We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming, friendly and very enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Poole House

Poole House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nether Stowey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poole House
1 review
“Welcoming, friendly and very enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

As we got Stranded in the snow trying to get home with our 15 month old daughter we had to find a B&B at very short notice in nether stowey. We found Poole house who were more than welcoming and happy to accommodate us at a late hour and short notice. We had a very comfortable night in a lovely room followed by a wonderful breakfast and assistance to get our car out of the snow and on the road! Very welcoming, helpful and enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simoriahrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa B, Owner at Poole House, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Glad we could help! The weather was extraordinary that evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
34
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Teresa and Rick are warm and welcoming hosts, and their home combines a sense of history with elegance and comfort. I felt "at home" immediately and enjoyed tea and a slice of Christmas cake on arrival.

The room was spacious and the bathroom splendid. Unfortunately I wasn't too well, so had to miss breakfast but was taken care of with sensitivity until collected by my family.

I cannot recommend Poole House too highly. Treat yourself!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missusf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa B, Owner at Poole House, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
So pleased you're feeling better now - there's nothing worse than feeling ill away from home!
We're glad you enjoyed the history of the house and were comfortable even though you were unable to enjoy the breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We found this B& B by chance and spent the most wonderful weekend there. We stayed in the Thomas Poole room which is absolutely gorgeous and I have to say has one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in!! Rick and Teresa (the owners) were really hands on and made sure that we had everything that we needed – nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were amazing, a full cooked English breakfast with fresh coffee.
Nether Stowey is a lovely little village with several great pubs, we had several glasses of local cider in The George and Bill the landlord made us really welcome.
I would highly recommend this B & B as a fantastic weekend getaway!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessafrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa B, Owner at Poole House, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay in Thomas Poole's room and your breakfast - we use locally sourced produce from our local butcher (everyone loves their 'Old English' sausages) and eggs from our neighbour's chickens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stone
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Never been to the Somerset area before but found a gem of a place to stay. Poole house is a warm and friendly home, the owners are very fiendly and made us very welcome. The beds were good and we had a good nights sleep. Full marks to the chef for the wholesome breafast wow!! We will certainly be back to stay at Poole House to further expore the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa B, Owner at Poole House, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
We try to make Poole House home from home for our guests and we're pleased you were comfortable here. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We just spent 2 days in Nether Stowey and stayed at the delightful Poole House. Big comfy bed in lovely room with large bathroom. Fabulous country breakfast which set us up for the day.
The new owners made us feel very welcome and we'll certainly be back again.
If you're looking for a peaceful retreat this is the place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for the Thomas Poole Room and you'll get a fabulous bathroom with huge bath - just what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa B, Owner at Poole House, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Lovely to meet you both and we're pleased you enjoyed your marathon walk! That huge bath must have been a welcome sight after hours of trekking over the Quantocks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Stowey
1.2 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
2.0 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ancient Mariner
The Ancient Mariner
#3 of 6 in Nether Stowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Cider House
The Old Cider House
#2 of 6 in Nether Stowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.5 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poole House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poole House

Property: Poole House
Address: 21 Castle Street, Nether Stowey TA5 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Nether Stowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Stowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole House originates from the 17th Century and its famous visitors include Samuel Taylor Coleridge and William Wordsworth. The house was owned by local philanthropist, Thomas Poole, who befriended the poets when they visited or lived in Nether Stowey. We offer two luxury en-suite bedrooms in the beautiful village of Nether Stowey which nestles on the edge of the Quantock Hills, Somerset. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poole House Nether Stowey, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing