We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B and B!”

Merrywood Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nether Stowey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merrywood Bed & Breakfast
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great B and B!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Merrywood was a super base for our walking weekend. Big rooms, really clean and top quality breakfast with eggs from Tom's beautiful chickens. We spent a couple of hours relaxing in their lovely garden with a glass in hand. Perfect! Hosts Jenny and Dave couldn't have been more amenable. Great value too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bromsgrove
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were five friends meeting up to walk in Somerset and were so lucky to find this lovely B and B! Nether Stowey is a quiet, pretty village on the Coleridge Way. We had the use of two large three bedded rooms. They were immaculate, well equipped and extremely spacious. Both had super TVs (Glastonbury was on so important!) and an excellent bathroom + shower. The breakfasts were lovely, freshly cooked exactly to order on really hot plates. The owners could not do enough to ensure our stay was a good one, keeping out bottles cool in their fridge and they had a pretty garden which spent our early evening in. Good pub really nearby.

Room Tip: I think they are all great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at Merrywood for two nights and used it as a base for walking on the Quantock Hills. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, the full English breakfasts piping hot and delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly owners Jenny and David. Netherstowey itself was a pretty,well-kept village, with The Ancient Mariner pub, a short walk from Merrywood,serving great food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here for a mountain biking weekend in November 2013. The location is perfect, in a pretty village with good pubs, and with easy access (ten minutes ride) to the start of the Quantocks routes. The rooms are clean and spacious, breakfast was good, and the owners very friendly and helpful, and there is secure storage for bikes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

With an elderly Aunt living in Nether Stowey who we visit several times a year we needed to find a good and reliable bed and breakfast. We have certainly found that with Merrywood. Each time we have stayed Jenny and Dave make us feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Our Aunt even joins us for breakfast and they make her very welcome too and as she has walking difficulties they are always at hand to assist her and help her to the table. The breakfast choice is excellent and always cooked just as we like it and always presented nicely. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. The shower is good and always plenty of hot water. The hostess tray is well stocked and even fresh milk available!! We would certainly highly recommend this bed and breakfast and are already looking forward to our stay at Christmas. time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here whilst on a Mountain biking trip in the Quantocks. Really friendly hosts.
Excellent freshly cooked to order breakfast, The showers are great with plenty on hot water, rooms are clean & the place is really conveniently placed. Nothing seemed to be a bother, even with us being muddy mountain bikers. Would defiantly stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at Merrywood as a group taking part in the course. All at Merrywood were extremely friendly and were hugely accommodating.

We were made to feel at home, given fantastic breakfast and packed lunch as well as some amazing cake.

Merrywood is very convenient for the east-end of the Quantocks and is extremely easy to get to in a village with a choice of pubs for eating out. The B&B is well presented and up to date -very comfortable.

Wouldn't hesitate in going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Stowey
1.2 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.0 mi away
The Ancient Mariner
The Ancient Mariner
#3 of 6 in Nether Stowey
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Cider House
The Old Cider House
#2 of 6 in Nether Stowey
195 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Merrywood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrywood Bed & Breakfast

Property: Merrywood Bed & Breakfast
Address: Merrywood Lime Street, Nether Stowey TA5 1NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Nether Stowey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Stowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your stay includes visiting friends and family, on business, exploring the Quantock hills by foot or cycling, or just relaxing on a well deserved break, we offer the perfect peaceful place to stay, with all home from home comforts and a delicious home cooked breakfast. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merrywood Bed & Breakfast Nether Stowey, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing