We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cross Hands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Old Sodbury B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Will not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Visited with friends. The door to the bathroom would not shut due to an alignment problem. When informed to the staff the first reaction was "no one ever complained about it before". After several follow ups, we were informed that it could not be fixed, nor could we be given another room as the hotel was "fully booked" - although we could see several people, without pre-booking, being given rooms after we checked in!! Later the proprietor (George I think) did come by and fix the door (after over 1 hour) but was sarcastic about our having raised this issue! Post this the basin had some plumbing issue and the water just would not get drained for about 15-20 minutes after each use! This was never fixed despite being informed to the staff, who again reacted with "no one ever complained about it before". The food was ok. The staff was definitely not friendly or helpful. Overall, not something I would recommend.

Room Tip: Book into another hotel if you want a good room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsawariShirodkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for posting. We can only apologise if you think we were being unhelpful but we did not intend this to be the case. We will always try to fix any issues as they arise and we will try to move you if we can not remedy the issue. On this particular occasion - there were no double rooms to move you to. If we can not fix the issue then we call the appropriate tradespeople however, it can take some time for them to arrive. We apologise again that on this occasion you were unhappy with your visit.
George, Colette and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    106
    50
    24
    25
See reviews for
49
118
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great hotel that I didnt think I would find in that area. Room was excellent with everything that you would expect. All en suite and nicely fitted out. The room was too warm and being on the ground floor I didnt want to leave the windows open.
Bar very good and well stocked. Bar food was OK but fairly standard "big pub" food. Real Ale well worth trying and well kept.
Good price and I will certainly put on my list if back in the area on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do have some great real ales and we can whole-heartedly recommend the Abbot.
George, Colette and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here for one night, arriving after dark on a calm autumnal evening. Expecting a quiet inn on a Tuesday night, we were somewhat alarmed to find the large car park full with cars and countless Harley Davidson motorbikes. Inside we found the place full to the brim with diners both in the bars and also in the restaurant. Having checked in to a clean well appointed room, we came downstairs to try and get a meal. Happily this was surprisingly easy given the large clientele. We found a quiet corner and had a hearty meal together with some fine ale. The service was quick and efficient. All in all, the Cross Hands ticks all the boxes for an olde world inn. The fact that this property was full with local diners says a lot for the quality and price of the food on offer.

Room Tip: If you plan to dine during your stay then book before you arrive so as to get a table at this popula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks for your comments and we are glad to hear you had a good time and managed to find a table. It does get a little busy so you are right - it is a good idea to book in advance. Hope to see you again.
George, Colette and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfyllin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Booked 2 superior rooms & a standard room.

Superior room 1:
lovely sleigh bed, fabulous bathroom with free standing bath. Horrendous noises at night, it was like having workmen with a pneumatic drill outside.

Superior room 2:
This was not a superior room, comfortable bed, but the bathroom was no more than a cupboard, cracked shower bowl, & very poor shower cubicle which was cracked & very dirty looking. Condensation stains all over the paper in the bathroom. Dust all over the top of the picture frames & mirror.

Standard room:
Compact room but this was not a problem, refurbished bathroom.

Breakfast - ok

Staff:
front if house staff very pleasant although quite a slow service. One member of staff in particular quite rude in the breakfast restaurants when asking for extra milk for coffee we were told 'pass it ere then (jug) and then proceeded to slurp tea all over the table from the pot.

Location:
Fabulous location for Bath, Bristol & Motorway links

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for posting. We take on board your comments and are sorry that on this occasion you were not happy. We will review the issues you have mentioned.
George, Colette and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Good room, good service, friendly staff, good food but.....
I am not using internet access that wants my date of birth, home address, email account & password, and mobile phone number! this is bordering on 'phishing' and can only mean targeted junk mail, texting etc. on its way. Very annoyed and this now rules out all 'old English Inns' for me.
Free maybe? but my information would be for sale.

Room Tip: don't take your computer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dugmug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
We are glad to hear that you felt the service, room and food were so good and we will be sharing these great comments with the team.
The Cloud is a public access Wifi provider supplied by BSkyB that Old English Inns subscribe to (free of charge to our guests).
Whilst the information they require may appear intrusive, it is the same information that one would be expected to provide to use many public Wifi services.
The password you provide should only be for The Cloud in order for you to log in rather than re-register.
Thank you again for the lovely comments. George, Colette and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Old Sodbury hotels

Suffolk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night only in room 19. Room 19 is on the small side, and overlooks the inner courtyard, where the smoking area is - hence there is a significant level of noise late into the night.
The facilities were good in the room and complimentary wifi appreciated. My room was meticulously clean, but had a broken toilet roll holder.

Reception and breakfast staff all
pleasant.

I stay in the Bristol every three months, I will stay here next time, just not room 19.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkHotelhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thanks for your notes. Obviously, we will mend the toilet roll holder but we will also investigate the noise level outside immediately. This should be resolved forthwith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
625 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I had booked this hotel for two nights to stay the night before my wedding and for our wedding night. We contacted the hotel to see if we could see the room and hopefully choose, we were welcomed and allowed to see what was a very pleasant room. The room itself was lovely, good furnishings and a stand alone bath. Perfect to relax you would think but the plumbing sound is horrendous! The slightest trickle from a tap or flush from the toilet makes the loudest continuous sound like a pneumatic drill! Awful! How could anyone get a good nights sleep let alone a bride to be! Set that aside the road outside is like runway 1 at heathrow! I appreciate its an old building with limits to what they can so to sound proof but how about installing air con so the window doesn't have to be opened? The room was very hot and not especially well equipped. We paid top price and there was no iPod player, coffee machine, face cloths, shampoo or body lotion. Not what I expect for £109 a night. To top that we had a meal which was very nice but unbelievably slow! We had table service which was good but 30 minutes later with no drinks our food order was taken with no sign of drinks. Same again a with the second order. Not good lovely rooms and pub in general but very poor slow service

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodle1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for posting. We take on board your comments and are sorry that it spoiled your experience with us. The room you stayed in is usually quite popular but yes, it is by the road. We have other rooms available but on those nights, they were in use by another bride.
With regards to your restaurant service - we do have a delay process in place when we are busy and can only apologise that on this occasion, it was not effective.
George, Colette and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Sodbury
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn
8.3 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Bell at Old Sodbury
The Bell at Old Sodbury
#1 of 4 in Old Sodbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crown Inn at Tolldown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Hands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Hands Hotel

Property: The Cross Hands Hotel
Address: Tetbury Road, Old Sodbury BS37 6RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Old Sodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Old Sodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cross Hands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cross Hands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Hands Hotel
Cross Hands Old Sodbury
The Cross Hands Hotel Old Sodbury, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing