We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy location for Bath” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell at Old Sodbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bell at Old Sodbury
Ranked #1 of 4 Old Sodbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Handy location for Bath”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My daughter and I stayed here one Saturday night so that we could visit Bath Christmas Market; the room we were allocated was lovely, clean and spacious. The staff were friendly and welcoming although it was a busy night for them with numerous large parties. Unfortunately, we hadn't pre-booked for dinner in the pub restaurant but the staff said they'd try to fit us in nevertheless, albeit it much later in the evening - we opted to go elsewhere and found a great Italian restaurant in nearby Chipping Sodbury. Although the bed was very comfy with lovely crisp bedlinen, we didn't have a great night's sleep as windows are not double glazed and the road outside is quite noisy - apparently this is a problem that is going to be addressed in the future. Breakfast was a full English, which we did have to choose the a night before and there was no menu as such. However, my daughter is gluten intolerant and this was no trouble for the kitchen staff, who made her a wonderful gluten free version. All in all, it was a great, convenient, friendly place to stay and I would go back there myself and also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Bell at Old Sodbury, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

We were glad to read how accommodating the staff were upon your recent visit, and how comfortable you found all of the amenities, despite the traffic noise!!

Please do book with us again in the future when staying in the area, and also try and book into our restaurant - the food is wonderful!

Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    60
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
24
72
16
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed one Saturday night 7th Dec - busy xmas trade! Despite being busy, the service was superb, friendly and attentive. Food was excellent, room spotless and full SKY TV a bonus! Irish Manager couldn't do enough to help. Only negative would be regarding room location - Room 1 is at the back directly over the rear entrance door, where smokers congregate directly under the bedroom window - very noisy until early hours! However, I would definitely visit again (avoiding Room 1).

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1 at back of Hotel - noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Bell at Old Sodbury, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We glad to read how highly you thought of the amenities, the food and the staff and have passed on your comments to all concerned.

As a 'foodie' pub and B&B we do not generally have very much late night custom and so would expect the garden entrance under your room was much busier than normal due to the festive season.

Thanks once again for choosing The Bell at Old Sodbury, and for writing such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

On arrival the staff were really friendly. I had a large room, clean, light, sky tv,wi-fi, powerfull shower, great food. Good for sole traveller, couple or family.
One tiny little gripe - had to choose what I wanted for breakfast in the evening - had no idea so went for a full fry-up!!
Overall - great.

Room Tip: My room looked onto main road and car park - but was large and traffic presented no issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Bell at Old Sodbury, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for choosing The Bell at Old Sodbury and for writing such a wonderful review.

We were pleased to note that you had enjoyed all of the amenities your room had to offer.

The nature of the business does rather demand that we know the night before what our guests would like for breakfast in the morning. This is because we are not a large hotel, so cannot prep lots of food knowing that it won't go to waste.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we hope you choose to stay with us when next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed here whilst working in Bristol on business recently (20/11/2013) and had a really great stay. We were greeted by the fantastic Irish manager on duty who couldn't do enough to help. He quickly checked me in and lead me up to the room to show all of the facilities available.

He really went the extra mile which for me, really makes a difference when looking for somewhere to stay (None of the premier inn / travel lodge "Here's your keys now clear off" attitude). The room was large, furnished with a rustic style that suited the hotel's surrounding countryside.

The only complaint about the room was that the road outside was a little noisy, as the windows were single glazed. Other than that, SKy TV, a spacious modern bathroom and an abundance of extra pillows, towels and other linen was well received.

Dinner was very nice, with a great deal on steak and wine. And the full English breakfast which surprisingly, was included in the already very low price, was excellent.

All in all: All in all fantastic service (I'd like to emphasize the Irish gentleman again here, he really was fantastic), a very comfortable room and great food.... All for half the price of staying at a premier inn in Bristol (where i was working).

Really fantastic! I will be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Don't book on late rooms! The charge is reduced from 80 pounds to 65 if you are an individual st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MW93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Bell at Old Sodbury, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Bell at Old Sodbury and thank you for giving us such a wonderful write-up.

Your comments have been passed onto the entire team (including Lee, the manager), who were only too happy to read what a marvellous time you had when staying with us.

Thank you once again and we look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

After a hard days work and drive myself and a colleague stayed here, the welcome, well you couldn't train someone that big smiles and instantly we felt at home with the managers Irish charm. The rooms are lovely and homely and after a hard days work what I needed. Thinking of bringing the mrs this weekend .

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank martynevans1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Bell at Old Sodbury, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for choosing The Bell at Old Sodbury and thank you too for your subsequent review.

Lee's Irish charm is certainly earning him a bit of a reputation locally for providing such hospitality!! He was naturally only too happy to help on your recent visit.

If you haven't done so yet, please don't forget to bring 'the Mrs' out to stay with us soon.

Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loggerheads, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Beautiful room. Full of character and nice little touches. The bar and restaurant has no atmosphere, very tatty decor. Food is below average and service is okay but annoying at times. Large plasma telly in the dining area advertising the hotel was tacky.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skywiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Bell at Old Sodbury, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for choosing The Bell at Old Sodbury on your recent visit to the area and also for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read your comments on your accommodation as we have worked particularly hard to make the rooms as welcoming and relaxing as possible - a real home from home.

It was a shame that you found the TV screen used for advertising 'tacky' - if you'd only have chosen to eat in the restaurant and not the bar area you would have found no TV at all!!

We enjoy a very good local reputation for food and service and so can only express our dismay and apologies that you thought the food below average and the service annoying.

Thanks once again for visiting and providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Nice hotel / bar. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Dining area / bar area was very clean and comfortable ( by the fire ). Nice outside seating area. The accomodation ( 4 rooms ) seem very clean and private. Nice place to stop in. Did not try the food. There was a birthday party going on, so I assume that they can take reservations etc. I liked it very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Bell at Old Sodbury, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you so much for choosing The Bell at Old Sodbury and for your wonderful Trip Advisor write-up.

We were pleased to see how much you enjoyed the pub's amenities and do hope you choose to stay with us again when next in the area..

Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Sodbury
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn
6.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
7.3 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
9.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Cross Hands Hotel
The Cross Hands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Old Sodbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell at Old Sodbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Old Sodbury

Property: The Bell at Old Sodbury
Address: Badminton Road, Old Sodbury BS37 6LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Old Sodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Old Sodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell at Old Sodbury offers four individually designed, comfortable and chic rooms. All rooms provide en-suite bathrooms, fine Egyptian cotton sheets and all the modern conveniences including free wifi, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs with Blu-Ray DVD players (including complimentary access to our Blu-Ray DVD collection) as well as SKY TV with Sports and Movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bell at Old Sodbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Old Sodbury Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing