We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in the Quantocks!”
Review of Poole House

Poole House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nether Stowey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poole House
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Poole House ticks all the boxes as an excellent base to stay for exploring the Quantocks plus the local history. Coleridge Cottage is just round the corner and well worth a visit and the village has local shops and pubs worth exploring. The house has an interesting history of its own and the warm and friendly welcome on a rather dismal Spring day was very much appreciated. Fantastic large room and bathroom worthy of Las Vegas! We loved the breakfast which we managed to gobble down in spite of eating well the night before and all the information supplied in the room about the locality was really helpful.

Room Tip: Try and get the front room with the special bathroom!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJT51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa B, Owner at Poole House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your review and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay and also your visit to Coleridge Cottage. The weather could have been better but the party made up for it! See you both next time .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Poole House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just got back from 4 nights in Somerset - staying at the fabulous Poole House in Nether Stowey. This was our 2nd visit as we had such a lovely stay last year and I can say we were not disappointed. Teresa and Rick are excellent hosts - who make you feel very welcome. We stayed in the Thomas Poole room at the front of the house - which is a beautiful room with an amazing bathroom !! The breakfasts were great (even the one Rick did unsupervised !), kept us going right through the day. The weather was also fantastic and we spent many hours walking in the hills and along the coast path as well as visiting some great National Trust and English Heritage properties. Poole House is a luxurious gem of a B&B in a fantastic area and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting somewhere special to stay when visiting the area. Thank you Rick and Teresa you are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa B, Owner at Poole House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thanks for your review - We're delighted you enjoyed your return visit - the weather was perfect! It was good to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I just spent 5 delightful days in the picturesque village of Nether Stowey in the Sedgemoor district of Somerset, South West England. The village sits in the foothills of the Quantock Hills and the area served as the inspiration for some of the world's most famous poets including Samuel Coleridge and William Wordsworth. I stayed in the historic Poole House on Castle Street in Nether Stowey, an extremely comfortable B&B owned by Teresa and Rick, two very accommodating hosts who were both more than willing to share their knowledge of the area and to do all in their power to make sure that my stay was perfect, which it was! The bed was most comfortable, room was quiet, breakfast extraordinary and all as clean as can be. This is definitely a place to stay if you are in the area.

Room Tip: The house was originally built by Thomas Poole, a free-thinking philanthropist who contributed to ma...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa B, Owner at Poole House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review - we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us!
We look forward to seeing you in July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a wonderful couple of nights here. Could not have been made more welcome. Lovely accommodation and great breakfasts. This is a really special place to stay especially if you are a Coleridge fan!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa B, Owner at Poole House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your review - we hope to see you again for the next meeting of the Friends of Coleridge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Poole house was a peaceful and luxurious haven, from which to explore the area. A lovely spoiling breakfast, which included a full English Breakfast, served with a warm smile by the very helpful hosts. There was a film-set marble bathroom with bath and shower, and a vast bedroom (Poole's room). A two minute walk downhill brought us to the village centre, and the Rose & Crown which supplied a good pub dinner (washed down with local cider or beer, or anything else).

Room Tip: Poole room is the biggest. The other room has only a shower in the en-suite.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa B, Owner at Poole House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

It was lovely to meet you both and we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us ... the crocus is planted safely under the horse chestnut tree! Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just returned from a second stay at Poole House, although this time we opted to upgrade to Thomas Poole's room. Well worth it, the bedroom is huge with very large comfy bed and a luxurious bathroom. Big hearty breakfast and nothing is too much trouble.
The owners made us feel so welcome, again, very knowledgeable about what's going on in Somerset, places to visit etc.
We'll certainly return again later this year!
Highly recommend this luxury B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa B, Owner at Poole House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

It was good to see you both again and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay... there's nothing better than long walks on the Quantocks! Looking forward to seeing you again in the autumn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We’ve just come back from a lovely weekend at Poole House. The weather was pretty poor, but the accommodation, breakfast and welcome were first-rate. The Tom Poole room is as enormous as it looks on the photos, with a very comfortable super king bed, armchairs, a chaise longue, and a large en-suite bathroom with separate bath and shower. The full English breakfast, which we needed before heading out to walk in the hills in the fog, was very tasty, made with quality ingredients, and too big for even my greedy husband to polish off entirely. The breakfast room doubles as a nice guest sitting-room (there are walking books and maps) with two comfortable sofas. The hosts, Rick and Teresa are very welcoming – we felt completely at home!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cranford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa B, Owner at Poole House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thanks for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here - sorry we couldn't change the weather but next time you come I'm sure it will be better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Stowey
1.2 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.1 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Cider House
The Old Cider House
#2 of 6 in Nether Stowey
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ancient Mariner
The Ancient Mariner
#3 of 6 in Nether Stowey
70 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Poole House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poole House

Address: 21 Castle Street, Nether Stowey TA5 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Nether Stowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Stowey
Price Range: £80 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole House originates from the 17th Century and its famous visitors include Samuel Taylor Coleridge and William Wordsworth. The house was owned by local philanthropist, Thomas Poole, who befriended the poets when they visited or lived in Nether Stowey. We offer two luxury en-suite bedrooms in the beautiful village of Nether Stowey which nestles on the edge of the Quantock Hills, Somerset. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poole House Nether Stowey, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing