We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped for a Drink”

The Rose & Crown Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very good Dog Friendly Accommodation & Bar: Only stopped off for a drink, whilst out on a walk. Even though we were soaking Wet, Toby included, we were made to feel welcome. Thanks

Thank Gwynnie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Had a bowl of their homemade mushroom soup for lunch, which was brilliant value at £3.95,and tasted great to. Friendly landlord and excellent Ringwood beer as well. Recommended!

Thank battybird1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose & Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thanks for this review - I am glad you enjoyed lunch! Our 'soup of the day' is always home-made and changes regularly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We ate here twice during our stay. The food was fine without being fancy, and was served in the main bar/room. Pretty standard pub food really (steak, pie, meatballs, lasagne) at pretty standard prices. We were happy to sup our beer while waiting for our order to be cooked, but its fair to say (as noted by other reviewers) that the service was quite slow. But we weren't in any rush. The impression we got is that the kitchen struggles to cope if busy, so either book to eat early or be prepared to have a leisurely meal.

The pub is a Marston's pub so the two main ales were Pedigree and Forty Niner. The latter is a nice pint which slips down very easily but is actually 4.9% alcohol. Sadly the local Exmoor Ale (which was good) ran out after my first pint. But the beer must have been OK as we stuck around for a couple more afterwards.

Big TV for sport etc in back room a bonus if the footy is on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mr_Morcilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great food but make sure that you book as it's popular and only a small number of covers. The Duck and Port pudding is lush! Friendly staff and pleasant surroundings.

Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose & Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you very much for this review. You are quite right - booking is always a good idea as we are busy most of the time, The Duck and Port pudding is a very popular choice. I'm pleased that you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We called here for Sunday lunch, ordered promptly and sat down with our drinks to await the meal expecting it to arrive promptly. After 30 minutes there was no sign of food so I asked when it would be served. 2-3 minutes we were told. Our then cutlery arrived but after 50 minutes I asked the girl serving the meals where our meals were and was told that the problem was that the kitchen had not been told of our order. There was no 'sorry' or even an estimate of when it might arrive. We could have perhaps understood if the place was busy but it wasn't. I asked for a refund as we could not wait any longer and it was given without quibble but the barman seemed surprised when I said that the kitchen claimed not to be aware of our order especially as he was the one who placed the order in the first place. An apology for such appalling service and proper explanation would have at least shown some element of concern but wasn't forthcoming. I read the reviews which on the whole say the food is good: I wish we had had the opportunity to form an opinion on this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank MooreDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose & Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

It is always disappointing to receive a negative review, however infrequently this may occur. In this case we are really victims of our own success – having become very much the ‘pub of choice’ for Sunday lunch in the village. It is not true to say that we were not busy, as in fact we were turning people away as we had no tables left.

It is true that this customer had an unreasonably long wait for his food, for which I apologise – as I did at the time when giving him his refund. This was due to a number of factors, but mainly just the sheer volume of orders.

Perhaps a rather less aggressive approach – particularly towards our young waitress – would have resulted in a longer explanation of the issues on the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose & Crown Inn also viewed

Nether Stowey, Somerset
Nether Stowey, Somerset
 
 
Spaxton, Bridgwater
 

Been to The Rose & Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing