We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cross Hands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Old Sodbury B&B and Inns
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy relaxing stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We Stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting Bath...Range of whiskies good... Enjoyed a comfy relaxing lounge evening... Food a step above average pub grub , had the game pie, which was excellent... Breakfast was excellent too.. Very good fresh selection, and plenty of it... Only slight niggle was our room needed hoovering ... Which was attended to as soon as we asked. Would definitely visit again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NellyStoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Many thanks for your review following your recent stay. We’re glad you appreciated the 12 bottle whiskey selection of single, blended and aged malts. They are always popular in the winter months.
George, Colette and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    109
    59
    26
    29
See reviews for
55
126
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed Friday night in a group of 11 cycling to the West Country. From the first enquiry about facilities for bike storage the staff were very helpful and pleasant. Great value food and drink and comfortable rooms. If you have a choice though ask not to be in the rooms on the road side of the hotel - its quite busy at night. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for the great comments. Glad you had a nice time. Hope to see you again soon.
George, Colette and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel last Tuesday for the one night. We booked a superior room overlooking the road, there was some traffic noise but not too bad, the room was lovely, very compact bathroom but clean and ok.
When we booked we did not realise that the second Tuesday every month the restaurant is totally booked out to the harley davidson 'chapter', but the manager got us a table in the lounge for dinner, and the food was absolutely terrific, my wife's salmon and for pudding the goosebury crumble was very well received! and my game and port pie followed by the cheese board was first rate. All the staff we met were enthusiastic, polite and helpful. Our superior bedroom priced at £90 b and b was nice with a comfortable bed, very small bathroom which was a squeeze, but everything worked ok. All in all a very pleasant stay but would recommend you avoid the second Tuesday of the month if possible! While we were having dinner in the lounge at least four couples walked in and said to staff they could not find a table and walked out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandMikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your great review.
It can get very busy on a Tuesday night with or without the large bookings so it's always best to book however, when we have the occasional sunny spells - our seating outside is double that of the inside which does help.
Thanks again.
George, Colette and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Nice location, very pleasant food and beer, all served by local staff. Rooms are OK, but preferable to staying in some crappy chain. Very convenient for M4, Bristol or Bath. I stay in a lot of hotels, and very rarely write reviews, but this place is very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-9 are further away from the road. Rooms 10-14 are above the bar and might be noisier. Free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Django F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review - much appreciate by all of us.
George, Colette and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed for 4 nights courtesy of Tesco hotel vouchers. Had spoken to staff prior to the visit to arrange a specific room which was accommodated with no problem - thanks Beth. Arrived and got our allocated room. However just as we were unpacking both my wife and I could hear the sound of running water - which it was from the room above, into our room. Immediately saw reception and spoke to George the manager. Bearing in mind the length of our stay we couldn't be fitted in another standard room so we were given a superior room (George's personal favourite) with no issues whatsoever. Everybody could be more helpful and apologetic. Sometimes stuff happens and I can understand that, its how the 'stuff' is dealt with that defines good customer service - which we received. On the subject of rooms we had Rm5 originally which had the advantage of being on the ground floor and was away from the main road. It did however overlook the disabled parking spaces. Rm 20 had the advantage of being very nice indeed - much bigger and more pleasant - but did overlook the main road and was upstairs (which are a bit steep). I suspect Rm 5 might well have been quieter, even though Rm 20 had secondary double glazing. Both my wife and I go to bed fairly early and use ear plugs so we weren't personally bothered by excessive traffic noise but it is noticeable. However from our point of view we'd rather be in the nicer and bigger room. I wonder if the best rooms for a balance between the room itself and traffic noise might be Rm 19 - across the hall from us overlooking the inner courtyard? As to the rest of the stay it was one of the best we had and this was in no small part due to the lovely atmosphere in the Cross Hands. The restaurant is very nice , there is a nice sunny beer garden at the rear, parking is plentiful. The food was exceptional value for money and the staff beyond reproach at all times. Notable thanks to Karli, Jamie and George himself. Ideally located for Bristol , Bath and places in between. We have stayed in better but have certainly paid a lot more for the privilege.We really had a good time, as an overall package bearing in mind cost and value for money in addition to the staff, this place would take some beating

Room Tip: Rms 1-9 (standard rooms?) are on ground floor overlooking the main courtyard in the new part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hexys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for your fantastic comments and the name mentions. The team are pleased to be in the limelight.
Further to your tips - room 19 is a single however, other rooms overlooking the rear courtyard are room 21 (standard double) and rooms 18 and 12 (both superiors).
George, Colette an the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Not sure that staying at a place for 1 night qualifies me to give a review but here we go. I stayed with friends, just the 1 night at the end of May 2014. We used it as a base so that we could go into the larger town of Chipping Sodbury.

The hotel is pretty impressive from the outside and tidy inside too. They have a selection of about 4 real ales and the usual lagers and Guinness. Our room, number 3, a twin, was small but comfortable and clean.

We were told that our key would be able to open the front door but whoever had used the door before us had put the latch up, preventing our entry. We were able to eventually allow ourselves entry but not before an hour had passed.

Breakfast was disappointing, though in fairness the one nights stay worked out at £37.50 for each of us so I suppose I can't really complain to harshly. The complaint, re breakfast was the small sausage, small portions generally and the fact that my fried egg was rock hard. Other eggs, served to other guests were also sub standard. A bad egg day perhaps.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffgen62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for your comments and we're glad you loved the building.
We will investigate the latch issue and check on breakfast. Don't forget - you can order what you like so more sausages won't be an issue if you pop by again.
George, Colette and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

In preparation for the second half of walking the Cotswold Way we used this hotel to explore the route. Our stay was excellent, the staff helpful and friendly and the food first class. It was nice to be able to sit outside and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morris30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thanks for posting and thanks for your great comments about the team. I hope you make it this way again on your walking tours - perhaps the Jubilee, the Frome or the Macmillan.
George, Colette and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Sodbury
1.5 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
364 reviews
8.3 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,512 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
410 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bell at Old Sodbury
The Bell at Old Sodbury
#1 of 4 in Old Sodbury
210 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crown Inn at Tolldown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Hands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Hands Hotel

Property: The Cross Hands Hotel
Address: Tetbury Road, Old Sodbury BS37 6RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Old Sodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Old Sodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cross Hands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cross Hands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Hands Hotel
Cross Hands Old Sodbury
The Cross Hands Hotel Old Sodbury, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing