We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rose and Crown Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nether Stowey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rose and Crown Inn
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I enjoyed the best vegetarian meal out ever at the Rose & Crown which was a mushroom, brie. hazelnut and cranberry wellington. Gorgeous!
Very friendly pub with an electric atmosphere during 'Super Saturday' at the Olympics, well done Jessie and Mo!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    16
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
17
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tipton west midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We booked a late break for a well deserved rest, and we got just that .the village is quiet and tranquil just what the doctor ordered , our cottage was quaint A little small for my son and myself(both over six foot) but did nt expect any less for this kind of property.our first visit to the rose and crown was a good experience a nice relaxing pint of real ale,I also enjoyed a pint of chedar cider,v v nice.This pub is oozing history ,just take a look on the walls in the pool/tv room these are all real local folk .unfortunately we did nt take advantage of the home cooked food ,but for fourteen pounds you can have a two course meal and a glass of wine . And they also do takeaways(currys included)the rear garden is so beautiful ,weather permitting.nether storey is steeped in history ,Samuel t Coleridge actually lived a few houses along Lime st (35) if you are into the classics you will be so inspired,wordsworth was a good friend of Coleridge !as you will probably know(which I did nt). Go to " the quantock online community" it s not for every one but if you need a relaxing break or into cycling-walking this is for you. PS don t drink too much cider it gives some of us Little people banging in our heads in the morning lol

Room Tip: Did nt stay over but The images look v v nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Royston P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson NZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Excellent evening meals, cooked to order, good fresh produce and very enjoyable.

2 x 3 courses (main, desert and glass of wine with choice of 3 mains & deserts, or starters and main and glass of wine) 15 pounds mon - thurs. Other meals great too, were staying locally and just called in here for meals.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valmalcornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose and Crown Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for this review. Just to clarify the 'Meal Deal' pricing: this is two courses and a glass of wine each for two people, for a total of £14.99 - in other words less than £7.50 per person. The 'Meal Deal' menu is available on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,647 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Friendly, welcoming people, particularly the landlord, who cooks your breakfast.

A pleasant old room with a comfortable bed and a decent-sized modern bathroom. I slept well. An excellent breakfast, looking through a romantic old window over the historic High Street (silent at that time of day) towards Nether Stowey's clock tower and ancient single-cell prison, now disused.

My only reservation is that on the evening I had dinner there I thought it was a bit disappointing. OK, but no more. Others might have a different opinion, though, and in any case there are other places where you can eat in Nether Stowey.

Not terribly expensive, but I was taken aback, when I arrived, to be asked to pay for the room in advance. Perhaps they've had people disappearing without paying.

The bus stop's just across the road, on the far side of the clock tower and prison.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We wanted to have an evening meal, stay the night and have breakfast in an old, clean, comfortable and welcoming inn in a somerset village. WE FOUND IT! The Rose and Crown is a delightful and well-kept old coaching inn in the village of Nether Stowey. We were warmly welcomed by the landlord - he even greeted us by name! Our room was lovely; beautifully appointed, comfortable and immaculately clean. The menu for dinner in the evening was unpretentious, varied, but not expensive and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The traditional English breakfast was very good and set us up for the day. There is a lovely beer garden behind the inn and the flower beds and tubs were very pretty. There isn't a car park attached to the inn, but we easily found a space to park nearby and were happy about leaving the car there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandWalker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

good location ,nice clean rooms ,very warm heating on all night, lovely as it was chilly. polite host . okay food nothing startling though.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wickham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Recently stayed for a weekend at the Rose and Crown and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners were very friendly and made us very welcome. Our room was very warm and cosy and the beds so comfortable. The bar area where we ate our meals was also very warm with a log fire burning. Evening meals on both nights were excellent as was the breakfast we had both mornings - it really set us up for the day. The lack of car park was a very minor inconvenience but we had travelled quite light so had no heavy suitcases to shift around and we found space to park in the road within 100 yards.
Bed and breakfast rate was £70 per room per night and was excellent value; we really recommend staying here

Room Tip: I think all rooms are at the back of the pub and therefore are all quiet - ours certainly was !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hubbardfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Stowey
1.4 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
1.8 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ancient Mariner
The Ancient Mariner
#3 of 6 in Nether Stowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Cider House
The Old Cider House
#2 of 6 in Nether Stowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
3.7 mi away
Malt Shovel Inn
Malt Shovel Inn
#2 of 4 in Cannington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown Inn

Property: The Rose and Crown Inn
Address: 5 St. Mary Street, Nether Stowey TA5 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Nether Stowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Stowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose and Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th Century coaching inn located in Nether Stowey, in the Quantock Hills AONB. We were the first pub in the Quantocks to win the ‘Cask-Marque’ for the excellence of our real ales. Our kitchen serves home-made food every day. We have a beautiful beer garden with a children’s play area, and a cosy bar with a log fire and free Wi-Fi. All our bedrooms are en-suite. Our Family Suite can accommodate up to five. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Inn Nether Stowey, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing