We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant accommodation in convenient situation.”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Les Tourterelles

Les Tourterelles from the courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Les Tourterelles from the courtyard
Dining Room with table that extends View of the pool with sun shelter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Les Tourterelles from the courtyard
Dining Room with table that extends
View of the pool with sun shelter
The Main Bedroom
Twin bedroom with french windows
Village Pond
View of Back Garden and Pool from Fields
BBQ Terrace - Eating outside during the evening
Kitchen
BBQ Area with Chimenea
Table Tennis Terrace
Terrace which overlooks fields and forests
View of the hills and fields from our pool
Village Petanque Courts
The terrace in front of Les Tourterelles
View of Our Barn for Parking and Back Garden from Afar
Sitting room with Wood Burner
Sitting Room
View down courtyard lined with flowers
Swimming Pool early Morning
Pool side
Baby Tourterelles - Nesting under the eaves
Sunbeds by the pool - Some of the many!
Play boules in the shade of trees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Eclance, Aube, Grand Est

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
GWLWALES
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Brilliant accommodation in convenient situation.”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed with other adult family members and had a great week. Sarah and James the friendly helpful owners were very welcoming from arrival to departure. They provided helpful tips and guidance about local attractions and slightly further afield. The gite was perfect for our intention to visit the wine regions of Champagne, Burgundy and Chablis and so much was tasted and collected. Local town supermarkets provided ample supplies for barbecues and lunches, whilst local restaurants did not disappoint.
The accommodation itself was a cut above many other places we have previously used. It had a large spacious well equipped kitchen including microwave and dishwasher with plenty of varied crockery. (So many places have the bare minimum but not here). The large spacious lounge diner had plenty of sitting room with a table large enough for 10. There is a large flatscreen TV with the majority of free view channels available.
We had no use for it but in addition to central heating there is a large woodburner. Upstairs, were 3 large double/twin bedrooms each en-suite with really comfortable beds.
Outside, the property has its own terrace with table and chairs for alfresco meals, whilst there is an even larger communal terrace with barbecues and fire pit that is open to all tenants. The property has a large pool shared with the other gites at the property but there are more than enough sunbeds and parasols for everyone. There is a very large grassed area with swings and boules area for all to enjoy.
The only drawback is that you do need a vehicle as the nearest shops and restaurants are too far to walk to but there is plenty of undercover parking on site. This meant that our vehicle was always cool despite the heat.
A great venue with great hosts what more could you want.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for your review. We are well placed being in Champagne region but also within easy driving distance of Burgundy including the Chablis vineyards. I concur with your comment about needing a car. It is best to have your own transport as we are set in a small village in the countryside and like most of rural France there is little public transport off the beaten track. Having said that, the closest restaurant is about 2-4 minutes drive with at least another 3 within 5 minutes drive. Our large barn is a benefit as it keeps your cars nice and cool. We hope to welcome you back! Sarah & James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Count_col...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A gem in a secluded French village”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed here for the May bank holiday. What a find. A peaceful rural farming community of just 124 souls. The village boats a church with a memorial to the 10 fallen villagers in the Great War, a school (now the village hall) and a pond. Nestled in rolling farmland this village is close to Nigoland, on the edge of a national park and minutes away from three massive lakes boasting all sorts of activities from water skiing to sailing. The accommodation offered by the owners who live on site is perfect. Everything is spotless, accommodation ridiculously spacious and every amenity with a well stocked kitchen. The weather was
warm enough for us to use the heated pool on site. The owners ordered our bread daily from the bakery and organised a visit to a champagne producer about 20 minutes away where more than a little bubbly was consumed. A lovely stay in a great location with great service, thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your review. We are blessed to be in set in such a beautiful part of France overlooking the Regional Natural Park of the Forest of the Orient, the rolling fields and such open skies. We hope to welcome you back! (To anyone reading this review and you are interested in water sports, the closest lake is only ten minutes drive.) Kindest regards, Sarah & James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn K
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Completely relaxing with great facilities”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Les Tourterelles for a week in mid July and would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting a holiday to recharge their batteries. The facilities are great with everything you need in the farmhouses, and the pool area is really well maintained and pleasant to use. There are several large supermarkets about 15 minutes drive away, and the morning fresh bread and pastry delivery service is a real treat. Plenty of champagne houses in the area to visit and the supermarkets have a lot to choose from also. For champagne lovers a trip to Eperney to visit Moet or one of the other famous houses is recommended - only two hours drive from Eclance.

Sarah is very welcoming and our inclusion in the village's Bastille Day celebrations was a real highlight of our week. Don't expect to spend your time at Les Tourterelles on your phones or iPads, internet access is limited due to the isolation of the property, however there are lots of books there to read if required - our technology detox helped us relax and enjoy our surroundings even more. Great place to take bicycles - the roads are very quiet and the countryside is beautiful.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your review. We are lucky that our guests have always been very warmly welcomed to any of our village social events. We also happen to lucky that Eclance is unusual in having an active social committee!

For any potential guest contemplating a stay at the La Ferme des Tourterelles, we have invested in satellite technology to access the internet which has opened up many possibilities of its use unlike when we were on the end of just the single telephone line to the village! Unfortunately there is a limitation on how much information can pass via the satellite per month. We have invested in the largest package possible with our provider. When you visit rural France, you will find that it is not unusual that large tracts of rural areas are not linked to broadband/fibre optic technology. We therefore offer better access via satellite than many rural gîtes! In order to fairly share the usage, we have had to place a limit on the amount of data per user per week so there are times when our guests hit the limit we have set for free access. It sounds as though this turned into a benefit for you Kathryn! Regardless, we offer a booster package (as does our supplier) such that our guests can always buy extra capacity so the internet is always there if you surpass the free allocation. These booster packages are passed on to our guests at exactly the same price we are charged by the satellite company so if the internet is important to you, please be aware it may always be accessed - you just have to pay for the extra capacity that you use. France is starting to offer more competition so we are reviewing alternative satellite suppliers which could open up unlimited access - though this needs to be weighed against potentially a slower service. In the meanwhile, we advise our guests how they can maximise their free allocation.

We are on the edge of regional natural park with views across rolling hills of fields and forests. Nothing better than to relax with a glass of champagne on one of the terraces taking in these views!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penelopem...
1 review
“Beautiful Accommodation run by Perfect Hosts”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in October 2014

I am sorry that I have not written this review sooner...a sign of a busy year I guess!
A group of friends and I stayed here last Autumn when we went on a little tour of the champagne region, Les Tourterelles are in a perfect location for touring the Southern part of the Champagne trail. We stayed for three nights and were a group of seven.
Sarah and James have done such a beautiful and sympathetic conversion of the farm buildings, the whole place looks great on the inside and out. Everything is finished to a high standard and is really well maintained. When we arrived the place was spotless and there was a bottle of champagne chilling in the fridge for us. The main dining living space downstairs is really large, absolutely perfect for a group, perfect size dining table and enough lounge furniture. The kitchen is very well equipped from white goods to crockery to pans (again great for a group!). Everything is there for you to have evenings in after a day out driving and exploring. Upstairs all the bedrooms were spacious and had very comfortable beds and bedding. Each room had its own bathroom (two are ensuite) all of which were finished beautifully and worked (again great/essential for a group!) As we were there when it was a little colder we didn't use the pool but we did use the barbecues, Sarah and James kindly sorted us out with some outside lighting and charcoal.
Sarah and James were just so welcoming, kind and accommodating from the moment of my enquiry. Booking was easy and all my communication with Sarah before our stay was prompt and helpful. We were sent information about the area and the Champagne trail along with really good recommendations of which houses to visit. We arrived late but Sarah and James were there to welcome us and the directions they had sent meant we found there place quite easily (it would only have been easier in the light!). They went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable and easy as possible from calling us when the bread van arrived (having placed an order for us the day before) to picking us up from a near by restaurant (another good recommendation) so that the drivers in our party could have an evening off. All of Sarah and James' suggestions and everything they did for us made our stay and holiday in general a wonderfully enjoyable success! There is so much I have not said but hopefully this gives you an idea of this great place and its great hosts.
Unfortunately our group can't all get the time off to go again this year, but we are all keen for a second trip to the champagne region and we would only be staying again at Sarah and James' wonderful place.
Thank you both so much and again I am sorry for my tardiness in writing this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - but the Hosts made it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, lovely gite with such kind and welcoming hosts!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful week at Les Tourterelles! The hosts couldn't have done more to make us comfortable, from the warm, personal welcome when we arrived, to delivering bread to our door in the mornings; from offering to light us a fire when it got chilly, to putting up with my children's infinite questions and 'help' with amazing patience; from a free bottle of champagne, to organising a shared barby with the 3 other gites. The gite was clean, comfortable, and stylish, with a generously fitted out kitchen and white cotton linen on the beds. This area of France is quiet, and often overlooked, yet is in the heart of champagne region and has France's third largest fun park (Nigloland) a stones throw away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely stylish gite with warm helpful hosts.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love this place....”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay with Sarah and James (the most relaxed and friendly people you could ask to meet) and we'll be booking for next year.

Les Tourterelles is a beautifully presented 3 bed barn conversion in the grounds of a converted farm. The Garden is perfect for young children and the pool is large and very very well maintained. We really can't say how relaxing this place it - there are 4 properties and even with all of them full, it never feels busy or hectic. BBQ's are available to borrow and there are plenty of different seating areas around the large garden allowing you to be as social or private as you desire.

The location is very rural (just how we like it) but there is plenty to do in the local area. A particular highlight is Nigloland, a family owned theme park which is simply fantastic. Clean, very green and with very small wait times for the rides - highly recommended. The local towns are beautiful and the lakes of the Foret de Orient offer plenty of bike trails, beaches and water sports.

There are a few good restaurants in the local area and some very good ones within roughly a 30/40 min drive, but we tended to eat in most nights with 2 young children. The marina at Dienville (15mins drive) has a beach and a few restaurants, with live music in the summer evenings.

Sarah and James encourage you to make this place your home, so as long as you look after their beautiful property you have the freedom to pretty much do what you like.

Please go there with a relaxed attitude otherwise you'll spoil it for the rest of us.........

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Reviewed 14 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful buildings tastefully renovated
Liked least: Cleaning charge
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing