We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern and Good Value”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This Motel appears to be fairly new and is well maintained. Great value for the money, it was no more expensive than most of the older Motels in the Newcastle area. The rooms are large and comfortable with modern fittings and a balcony. Although the Motel is right on the Highway it is designed with the hallway between the Rooms and the Road, so there was virtually no traffic noise at night. Overall great value for money, and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bourb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    295
    68
    22
    10
See reviews for
163
240
44
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed in the Apollo hotel for 2 nights in between our trips and found the rooms to be modern and well appointed with modern decor and very good value for money. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and found the food to be really good. We were expecting it to be ok but nothing special but were pleasantly surprised. There were five of us eating and we all enjoyed our meals. If you are looking for a good value, clean and functional hotel you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseReading_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

Found the rooms quiet nice over priced tho stayed at the Newcastle executive apartments for the same price had two bedrooms queen beds 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen for the same price. Apollo need to replace foyer carpet.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeka79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
We refer to your review. You stayed with us when the hotel was fully occupied. Our rates are always competitive and track the rates charged by our competitors. The corridor (not the foyer) carpet is scheduled for replacement. Should you choose to stay with us again, we are certain that you will find our rates reasonable and the quality of our accommodation and service beyond reproach. With regards - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokolbin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here on Australia Day to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. We had an Executive Room which was almost brand new, very spacious and comfortable. We dined in the Babbington Restaurant which was a real let down. Decided to have drinks at the bar first, asked for Gin and Tonic.....waitress comes back to us, sorry sir but we have run out of Gin......OK we will have a Becks Beer........waitress comes back to us, sorry sir but we have run out of Becks beer. While we were sitting at the bar now having champagne, the waitress walks up to us with our entrees??? so we follow her and our entrees across the room to our table. We order a bottle of wine....she comes back to us, sorry sir but we do not have that wine??? why dont you update the wine list? We aksed that our main meals didnt come out as fast as our entree. The waitress said let me know when you are ready and I'll tell the chef to start cooking them. After 20 minutes we said we were ready.....within 1 minute they were sitting on our table. Obviously they had been cooked and were sitting for over 20 minutes. Our rare steak was now medium to well done, the sauce had a thick skin on top. The waitress said we are catering for a wedding down stairs.....so does that make us less important?we were rushed from the moment we arrived - very dissapointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
The new Apollo International was officially opened a few months ago after a multi-million dollar renovation and rebuilding programme. We believe, as has been pointed out by you, that we offer the best accommodation in Newcastle – sparkling new, generously-sized guest rooms, with gleaming white and charcoal tiled ensuites, all with a view over acres of verdant bushland reserve. Babbingtons restaurant has been totally renovated and we have just appointed a new chef who has revamped the menu and who, on the whole, has been receiving very good reviews.
Your review is obviously very damning and we can only apologise, on behalf of our General Manager, and his team, for your unhappy dining experience. We might point out that we have not stocked Becks beer for many months, because it was a slow seller and we have assumed that you ordered a Mildara Cabernet Sauvignon, which is currently out of stock. Our General Manager advises that we had an adequate stock of gin for the weekend but, somehow, the wedding party decided to make it a drink of choice and rapidly depleted our stocks. None of this excuses the poor service that you have described and we have, obviously, taken immediate taken steps to ensure that these errors do not reoccur. Should you choose to stay with us again, please call our General Manager, David Ingleton, ahead of time, and he will make sure that your stay, and your dining experience, will be very different from that which you experience. Once again we apologise and wish you well. With regards – Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We had to travel to Newcastle for a medical visit for one of our children but decided to extend the stay for a mini-holiday. We've had family stay at the Apollo before the renovation/extension and it was great back then, but we were very impressed with our beautiful new room, balcony, fantastic bathroom, undercover parking, very friendly and helpful staff across the board and the pool was lovely on Newcastle's hottest day on record!! Highly recommend and will stay again - thank you!!

Room Tip: Our new room was fantastic - any would do I'm sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
We are most appreciative of the time that you have taken to post your glowing review of our property and our enthusiastic, and professional, team. We do hope that you will make a return visit soon. Thank you again for your endorsement of our beautiful new hotel! Warm wishes - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

An unexpected business trip to Newcastle lead me to the Apollo. The rooms were nice and roomy and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location for me was good also. What I did not like was the design of the foyer and the way the corridors went up and down stairs to get you to your room. Whomever the architect was they'd obviously never had to lug a suitcase from the foyer to a a hotel room. Frankly it was silly the way it was done.

The meal was fabulous and no complaints at all there. The service also was good. What put me off was the cost of accommodation and meals. Way, way too expensive for Newcastle particularly at what would be off peak.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
We refer to your review. Thank you for your compliments concerning the standard of accommodation and the excellence of our service and the quality of your meal/s. In regard to your complaint about the design of the lobby - the hotel consists of two wings, one which is not serviced by a lift and a new wing which has lift service to all floors. A staff member would have willingly assisted you with your baggage and we apologise for not having given you the option of a room in the new wing. It is difficult to comment on your complaint that our rates and charges were too high, without knowing when you stayed with us and what meal or meals you ordered. You clearly enjoyed your stay, and we obviously would want you to consider staying with us again. In order to, hopefully, address your complaints we would be grateful if you would be so kind as to contact our General Manager, David Ingleton on 4943 6733, who is keen to discuss the issues that you have raised. With regards - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed in December 2012 for 1 night and it was a very pleasant experience. First, when we looked the hotel up in the map, we thought the situation at the Pacific Highway was not so good, but it turned out that all the rooms are facing a beautifull rainforest and bushland with lots of birds and wildlife. The room we had was very new, quiet, clean and stylish. Also a comfortable bed. We liked it so much that we wished we had enough time to stay longer. One of the best hotels we had in Australia well worth its price. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful review. It is most gratifying when a guest takes the time to write a positive review. Our professional works hard at making every guest feel special and your endorsement of our new hotel is much appreciated. Wishing you well on your travels - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
394 reviews
3.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
847 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
357 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Address: 290 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Apollo International)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel is a 94 room, recently totally renovated and extended 4.5 star hotel, located 10 minutes south of Newcastle CBD and providing easy access to the city and local beaches. Set against a backdrop of native bush reserve, Apollo International provides quality accommodation, professional personalised service and well appointed modern facilities. Just minutes drive to the heart of Newcastle and 2 hours from Sydney via the F3 expressway. Unmistakable in appearance, the hotel offers arguably the newest, largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel Charlestown, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing