We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb service & very good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb service & very good facilities”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

My family stayed o we the Easter long weekend. Although 3 separate
Bookings were made, they accommodated our request to stay in 3 consecutive rooms. The rooms had modern decor, very clean and comfortable bed.

The food - room service, buffet brekky & dinner @ babbingtons is sumptuous!

The staff are professional and friendly. Housekeeping is reliable (designer glasses was left in one of the rooms after check out and they returned it to reception who called my sister to return it). They also cleaned the room well.

Location is good - close to the city, shops & beaches.

This hotel is very family friendly & knows how to provide good hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prescymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    288
    66
    22
    10
See reviews for
154
234
43
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cabarita Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I recently stayed here for two nights on a business trip. The standard of accommodation was outstanding. The room perfect to unwind and relax after a busy day. I was located on the third floor in the new part of the building. Great little balcony which overlooked the trees which was perfect for an afternoon beer and breakfast.

Parking very easy undercover and a short lift ride up to my room. I was working in Charlestown and just a quick 2 to 3 minute drive to the massive Charlestown Square.

I would definitely choose to stay here again if in Charlestown.

Room Tip: Request a room in the new part of the building. Third floor was good with a great little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Qld
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Before we booked the room we read the write up that we would be staying on an upper floor with panoramic views..so we booked it...but our excitement quickly turned to dissapointment on arrival...we got a room next to reception ( ground floor) ...there was slamming doors all night ... and the view from the ground floor was a big dissapointment (grass views!), the room had a musky cigarette smell to it..
If you are going to stay here make sure if you expect nice views or a nice outlook you ask for a room with a balcony that overlooks the pool..! Or a top floor room in the brand new wing. The rooms that back directly onto the carpark driveway, have cars driving past only a few metres from the door ( no privacy there!), unless you get a top floor room, then they are o.k..
If you have children, ask for a room with a balcony that overlooks the pool area..

Has a nice pool and restaurant.

Room Tip: If you expect nice views or a nice outlook you ask for a room with a balcony that overlooks the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for your review. Your reserved a deluxe room on the second floor with good views over the lawn and the valley to the left. The views are indeed not quite as good as the more expensive superior rooms, which look directly over the valley. Had the hotel not been full, we would have made every endeavor to address your disappointment. We apologise for the slamming door, and we have now addressed that issue. The door is now locked at night. Unfortunately, even though all the rooms are non-smoking, guests do smoke on the balconies and the smell of the smoke must have entered the room. Our house-keeping staff will pay particular attention, in the future, to properly airing the rooms. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We would hope to make amends and, should you decide to stay with us again, please call our front-desk manager, Robyn, ahead of time, and she will make every effort to make your stay memorable. Kind regards - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just wanted to thank the wonderful wait staff at Babbingtons.
It was a refreshing change to see that when we arrived to a very busy restaurant, without a reservation, we didnt get the 'doing me a favour' attitude. The lady who greeted us, just looked at the reservations book quietly, then made some plans and took us to a table all with a smile!
The meals was delicious, service interested and courteous.
Even when my steak was returned as it was a litte too pink - it was plated onto a completely fresh plate, with fresh accompaniments.
Thankyou!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharyn088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed her on March 6th 2013. I can not praise the staff, the hotel cleanliness and the gorgeous room enough!!
I had the most amzing sleep and beautiful breakfast.. i didnt want to check out! All the staff greeted you with a good morning and they could not be more pleasant!
I personally love the ambiance of the place and i would not stay anywhere else when i stay in Newcastle in the future.. to the people who run this hotel, you should be very proud of your establishment and your lovely staff.

Room Tip: Go for the new rooms and a king bed, soooo comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Arrived tired out and late after a nightmare 12-hour drive to be greeted by a friendly, efficient and empathetic male staff member who upgraded my standard booking to a room which was huge, beautifully appointed, supremely comfortable and (joy of joys) noise free! I was invited to use the hotel wi-fi (no charge), and given a small bottle of fresh milk for my tea - almost an anomaly these days. I could not fault this hotel nor its staff, and will certainly choose to stay there again if I am in the Newcastle area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkladyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed for one night while travelling and thought this place was nice and modern. Our room was a bit of a walk from reception,but I guess we booked at the last minute so can't expect more. The reception was friendly and the food at the attached restaurant was very nice. We found undercover parking after we had parked in the open whilst it was pouring. Our room was clean and quite big. The only thing we disn't like was the ridge in the middle of the bed where it seems two 'single type' mattresses are joined to make the king.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuenDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
3.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Address: 290 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Apollo International)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel is a 94 room, recently totally renovated and extended 4.5 star hotel, located 10 minutes south of Newcastle CBD and providing easy access to the city and local beaches. Set against a backdrop of native bush reserve, Apollo International provides quality accommodation, professional personalised service and well appointed modern facilities. Just minutes drive to the heart of Newcastle and 2 hours from Sydney via the F3 expressway. Unmistakable in appearance, the hotel offers arguably the newest, largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel Charlestown, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing