We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice pub lunch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nether Stowey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rose and Crown Inn
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very nice pub lunch”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We popped into the Rose and Crown a few weeks ago whilst staying in the area.

We were greeted by friendly staff and a cosy atmosphere; our dog especially liked the warm open fireplace. A nice selection of local ales/ciders and a good Sunday lunch menu; we had roast beef/lamb baguettes with roast potatoes - yum!

... A great dog-friendly pub with good food and ales!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    16
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
17
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Unfortunately we were due to stay here for one night whilst we were over at an event traveling from the channel islands. The morning our departure our ferry over was cancelled due to unforeseen weather and so we could'nt make.

upon phoning the bed and breakfast early in the morning to tell them we could no longer make it and was very sorry we were told that we'd still be charged full room price as was company policy. After explaining the situation the gentleman i spoke to had to suddenly leave and said he'd ring me back, after several more calls and not being able to get hold of anyone i eventually got an email back from them 3 days after we were due to stay there stating that they'd still be charging us full price and that was that.

These people seemed very unreasonable and unwilling to help or even meet us half way, so my warning to everyone would be that if your booked to stay there make sure you go or you'll never see your money again.

They've lost out on around £600 worth of business from us who are due back over several more times this year and will now happily stay anywhere but there !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jadejersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose and Crown Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
It is always unfortunate when we have to implement our cancellation policy - which was introduced in response to an increasing number of last minute cancellations and 'no-shows'. Weekends are busy times and by booking and then cancelling rooms guests stop others from taking a room - often for a whole weekend or longer. In this particular case we had turned away three other bookings. This guest booked directly with ourselves and was sent our standard confirmation email, which advises guests to read our booking conditions and includes a link to the appropriate page on our website. This also recommends that guests take out travel insurance in case of unforseen circumstances, which presumably this guest has not done - although given that a ferry crossing was included in the journey this seems ill-advised. We do not like having to implement the policy but as a small rural firm we have to stay afloat. Unfortunately, a guest simply saying 'it's not my fault' does not mean that we should suffer a finacial loss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Very friendly pub,good accomodation and great food.Ideal for people wanting to walk ,run or cycle in the Quantock Hills.Breakfast was very good as was the two evening meals we had .It is set in a very quaint village with a few shops , all the staff were very friendly and helpful for directions etc.a stones throw from the hills. Recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blockley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We were recommended to eat at the Rose and Crown by the B&B - The Old Cider House - where we were staying. We decided to go an have a drink late on the Saturday afternoon and to book a table for that evening. The weather was awful, it was chucking it down with rain and upon entering the pub when we checked (although advertised as Dog Friendly) if we could bring in the dogs we were told by the rather moody barman "only if they are not soaking wet!" Well given that we had our coats on and he could see it was raining this wasn't the best start to being made to feel welcome. We sat by the fire and started chatting to one of the locals, this lady had very proudly won a rosette at a dressage competition earlier that day! After a couple of beers we accepted that we didn't want to travel to eat elsewhere so booked a table but requested the one we were sitting at as it was well away from the others so we felt that it was more suitable for us and our dogs. When we booked the table we asked the barman if we could have this table and he said yes, we also asked if we could return with the dogs and he replied "as long as they were on leads" given that they had been on leads the whole time we were there we didn't think this was a comment that was needed! Still it was quite soon obvious that the barman was finishing his shift so we left to get changed to return later. Unfortunately upon our return our table wasn't kept for us which meant that we had another table and felt very awkward as our dogs were very close to other diners. The only saving grace was that the food was very good, the service excellent and the evening staff much happier and friendlier. As a venue that appears to rely on tourists for the food trade I would recommend that the day time barman be given a little advice on how to treat new customers, upon mentioning our experience at the B&B our host did mention that this barman had a reputation for being like this which doesn't sound very good! Would we return, perhaps we might just check who is behind the bar first!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank charlieharvey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose and Crown Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
We are always concerned when a customer finds us less than 100% welcoming. Unfortunately I missed your arrival on the first occasion, although it would be hard to forget the excited conversation surrounding the rosette! The confusion over the table booking was entirely our fault, for which I must apologise. The booking was taken correctly by the afternoon staff, but the reserved sign was not put out by the evening staff. However, I would say that given the 'dog friendly' nature of the pub I am sure that no-one was put out.

On the positive side I am really pleased that you enjoyed your meal and that the service was excellent.

Our afternoon barman has asked me to offer his apologies, and to assure you that he did not in any way intend to be rude. Hopefully we will see you again and have the opportunity to do better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chile
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

We arrived late on a fri night from London. The warmth of the local banter, lovely owners, huge comfortable room and delicious breakfast made for a wonderful stay. Next time we'd love to stay longer!
Sarah & Tom

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cafeandculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I know the headline sounds dumb, but truly, this pub served the best braised cabbage ever. I ate there for a Sunday roast. I'm a Yank and never had that before, and was perhaps overly impressed. But it all really tasted good-- especially the purple cabbage. I've been trying to replicate it at home, but no luck. I guess I'll have to return to Nether Stowey to try it again. :)
I didn't stay there-- just ate in the pub. Lovely building.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Visited in Nov 2012 and pretty much perfect for us being a bunch of Mountain Bikers
Comfortable, clean and characterful. Owners very friendly. Beer and food excellent (and great value too). Really flexible and lovely breakfast too. even had a hose for our bikes afterwards!
Recommended for MTB groups - the wonderful Quantocks are on your doorstep...
Parking a little tight - but a small issue only. Would recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twiglet_Monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Stowey
1.3 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.0 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ancient Mariner
The Ancient Mariner
#3 of 6 in Nether Stowey
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Cider House
The Old Cider House
#2 of 6 in Nether Stowey
201 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown Inn

Property: The Rose and Crown Inn
Address: 5 St. Mary Street, Nether Stowey TA5 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Nether Stowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Stowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose and Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th Century coaching inn located in Nether Stowey, in the Quantock Hills AONB. We were the first pub in the Quantocks to win the ‘Cask-Marque’ for the excellence of our real ales. Our kitchen serves home-made food every day. We have a beautiful beer garden with a children’s play area, and a cosy bar with a log fire and free Wi-Fi. All our bedrooms are en-suite. Our Family Suite can accommodate up to five. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Inn Nether Stowey, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing