We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Soup!”

The Rose & Crown Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Super Soup!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Had a bowl of their homemade mushroom soup for lunch, which was brilliant value at £3.95,and tasted great to. Friendly landlord and excellent Ringwood beer as well. Recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank battybird1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose & Crown Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thanks for this review - I am glad you enjoyed lunch! Our 'soup of the day' is always home-made and changes regularly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
140 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We ate, we drank, we were merry”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We ate here twice during our stay. The food was fine without being fancy, and was served in the main bar/room. Pretty standard pub food really (steak, pie, meatballs, lasagne) at pretty standard prices. We were happy to sup our beer while waiting for our order to be cooked, but its fair to say (as noted by other reviewers) that the service was quite slow. But we weren't in any rush. The impression we got is that the kitchen struggles to cope if busy, so either book to eat early or be prepared to have a leisurely meal.

The pub is a Marston's pub so the two main ales were Pedigree and Forty Niner. The latter is a nice pint which slips down very easily but is actually 4.9% alcohol. Sadly the local Exmoor Ale (which was good) ran out after my first pint. But the beer must have been OK as we stuck around for a couple more afterwards.

Big TV for sport etc in back room a bonus if the footy is on.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Morcilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great food but make sure that you book as it's popular and only a small number of covers. The Duck and Port pudding is lush! Friendly staff and pleasant surroundings.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose & Crown Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you very much for this review. You are quite right - booking is always a good idea as we are busy most of the time, The Duck and Port pudding is a very popular choice. I'm pleased that you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Meals, what meals?”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We called here for Sunday lunch, ordered promptly and sat down with our drinks to await the meal expecting it to arrive promptly. After 30 minutes there was no sign of food so I asked when it would be served. 2-3 minutes we were told. Our then cutlery arrived but after 50 minutes I asked the girl serving the meals where our meals were and was told that the problem was that the kitchen had not been told of our order. There was no 'sorry' or even an estimate of when it might arrive. We could have perhaps understood if the place was busy but it wasn't. I asked for a refund as we could not wait any longer and it was given without quibble but the barman seemed surprised when I said that the kitchen claimed not to be aware of our order especially as he was the one who placed the order in the first place. An apology for such appalling service and proper explanation would have at least shown some element of concern but wasn't forthcoming. I read the reviews which on the whole say the food is good: I wish we had had the opportunity to form an opinion on this.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MooreDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose & Crown Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
It is always disappointing to receive a negative review, however infrequently this may occur. In this case we are really victims of our own success – having become very much the ‘pub of choice’ for Sunday lunch in the village. It is not true to say that we were not busy, as in fact we were turning people away as we had no tables left.

It is true that this customer had an unreasonably long wait for his food, for which I apologise – as I did at the time when giving him his refund. This was due to a number of factors, but mainly just the sheer volume of orders.

Perhaps a rather less aggressive approach – particularly towards our young waitress – would have resulted in a longer explanation of the issues on the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Ate at The Rose and Crown after reading previous reviews on TripAdvisor. And they're are no wrong. Fantastic food and service and very good value for money. I had 8oz sirloin steak for just over £12. Good choice of vegetarian meals for my girlfriend. Who choose vegetables lasagne from the specials menu. Staff all very welcoming, polite and smiling, excellent service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose & Crown Inn also viewed

Nether Stowey, Somerset
Nether Stowey, Somerset
 
Spaxton, Bridgwater
 
Nether Stowey, Somerset
 

Been to The Rose & Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing