We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade of the Hotel Has Made A Big Difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Came back to the Apollo after their recent renovations.
I didn't stay in the new wing, and stayed in one of the rooms in the refurbished old wing.
I actually prefer this wing due to the lovely views across the bushland and the valley outside.
Staff are lovely, and room was spotlessly clean and tidy and a very good size. Bed very comfortable. Such a good location, so I always make this my base in the Newcastle area when I stay here.

A few things I was a little disappointed in regarding the new renovations:

1) The room was renovated, however, the air conditioner wasn't a new one and was an older one kept from the room previously. Whilst it did the job, it was quite noisy.

2) I was surprised to see that the room service menu hadn't been rejuvenated / upgraded along with the hotel and still offered the same choices and is a little bit limited in selection. It does the job, but a few more selections would be handy.

3) The bathroom is quite dark, particularly in the shower area, even when both bathroom lights are on. Not an issue for me, but maybe for ladies who need to do make-up etc.

4) I know that these days its good to "be green" and consequently, the hotel has fitted energy-saving halogen bulbs in the rooms. Whilst good environmentally, they do cast a very harsh light around the room at night time, not a "soft" light that a conventional bulb would emit, and consequently, despite having modern fittings, the room doesn't really have any "warmth" about it when the lights are switched on at night time. It felt quite clinical at night-time being in the room.

5) If they could add the FOX FOOTY channel in the future, the selection on the TV would be excellent. (Yes, I'm a footy fan and miss my coverage when travelling for work).

These are very small issues, and wouldn't put me off staying here again - and it shouldn't for you either. However, if I was re-designing a hotel I would have thought about these things - particularly the lighting. It's the small things that make a difference sometimes. This is the best hotel in this area of Newcastle, and with large clean rooms, and friendly staff who make you feel welcome, I am always happy to come back here.

A very reliable, consistent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lachlan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We note your positive comments regarding the convenient location of the hotel, the quality of the room and the service, and attitude, of our professional team. May I point out that the views of the valley are just as good from the new rooms, so please consider booking a room in the new wing on your next visit.
In regard to the issues that you raise, you are right that not all the existing air conditioners have been replaced, but assure you that new air conditioners are being being progressively installed.
A new room service menu is being introduced this week.
The lighting in both the guest rooms and the bathrooms is being upgraded and we have already installed additional lighting in 20 of the existing 50 rooms.
In regard to Foxtel we do have 3 sports channels, so we are a little confused. Please contact our General Manager in this regard. We are not sure whether you are suggesting that we also introduce a dedicated AFL channel?
Thank you again for your endorsement of our property. We are dedicated to continuously improving our product and value the feedback that you have given us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hope that you will notice the improvements that have been made. Warm regards - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

My Partner and I had booked to stay at this hotel from the 14.6.12 - 17.6.12 for an engagement party that we had to attend on the saturday.

Now we decided to leave a night early & stay half way however, I called to see if they had a spare room, & they did, so we travelled the entire way on Wednesday night (13.6.12). We arrived at just before midnight, & even though we arrived very very late/early the man who booked us in was very accomodating. We orginally had booked a King Spa suite for the dasy we were going to be there, but as our original room was not avaliable for this night we got a free upgrade to a 1 Bedroom spa suite for the night.
We loved this room so much that we enquired the following morning about getting that same room for the rest of the time, which was not a problem. The 1 Bedroom spa suite was beautiful, the room was so very very clean and tidy, & there was alot of space.

Also I found everyone there so very very nice, polite & accomodating. I had ordered a new Digital SLR camera that i was having delievered to the hotel (i asked first of coarse & they infromed me that this would be fine). The ladies at the front desk put up with my many many annoying phone calls double checking addresses an such, but not once did anyone sound short with me on the phone (after calling so many times). I was impressed with this alot, usualy when you call a hotel alot they tend to get short with you, ive had this happen to me with other hotels in the Charlestown area.

When my package arrived me & my partner were not in our room, so they called to inform me that it had arrived safe and sound & that i could pick it up from the front desk whenever i would like.

We enjoyed staying at this hotel very much, it is well worth the money that we paid. (i have paid big $$ at other hotels & they were no where near as nice, polite or accomodating to our needs.)
I encourage everyone to stay at this hotel the price is well worth it.
I can gaurentee that you will enjoy it, we relaxed so much while here, it was great.

Thankyou so much for everything that you did for us during our stay.

Regards Crystal & Jason

Room Tip: Spend the extra money & get a 1 Bedroom Spa Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you for your most enthusiastic endorsement of our beautiful new hotel. Our General Manager, David Ingleton, and his team are committed to exemplary service, and your comments are most gratifying. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Rest assured, our team will go out of its way to make your stay as special as the last. Warm regards - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Apollo in May this year. This time our accommodation was in the new wing. This a a very modern complex and the rooms are quite well furnished, Having said that the rooms are indeed very large and seem a little sparse. One difference is that the older rooms we have stayed in have a lounge and this room had just one easy chair. I do not like to find problems but when I endeavoured to hang my clothes in the wardrobe I could not reach to do so. I am 5foot 6 inches tall and have never had that problem before. Maybe the rods could be lower to fix this. Only a small problems probably but annoying just the same. When we checked in we asked for some fresh milk and were told that only skim milk was available. Also we were not advised that we could drive our car around to the front of the building to unload our bags. Directions were very vague and we then drove to the underground parking but found we could not gain entry through the door as it was locked, I understand of an evening that this would be so but not at 4pm. My husband was recovering for recent knee surgery and more information would have been helpful. After we had sorted this out everything was fine. Breakfast was wonderful as always and most of the staff great. One of the managers apologised for the mix up with the milk and said we should have been given a jug of milk. We are used to having top service at the Apollo and I am sure this will continue. We will of course stay there when ever we are in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Ask the best place to park if in the new wing near the Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moveround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you for your detailed and most helpful review. Your feedback is most appreciated. Our General Manager has looked into the issues you have raised and has not been able to establish which room you occupied. He feels that the room that you were allocated might have been one of the first of the new rooms that came on-line. Apparently there were a couple of instances, in the early stages, where we had only one lounge chair in two or three rooms, because the hotel was fully booked and we needed to make as many rooms as possible available. Every room now has 2 chairs, or a sofabed, plus a coffee table.

Without a second chair, or a mirror on the wall or artwork, at the time of your stay, your comment on sparse furnishing is fully understandable.

Thanks for drawing our attention to the height of the coat hangers. Your feedback will enable us to draw up a programme to address that issue.

In regards to signage – now that the new wing is complete, we have set about assessing appropriate internal and external directional signage.

We do apologise for the inconveniences you have described. Most of the issues you have describe have been addressed, and some, such as signage, are a work in progress.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again and would ask you to please call our General Manager, David Ingleton, ahead of your visit. He would like the opportunity to personally welcome you back and would love to give you a quick tour of the now completed new hotel. Warm wishes - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This place has upped the standard for motels. Recently renovated to a good standard: Modern decor, spacious room, great bed - a very comfy king bed in the room I stayed in. Was in a refurbished room not one of the new ones. The newer ones are a little closer to the main road and they may be smaller, as I understand they may only have queen beds.

There's a good level of service delivered with genuine warmth and hospitality from the staff, plus a reasonable in-room dinner menu which could do with some work menu wise - in winter one would expect a delicious soup of the day surely. The food was good over the few days but nothing special - although the Thai green curry was Delicious. Breakfast was more variable with the poached eggs excellent one day,not so good another. But -bless them - espresso coffee! All served in a lovely morning room (not sure what the room delivers in atmosphere in the evening as we ate in the room or ate out).

Some interesting acoustics via the bathroom vents - with conversation from next door audible.

Overall this place beats a number hotels I've stayed in - and it has fabulous views, lovely surroundings with rooms facing rainforest and is a great spot to watch the sunset. It is also walking distance to a large shopping centre with movies and is 10 minutes drive from Newcastle CBD.

Extremely good "just re-opened" deal $150 ish for room and full breakfast. Can't believe I've had 2 very good experiences this month in modest establishments - keep it up everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do not understand your description of the property as a motel. The Apollo International is not a motel. It is a 4 star, full-service hotel. Your information regarding the new wing is, with respect, not correct. The rooms in the new wing are all 30 sqm, which makes them the largest rooms available in Newcastle. Most rooms have king-size beds with pillow-top mattresses. The new wing is totally insulated from the noise of the Pacific Highway. We are aware of the occasional sound transmission through the vents of the renovated rooms in the existing wing, and are attempting to address that small problem. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and suggest that you try a room in the new wing on the next occasion. We assure you of our commitment to excellence and, should you have any issues at all, our General Manager, David Ingleton, would be only too pleased to assist you. Warm wishes - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I've stayed in Newcastle many times but this was my first time at The Quality Hotel Apollo International Hotel. I know Newcastle well enough to say that it is classed as one of Australia's largest cities, has undergone some major transformations along the dock area and looks to be a very livable city. Cafes and boutiques in Hamilton (great bookshop), great live music scene, major sporting facility, dock renewal with restaurants, bars, cafes, views, etc.. CHECK!. A wide variety of quality accommodation? UNCHECK! I have found Newcastle to be one of the most difficult places to find good quality, reliable (over time), affordable accommodation (or at least facilities matching price). If a hotel says it is 5 stars then they better match the 5 star hotels in Sydney for service, style, facilities, deals, room types and furnishings. I don't think I've stayed in the same place twice in Newcastle and always find myself returning to 'trip advisor' to see if anything's changed in terms of accommodation - anything new, refurbished, new management and, peoples responses to any of the former. The 'Quality' immediately stood out as a hotel to try. Newly refurbished, good reviews …would I be disappointed? It is in Charlestown not far from the CBD especially if you're driving (10-15mins depending on traffic etc). There are two major shopping centers close by one of which I'd not been to before - Charlestown Square. It was a bit of a surprise too - very large, lots of quality/brand name/designer shops! After popping into the shopping centre we arrived at The Quest. I'd made the booking only a few days before and I always have a lot of request. I wondered if these had been met. After a pleasant, simple & quick check-in experience I found my room. I'd asked for a quiet room, for example, away from traffic noise. I turned & looked through the floor-to-ceiling window/wall across from my room. "Oh no", I thought. The Pacific Highway, on which the hotel is situated, was about 15 metres away across their car-park. I could hear the traffic roaring past! Once inside the room though, I couldn't hear any traffic at all! Further into the room I went expecting a queen sized bed (I'd requested a king at late notice), and there was the king sized bed I'd requested! The room itself had been painted in modern colours, the matching linen was crisp, clean and modern. There were a couple of neat arm chairs and table as well as a desk against the opposite wall. The room ended in a floor-to-ceiling window and a sturdy security door and screen door through which I could see a balcony with chairs & table (& - OMG - an ashtray'(as a smoker, this made me very happy- sick but true). The view was lovely. Beautiful native Australian bushland, tall eucalypts, birds singing and 'bats alive' as twilight struck. Room service dinner was in order for a one night stay and it was delicious! Service from housekeeping brought a couple of extra pillows in no time at all. A very comfy bed topped it all off with a good nights sleep. The deal I'd grabbed online from their own website not only gave us great rates, early 12pm check-in and late 11am check-out, but also a-la-carte breakfast for two in the restaurant. I didn't quite make it to breakfast but my traveling companion said that she'd been served the best poached eggs she'd ever had. The only thing we could fault was that the bathroom door could use some WD40!!!!! How wonderfully hysterical! I will definitely go back to The Quality Hotel Apollo International, Charlestown. it's about time accommodation services lifted their game in the Newcastle area & 'The Quality' has done just that.

Room Tip: Rooms with. Balcony facing the bushland behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minkxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

We thank you for taking the time, not only to write a review, but to write such a comprehensive and glowing revue. Our new wing has only been only been open for a few weeks, and these are challenging times for our General Manager and his enthusiastic team. We have made a significant investment in the renovation and expansion of this property in a difficult economic climate. Instead of cutting corners, or compromising, we made sure that every guest room would be of a generous size, would be beautifully fitted out, would have great views over the verdant reserve, and that we would offer exemplary service and professionalism. It is most gratifying to receive this wonderful endorsement, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you again and best wishes - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, easy to get to, love the area. Breakfast is yummy.

Rooms are lovely now they have been done up. Carpet outside still needs changing but it wasn't a bother.

Loving the free parking. Overall a great stay and we will be back.

The accommodation and breakfast deal is so worth it - would love to stay in one of the brand new rooms next time!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJ_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in a newly renovated room and look forward to accommodating you in one of our new rooms on your next visit. The recarpeting of the corridors is certainly on our agenda. Thank you again and warm regards - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed here on a $156.00 special which included breakfast for two. This was a great value for money package. Clean and crisp rooms and nicely refurbished. Breakfast choice was fantastic. Recommend the French toast. Will stay again for a weekend shopping adventure!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelJunkiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for making the effort to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again. Our General Manager and his enthusiastic team may every effort to make every guest feel special, and your positive feedback is much appreciated. Warm wishes - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
405 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,038 reviews
5.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
392 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
3.1 mi away
Merewether Motel
Merewether Motel
#2 of 24 in Newcastle
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel

Address: 290 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Apollo International)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range: £73 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel is a 94 room, recently totally renovated and extended 4.5 star hotel, located 10 minutes south of Newcastle CBD and providing easy access to the city and local beaches. Set against a backdrop of native bush reserve, Apollo International provides quality accommodation, professional personalised service and well appointed modern facilities. Just minutes drive to the heart of Newcastle and 2 hours from Sydney via the F3 expressway. Unmistakable in appearance, the hotel offers arguably the newest, largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel Charlestown, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing