We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cross Hands Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Portcullis Hotel(Chipping Sodbury)
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Lucknam Park(Colerne)
US$834
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Hotel(Wotton-under-Edge)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$226
US$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
111
126
69
34
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
126
69
34
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish and chipsold english innsthe ground floorthe publovely atmospheresingle roomold coaching innlarge car parklittle thingsplenty of parkingexcellent value for moneynight staychipping sodburymenubathbristolportions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Visited with friends. The door to the bathroom would not shut due to an alignment problem. When informed to the staff the first reaction was "no one ever complained about it before". After several follow ups, we were informed that it could not be fixed, nor could we be given another room as the hotel was "fully booked" - although we could see several people, without pre-booking, being given rooms after we checked in!! Later the proprietor (George I think) did come by and fix the door (after over 1 hour) but was sarcastic about our having raised this issue! Post this the basin had some plumbing issue and the water just would not get drained for about 15-20 minutes after each use! This was never fixed despite being informed to the staff, who again reacted with "no one ever complained about it before". The food was ok. The staff was definitely not friendly or helpful. Overall, not something I would recommend.

Room Tip: Book into another hotel if you want a good room!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AsawariShirodkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for posting. We can only apologise if you think we were being unhelpful but we did not intend this to be the case. We will always try to fix any issues as they arise and we will try to move you if we can not remedy the issue. On this particular occasion - there were no double rooms to move you to. If we can not fix the issue then we call the appropriate tradespeople however, it can take some time for them to arrive. We apologise again that on this occasion you were unhappy with your visit.
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great hotel that I didnt think I would find in that area. Room was excellent with everything that you would expect. All en suite and nicely fitted out. The room was too warm and being on the ground floor I didnt want to leave the windows open.
Bar very good and well stocked. Bar food was OK but fairly standard "big pub" food. Real Ale well worth trying and well kept.
Good price and I will certainly put on my list if back in the area on business.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your comments. We do have some great real ales and we can whole-heartedly recommend the Abbot.
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here for one night, arriving after dark on a calm autumnal evening. Expecting a quiet inn on a Tuesday night, we were somewhat alarmed to find the large car park full with cars and countless Harley Davidson motorbikes. Inside we found the place full to the brim with diners both in the bars and also in the restaurant. Having checked in to a clean well appointed room, we came downstairs to try and get a meal. Happily this was surprisingly easy given the large clientele. We found a quiet corner and had a hearty meal together with some fine ale. The service was quick and efficient. All in all, the Cross Hands ticks all the boxes for an olde world inn. The fact that this property was full with local diners says a lot for the quality and price of the food on offer.

Room Tip: If you plan to dine during your stay then book before you arrive so as to get a table at this popular venue.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thanks for your comments and we are glad to hear you had a good time and managed to find a table. It does get a little busy so you are right - it is a good idea to book in advance. Hope to see you again.
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Booked 2 superior rooms & a standard room.

Superior room 1:
lovely sleigh bed, fabulous bathroom with free standing bath. Horrendous noises at night, it was like having workmen with a pneumatic drill outside.

Superior room 2:
This was not a superior room, comfortable bed, but the bathroom was no more than a cupboard, cracked shower bowl, & very poor shower cubicle which was cracked & very dirty looking. Condensation stains all over the paper in the bathroom. Dust all over the top of the picture frames & mirror.

Standard room:
Compact room but this was not a problem, refurbished bathroom.

Breakfast - ok

Staff:
front if house staff very pleasant although quite a slow service. One member of staff in particular quite rude in the breakfast restaurants when asking for extra milk for coffee we were told 'pass it ere then (jug) and then proceeded to slurp tea all over the table from the pot.

Location:
Fabulous location for Bath, Bristol & Motorway links

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for posting. We take on board your comments and are sorry that on this occasion you were not happy. We will review the issues you have mentioned.
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Good room, good service, friendly staff, good food but.....
I am not using internet access that wants my date of birth, home address, email account & password, and mobile phone number! this is bordering on 'phishing' and can only mean targeted junk mail, texting etc. on its way. Very annoyed and this now rules out all 'old English Inns' for me.
Free maybe? but my information would be for sale.

Room Tip: don't take your computer
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dugmug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

We are glad to hear that you felt the service, room and food were so good and we will be sharing these great comments with the team.
The Cloud is a public access Wifi provider supplied by BSkyB that Old English Inns subscribe to (free of charge to our guests).
Whilst the information they require may appear intrusive, it is the same information that one would be expected to provide to use many public Wifi services.
The password you provide should only be for The Cloud in order for you to log in rather than re-register.
Thank you again for the lovely comments. George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews