We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab family holiday!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eclance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Ferme des Tourterelles
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab family holiday!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at La Ferme des Tourterelles in July of this year and had a lovely time. The accommodation was fantastic, clean and comfortable - it was very hot when we were there but fans were provided to help cool down the bedrooms. The kitchen was very well equipped and plenty of supermarkets nearby (10 min drive). The garden was perfect for our 2 and 5 year old to run around in - swing/climbing rope, table tennis and boules were all brilliant. The swimming pool was great - very safe behind a secure gate. We enjoyed exploring the surrounding area, the lakes were very child friendly and the kids loved playing at the beaches. Nigloland is a total must for all young families, we went twice! We tended to eat in - making use of the BBQ on a few evenings. The village is small and the location rural, which suited us fine. Finally, Sarah and James were brilliant hosts, they made sure we had everything needed, including running up some black out blinds for the kids room on our first day! A fabulous holiday - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgetf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have stayed in a few similar Gite complexes throughout France but this is by far our favourite. We stayed in Les Tourterelles which has 3 bedrooms & bathrooms and a spacious downstairs, all spotlessly clean.

Our children of 11 & 9 enjoyed the outside areas and spent hours in the pool. There were lots of others of similar ages there so they loved the freedom to roam around in the evenings. Sarah & James are great hosts & arranged a midweek BBQ which was a big hit, especially chatting around the chiminea.

We knew nothing of the area and were very impressed. Travelling from Calais was a breeze, none of the lengthy delays at toll booths which we've had when going to the Dordogne or Vendee. Troyes is a pretty medieval town, the amusement park at Nigloland was like Disney without the queues, and we spent a lovely few hours cycling at the local lakeside.

We shall definitely return in a few years.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnelover50, Owner at La Ferme des Tourterelles, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We are so glad you love our cottage and the set up at La Ferme des Tourterelles! This area is not well known by the British and it is lovely and unspoilt. At only four easy hours driving from Calais it makes it easy bringing a family away on holiday without huge distances to drive. We love Troyes as a town to visit. Much work has gone into renovating the buildings and making the streets easy to wander along. We are so glad it worked out for you as a holiday!
Kind regards, Sarah & James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

W have just returned from a week long stay in the les chouettes, and I can honestly say it was the best holiday we have ever had. The area is beautiful and unspoilt and it was a pleasure to drive through.. and that is all we saw of it as we couldnt bring ourselves to leave.!!
The accomodation was spotlessly clean and more than big enough for 2 families, it also had a better equipped kitchen than I have at home!!!
Sarah and James were lovely, nothing was too much trouble and were always happy to stop for a chat!
The pool and the grounds are beautiful and are fantastic for children.
I cant reccomend it highly enough.
Thank you Sarah and James for the most relaxing, enjoyable, fantastc week
Zoe, George, Lucy and Isaac xxxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zosie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnelover50, Owner at La Ferme des Tourterelles, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks for the lovely review! We are pleased that our cottage Les Chouettes worked out well for both your families. It is big at 186 m² and you can all have your space without being on top of each other. Quite often we have extended families who book a number of our cottages and eat together either in the cottage you stayed in or Les Tourterelles. We are glad that you and the children had a good time. Our best regards, Sarah & James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Undoubtedly the best property we have stayed in in France. We stayed in Les Tourterelles the 3 bedroom Gite and the standard of accommodation was exceptional. The pool is fabulous and the grounds brilliant for the kids to play in. The owners Sarah & James couldn't be nicer and the Champagne region is wonderfully unspoilt. We will be back !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller3298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnelover50, Owner at La Ferme des Tourterelles, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It was lovely to meet you all. It makes all our hard work in renovating these old barns worthwhile when we hear praise like yours. We hope you get the chance to come back to this lovely part of France. Best regards, Sarah & James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Just got back from a week long Holiday in these beautifully finished Gites. Could,nt fault the accomodation or the commitment and attention to detail from the English owners, James & Sarah. It is a lovely region, very quiet and peaceful, and the swimming pool and English channels on the tv a bonus, at this undiscoverd French retreat.
I stayed with my family, 4 in total, in one of the smaller 2 bedroom Gites. But we had a quick peep at the lovely larger one opposite our accomodation, and are re- booking that one for next year, with more of our family!
Can,t reccomend this place enough..... You won,t be disappointed!

Room Tip: They are all delightful, and of excellent standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifilabouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnelover50, Owner at La Ferme des Tourterelles, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We want to ensure that everyone's holiday here is one that they will remember - for the good! We cannot ask for a better recommendation when our guests want to come back here.
Sarah & James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A very well appointed series of apartments/gites in Eclance in the Champagne region. High standard of accommodation and very spacious, located in beautiful rural France. Owners live on the premises and maintain the site with care and commitment. Excellent communal pool which is large and well resourced. A place which will encourage you to return without hesitation. Probably less suitable for teenagers but a must for young families or older couples. Stayed in Les Tourterelles with four adults and two young children--perfect accommodation. Owners will do all they can to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed in Les Chouettes as a family group, both sets of grandparents two children and their partners and one grandchild. There was plenty of space - the room sizes are impressive as was the standard of finish and quality of furnishings. The location is quiet and peaceful but central for touring in the region.
Sarah and James could not have been more helpful and gave great advice on the restaurants in the area and even made bookings for our group.
So impressed my wife and friends are returning for a second visit later in the year

Room Tip: All rooms here are good its an easy choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eclance
2.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion
2.6 mi away
Hostellerie de la Chaumiere / Hotel Susan
3.3 mi away
Hotel des Pirates
Hotel des Pirates
#1 of 2 in Dolancourt
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Le Val Moret
Le Val Moret
#1 of 1 in Magnant
405 reviews
15.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Golf and Spa de la Foret d'Orient
4.4 mi away
Auberge de la Plaine
Auberge de la Plaine
#1 of 1 in La Rothiere
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme des Tourterelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme des Tourterelles

Property: La Ferme des Tourterelles
Address: 4 route de trannes, 10020 Eclance, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Aube > Eclance
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Eclance
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of a sleepy village in the middle of Champagne countryside, is La Ferme des Tourterelles. The four gites - Les Chouettes (sleeps 8/10), Les Hirondelles (sleeps 4), Les Tourterelles (sleeps 6/7) and Les Moineaux (sleeps 4/5); recently converted barns providing spacious homes are situated around a courtyard. Come here to relax by the large heated outdoor swimming pool with a panoramic view. 3 km away from Champagne Vineyards, 7km from Nigloland the 3rd largest amusement park in France, 10 minutes from the Lakes of the Foret D'Orient, 15 and 40 minutes respectively from medieval Bar-sur-Aube and Troyes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing