We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coleridge wasn't stupid...”
Review of The Old House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old House
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
1 review
“Coleridge wasn't stupid...”
Reviewed 5 March 2009

We went for a couple of days to Somerset and were looking for a last-minute romantic quiet place to celebrate my wife's birthday. It was exactly what we were looking for. Manor and Ann were great hosts - with helpful tips on how to enjoy the local area, friendly and approachable manner which at the same time left us the space to enjoy the privacy of the Coleridge Suite.

The room itself was large, quiet and beautifully done-out. It had an olde-worlde feeling that was nicely done, it made us comfortable. All the facilities - hairdryer, iron/ironing board, television/DVD player, sofa and armchair, books to read were complimented by a tea-tray with lovely cookies, chocolates, fresh milk and different types of tea/coffee. We had our own key to come and go, which made it feel private. The bathroom was outside the bedroom, but a separating curtain to the main house gave sense of own space.

Breakfasts were done according to personal choice (with a menu-selection sheet to be filled the day before). The cooked breakfast was delicious, and getting up in the morning was a pleasure when we had the whole spread to look forward to.

The local area is beautiful, with lots of walks, mountain bike trails, pretty picturesque villages, thatched tea-rooms, walks by the sea.

Great for a short break, a getaway, a chance to spoil yourselves. We'll definitely be recommending it to friends and families (but not too many people, because we want it to be available when we go back next time!).

Mr & Mrs Nicodemi

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
75
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Searching on the internet for a much needed break we thought the Old House looked rather special and decided to try it. We couldn't have chosen better! The Coleridge Suite is stunning. It is superbly furnished, spacious, light, airy, calming, romantic and having your own keys to be able to come and go as you please makes for a very relaxing stay. The little touches of luxury chocolates and biscuits and fresh milk with your tea tray adds to the feeling of being pampered. Manor and Ann are wonderful hosts, very welcoming and extremely helpful regarding local areas to visit. And of course as all the reviews say, their breakfasts are to die for! Not only can you choose between continental or English but the choices within each one are superb and all is fresh produce and cooked to perfection. I chose the continental breakfast one day and was delighted to find that it not only included croissants and jam but fantastic continental meats and cheeses with fresh fruit. Finally and most importantly for us was just how pet friendly Ann and Manor were. We have a very elderly collie cross called Daisy and they were as welcoming and attentive to her as they were with us. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshie
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2008

We recently had a lovely time in the Coleridge Suite.If you are looking for exceptional accommodation in a beautiful setting with a warm and friendly welcome and excellent breakfasts this is the place to stay. The Coleridge suite is so spacious and so comfortable absolutely exquisite. Ideal for that special occasion.
Ann and Manor the owners were so helpful nothing being too much trouble. If you need advice on what to do or where to go ask Manor. The " Sat Nav of Somerset".
Here at the Old House you are spoilt for choice whether it be the Coleridge Suite or one of the cottages set within the beautiful courtyard and gardens.
A good base for walking and exploring the nearby villages and beaches with all amenities to hand.
We will definitely return absolutely faultless.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sophie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We stayed at the Old House on the night before we started the Coleridge Way Walk. Manor and Ann were wonderful hosts and the breakfast we had was the best on our entire trip. Everything was so fresh and clean. The attention to detail was fantasitic and the lovely sweet peas made a beautiful addition to the breakfast table. We stopped at other B & Bs along the walk but this was the best one. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank literarywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

I chose to stay at The Old House the night before my wedding and I am so glad I did! The Coleridge Suite is a beautiful spacious room, the gardens are lovely and the breakfast is the best I have had in a long time - I recommend the fresh fruit salad to start with! Manor and Ann were brilliant hosts and I felt that they went out of their way to help me on the morning of my wedding which started my "big day" off in the best way. Nether Stowey is a lovely village and there are some great walks near by. I can't recommend this place enough and I will visit again - next time with my husband :-)

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — I didn't stay long enough!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailliegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2008

I stayed at The Old House as part of a mountain biking trip to the Quantocks in late May 2008.
The biking was tough and this B&B provided an ideal retreat at the end of 7 hours a day in the saddle.
The house itself is a fabulous 18th Century build with various add-ons over the years and fronts the most amazing high-walled garden.
I was lucky enough to spend a sunny evening upon arrival with a cold beer in hand admiring the Wembley-esque lawn which retreats around the corner out of sight.

Ann and Manor were excellent hosts providing a warm welcome and a first class breakfast option.
The rooms are large, comfortable and have all necessary amenities for your stay.
I thoroughly recommend this establishment to those thinking of staying in the area.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Kingofthemountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Nether Stowey is as charming a village as we found in our travels through England, and The Old House is an ideal lodging. The room we had was spacious and quiet with nothing overlooked - lots of nice little touches and very homey. The breakfast was the best of our trip and among the best I have ever enjoyed. Manor, the man of the house, was most helpful in suggesting where to travel in Exmoor and beyond. The garden
in back is idyllic. Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Stowey
1.4 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
1.9 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
7.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Cider House
The Old Cider House
#2 of 6 in Nether Stowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ancient Mariner
The Ancient Mariner
#3 of 6 in Nether Stowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.6 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House

Property: The Old House
Address: The Old House St. Mary Street, Nether Stowey TA5 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Nether Stowey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Stowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House is a Grade 2 listed building. Once the home of Thomas Poole who was the generous benefactor of Samuel Taylor Coleridge., who visited and stayed in the house. The Coleridge Suite is the Book Room (library) frequented by Coleridge, Wordsworth, the Wedgewoods and Humphrey Davey.It has an acre of a well tended walled garden for guests to relax and enjoy.It is situated in the heart of the lovely characterful village of Nether Stowey and is central to several local attractions. It is the perfect spot to use as a base for your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old House Nether Stowey, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing