We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great pub”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nether Stowey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rose and Crown Inn
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great pub”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I've stayed many times at this pub as part of an annual MAMIL mountain bike trip to the Quantocks, and its a great pub.
Rooms are spotless, comfy beds and plenty of hot water-essential after a muddy day on the hills!
Bar food is hearty pub fare, with locally sourced ingredients. The steak was very good, and much better than some I've recently had in expensive London restaurants. Real ale is well kept and had a local brewed option which is always nice.
There has always been a good fire going, and there is a back room with big TV, pool and darts for added distractions, away from the main bar.
For bikers there is secure storage and a jet wash.
A great, friendly spot, and one to which we will be returning next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spotlight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose and Crown Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
It's always nice to get a review from one of our 'extended family'. AND It's always a pleasure to have you stay - particularly as you manage (mostly!) to keep mud off our nice cream carpets! Barb and I look forward to your next visit. Happy mountain biking, and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    16
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
17
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have just returned from staying at this inn. The landlord on arrival made us feel most welcome.We were shown to our room and asked wether we wanted to eat in the restaurant that evening,if so they would keep a table. Unfortunately I did not get chance to sample the beer, but I noticed that it was pulled and had a good head.
The room was very clean, comfortable and warm, with drink making facilities and biscuits.
Breakfast is served from 7am and is definitely worth having the whole english which will set you up for the day.
I recommend this inn without any hesitation,and cannot wait to visit it again next year for longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose and Crown Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you very much for this review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. What a shame you did not try the beer - we are Cask-Marque accredited and have something of a reputation for our real ales!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here in between going to Chedder Gorge and Wookey Hole .. We stayed one night , had a family room of which i was impressed with, it was spacious in was two separate bedrooms with our own bathroom which was huge! you could tell the age of the building ,sometimes it was like walking up hill to one end of the room to the other .. beds comfy, bedding lovely .. The bar man not so welcoming when we checked in, on street parking and you cant get a snack in the evening there full meals only on offer ..
Breakfast on the other hand was great, the man serving us was friendly and helpful, you get cereals, fruit, yogurts, toast and jam/marmalade , then a full English cooked breakfast with tea,coffee or orange juice , really enjoyed breakfast.
i would stay here again, not sure i would if i didn't have my family as i suspect you have to share bathrooms in single rooms, but ive experienced that before.
Over all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffymum3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose and Crown Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thanks so much for this review. Yes, the undulating floor in the Family Suite does reflect the age of that part of the building! Generally speaking, the floors elsewhere are flat as you would expect.

We do not offer 'snacks' in the evening but there is a range of Starters for those not wanting a full meal.

For the record, all of our other rooms are en-suite. There are no shared bathrooms other than in the Family Suite, so hopefully you will come back and see us again - and we will try to improve the check-in experience. Other than that I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on the 25th August. We arrived about 8.15pm and had trouble finding a parking space as there is only on street parking. The chap behind the bar who booked us in was a bit surly and not too welcoming but the rest of the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. We had two rooms connected by a corridor and a bathroom between us. The rooms were big and clean and the beds comfortable with lovely fresh smelling linen. The breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for the man who served us. All in all it was a decent place to rest up for the night and I would return if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eidix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose and Crown Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thanks for this review. Clearly we have some staff training issues but I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We seem to have a bit of a reputation for our breakfasts - given that so many of our guests are either walkers or mountain bikers we like to give everyone a great start to the day! Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New forest
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is an ancient coaching inn. The manager was very fiendly, but the bar staff rather curt. The family room was very pleasant. Well decorated and clean, with nice tea, coffee biscuits and water but still has the sense that this Inn is very old. The bar food was OK but the bar is quite noisy and there are not any local beers. Overall I would recommend this for travellers looking for a historic setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Excellent food, great hospitality, friendly staff with a fantastic atmosphere in a beautiful location!! Really enjoyed my stay at rose and crown was relaxed and the staff made sure that I had all I needed and if not they were more than happy to help... I could not fault the service it was top class.. Room was clean and tidy and kept that way through my stay with daily cleaning. Well recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owenlambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We tried this pub on our second night in this village and had a table reserved by the owner of our B&B. They serve decent local ale and have a reasonably priced menu.
I ordered the steak & ale pie which was very tasty and the beef was very tender, however I do not understand the idea of serving the pie in a dish with the vegetables in a separate dish. Plate it up properly as a meal please.
Anyway, my wife ordered a salmon dish and we were told later by the waitress that this meal was not available so she went for lasagne, also not available. Bear in mind that this is early Saturday evening with two dishes off the menu. She settled on cottage pie and after waiting almost 1 hour the food arrived. The cottage pie was again in a dish with separate vegetables and was quite dry so we asked for some additional gravy, the waitress retired to the kitchen and returned to say that they did not have any gravy! I cannot believe that a pub kitchen does not have gravy granules that could be made up quickly. A short walk down the road to the local shop would have provided just this.
A simple problem that could have been so easily solved spoiled what could have been a very good evening.
If you like your meals in separate dishes (a rather outdated way now I think) and are content to eat dry meals or coat them in tomato/brown sauce, give it a go.
By the way, the bar man was great, maybe let down by the rest of the staff/management.
Saturday 29th June 2013.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Stowey
1.3 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.0 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ancient Mariner
The Ancient Mariner
#3 of 6 in Nether Stowey
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Cider House
The Old Cider House
#2 of 6 in Nether Stowey
195 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown Inn

Property: The Rose and Crown Inn
Address: 5 St. Mary Street, Nether Stowey TA5 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Nether Stowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Stowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose and Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th Century coaching inn located in Nether Stowey, in the Quantock Hills AONB. We were the first pub in the Quantocks to win the ‘Cask-Marque’ for the excellence of our real ales. Our kitchen serves home-made food every day. We have a beautiful beer garden with a children’s play area, and a cosy bar with a log fire and free Wi-Fi. All our bedrooms are en-suite. Our Family Suite can accommodate up to five. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Inn Nether Stowey, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing