We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Cream Tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quantock Tea Room

Quantock Tea Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: We are a small friendly Tea Room providing a comprehensive menu of All Day Breakfast, light lunches, sandwiches, cakes and a large variety of Teas and Coffees.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gorgeous Cream Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Highly recommend partaking of afternoon tea here. The cream tea with warm scones, jam and cream was delicious mmmmmm ......

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    10
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cute little tea room hidden in the Post Office!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We arrived at our hotel about 4pm Friday and wanted a late lunch, we were struggling to find anywhere that was still serving food at this time of day, and were told about this tea room by our hotel manager. We went there, and were so pleased when they said they were still serving. The food was lovely, the tea room was very cute, and the staff were very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin P, Owner at Quantock Tea Room, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for this review. We do our best to serve clients with freshly prepared foods using local ingredients where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timetravellerswife2
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tea room treat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Food all freshly made. took a little time but lovely when it arrived. Friendly staff Overall very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank timetravellerswife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin P, Owner at Quantock Tea Room, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for your valued comments. As all of the items are cooked to order, things take a little longer but we are doing our utmost to improve on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
255 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Lovely food, but very chilly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

My only negative is the lack of heating in winter? The staff are welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. Yes there is a wait for food because it is all freshly made! The smoked salmon and scrambled egg was delicious but on the cool side, the egg I mean.
We did not linger for anything else because of the cold, but may try again when the weather is warm

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin P, Owner at Quantock Tea Room, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Unfortunately this guest came in what was after all the coldest period experienced in many years. Around that time, the village was in fact cut off by snow and motorists had to be rescued from their vehicles and taken to the village hall overnight.

We have heating on all of the time in the tea room but struggled to keep it 'warm'. Out of all the guests, this was the only comment about the heating. This guest was then moved near to the heater to overcome the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
1 review
“Village tea room, warm and welcoming,with home made food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

An extraordinarily welcoming village tea room connected to the post office and a small shop where you can find food prepared and served with care and enthusiasm. Everything has been redone and decorated respecting the local colors and old spirit of the building with a lot of attention to details and to the history of the building and the village and the area. You can find local products, fresh bread, little souvenirs, beautiful postcards to send immediately from the post office! I will definitely be back, hopefully soon, and I definitely recommend the place for anyone who wants to enjoy a delicious food in a relaxing and locally colored and welcoming environment!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quantock Tea Room also viewed

 
Nether Stowey, Somerset
 
Nether Stowey, Somerset

Been to Quantock Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing