

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFeetZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
159 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What a surprise - incredible museum!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The museum exhibit here is so well done and deeply informative. Make sure you allow yourself at least 30 - 45 minutes to check it our before you head to the caves on your tour. The cave tour is fascinating and the guide was really knowledgeable. Way beyond that of just a guide, she was just terrific. It was a relatively last minute add to the trip and I am so glad we did. The other half of the place - Maropeng - is about a 15 minute drive away. Better suited for kids than adults, but still worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aps101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Experience how the earth has changed”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We visited Maropeng as an logical extension of our visit to Sterkfontein caves.

The museum can only be described as a living museum - very few stuffy artefacts but rather aimed at giving children the opportunity to experience how earth has developed over the millenniums.

This includes a boat ride where one experience the building bricks of earth ( air, water, ice and fire). The vortex is a memorable experience of how one's senses can be fooled.

Tip : the museum is interesting to adults but primarily aimed at children of all ages.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Meet the ancestors@ Cradle of Humankind.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

With some trepidation, we drove from Pretoria( app 45mins) to the Cradle of Humankind. Mixed reviews vis Tripadvisor has us hoping for the best! Well, we were thrilled to find a world-class Unesco site, local school kids enjoying, Japanese tourists photographing the school kids, us loving the fun..plus Cradle of Humankind is wonderful . Fully interactive, beautifully designed & maintained , & a journey through time with our ancestors. Easy access for all ages & abilities. Plus the best gift shop with items we'd not seen in our travels around South Africa…bonus. Africa really does give us such unique opportunities to explore our world & The Cradle of Humankind begins our journey.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glenysneedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cradle of Humankind also viewed

Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, Greater Johannesburg
Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Cradle of Humankind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing