We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not bad, could be better.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Rated 4 stars.... maybe one too many.
The carpark & complimentary wifi are excellent for the business guest, surrounds and pool are very inviting.
It is obviously an old hotel which has has somewhat of a renovation. It has good quality furniture in the rooms however some of the finishes let it down for example - I had a “Deluxe Queen” Room, the shower only has a shower curtain & does not have a moulded base so the water simply goes straight onto the bathroom floor and makes a real mess, I accidently knocked the shower head off the holder and it sprayed water all over the ceiling, walls and mirror!
On my first night I was rudely awoken at 2am by the clock radio alarm which had been set to go off at the highest volume (prank by previous room guest?) Not impressed... This sort of stuff should be checked when the room is cleaned between guests.
You will definitely need a car if you want to stay here, drive to Newcastle city is about 10-15 mins, and Charlestown Shopping Centre is a bit of a walk along a busy road.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank licketylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for the feedback provided on your recent visit to the hotel.
We note your lead-in comment “Rated 4 stars.... maybe one too many” and offer the following observation:
The Apollo International is rated under the AAA Star Rating program and the “score” factored by that independent industry body in July 2012, was in the very high percentile 4 Star range, indeed merely a few points short of AAA requirements for 4.5 Star status.
The hotel completed an extensive multi-million dollar extension and refurbishment program in mid-2012 and now sits as a leading 4 Star Accommodation, Restaurant and Conference & Events provider in the greater Newcastle region.

It would appear by your summary of the bathroom that you were accommodated in one of our “access rooms” in the original wing of the hotel. This is the only room style in the complex where a shower curtain is present in the bathroom and no screen or shower base is included – this because the room is also allocated to wheelchair-confined guests.
Despite this particular room being in the original complex, refurbishment was included in the multi-million dollar upgrade and extensions outlined above.
The room is one of 57 Deluxe Rooms in the complex and whilst its primary use is for those guests who have special access requirements, it is also regularly allocated where other Deluxe Rooms are unavailable. This is quite likely to have been the case during your stay – presumably a busy night for the hotel and for Newcastle as a whole.
I trust that this provides some clarification on the layout of the room.
It is worthy of note that in addition to Deluxe Rooms, the hotel also provides Premium and Executive Room options, priced accordingly and above the Deluxe rate.

The matter of your rude awakening at 2.00am is very disappointing and deeply regrettable and we sincerely apologise for this lapse in our cleaning process. Subsequent to your review, this shortcoming has been discussed fully with senior housekeeping staff and all cleaning attendants and additional procedures have been implemented to address the matter.
I trust that we may have opportunity to again welcome you during a future visit to Newcastle and perhaps at that time I may have the pleasure of greeting you personally.
Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    292
    67
    22
    10
See reviews for
157
235
43
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

I have stayed one week so far, one week to go. This hotel has a lovely outlook from the rooms and restaurant of lovely lawn bordering a natural forest of gums. I require a gluten free diet and the hotel has been the best caterer to my needs I have ever had. They even were able to provide a gluten free packed lunch if pre arranged. Looking forward to my return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelindaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

After staying every week night for the past 11 months my stay at the Apollo has come to an end so I feel the need to tell everyone about the great staff & Hotel. It all starts as soon as you walk into the reception area & are meet by the smiling face of the reception staff weather it be Robyn, Stacey, Linsey, Yvonne, Tim, Danny or Scott they make you feel welcome from the first moment & are more than helpful while you are staying there. I mainly stayed in the new wing on the top floor which has a great view of the city lights & I loved being able to leave the door open & let the fresh air in. The bar & restaurant is run very well by Lee & her lovely staff of Linda, Faith, Lisa, Hanna, Tracy, Sarah & Daniell & back up by David the head chef. I have no problem in recommending this hotel to anyone & have told family & friends all about my time staying here & if it wasn't for the staff being so good I don't think I could have done it for so long & that also goes for the staff behind the seens so a thank also goes out to Berenice, Leah, Vicky, Susan & Cobby. To David the manager a big thank you to you & all of your staff & can you please pass this on to all of them

Room Tip: The rooms on level 3 & 4 have the best views & the restaurant does get really busy between 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Gorgeous room - great view from the balcony. Clean, well spaced room. We had a spa room - and even tho the spa stopped working mid way thru the night - the corner bath was still great. Staff very friendly and eager to please. Rooms clean and very well presented.

We had dinner at the pub down the road- also great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my parents in a shared room with a sofa bed. The rooms are large, clean, comfortable and well equipped, however as we had three guests we were disappointed to find that they only provided two of everything (towels, cups etc). Tea bags but no milk provided in the room.

Meal at the hotel's restaurant was okay, however the staff were cold and unfriendly.
WIFI is limited to one device and drops out a lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viverama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESETERN PLUS Apollo International, we truly appreciate you sharing about your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. It’s great to hear that our friendly Team Members were able to enhance your stay with the superior level of service we strive to provide all of our guests!

Having newly extended and refurbished the entire hotel, we pride ourselves on offering impeccable service and a superior product at a most competitive price.

I have had a meeting with both the maintenance and housekeeping teams in respect to the comments that you made and can assure you that this is out of the ordinary. Both teams are working to a maintenance and cleaning schedule and usually pick up on these sorts of things.

We trust that these items will not stop you from returning and giving us the opportunity to welcome you back to our wonderful city of Newcastle, and if I can be of any assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 02 4943 6733.

Sincerely.

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We booked the Quality Hotel Apollo International through our work. The hotel was recommended to myself & a colleague by a friend who lives in Newcastle. We had great stay. The rooms are large, clean & comfortable & well equipped. The bed was very comfortable & I loved the view over the hills from the balcony. A great plus is the door opening onto the balconies so guests can enjoy fresh air. Thank you Robyn for being so obliging and helpful with our bookings. We have three conferences to attend and have already booked our next stay at this hotel. The best value & a great spot!

Room Tip: Renovated rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Simple yet updated rooms. Very comfortable beds and relazing rain showers. Wifi is left wanting. Guests only get free wifi for one device and if using an iphone, the wifi drops continuosly requiring you to relogin. Wifi isn't continuous throughout hotel either, requiring relogin's as you move from room to lobby and restaurant. Great food in the restaurant, especially the salt and pepper prawn. Lee was an incredible server making us feel at home. Fitness room was lacking. Equipment appears to not have been serviced regularly. Ellipticals are both broken. One treadmill and weight machine are the only pieces that operate properly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thak you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments regarding WiFi are valid and we are currently changing all the hotspots, so that they will all carry the same identification name. The signal will then not be interrupted as the guest moves through the property. Furthermore, the front desk will offer a second login to guests who want to use more than one device.
In regard to the gym equipment, we do apologise for the inconvenience. We are currently servicing all the equipment, most of which is new, in order to ensure that the equipment works effectively. Again we apologise for these inconveniences and thank you for your constructive feedback, which will enable us to further improve our service and facilties. Warm wishes - Guest Relations Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
385 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
998 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
833 reviews
3.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Address: 290 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Apollo International)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel is a 94 room, recently totally renovated and extended 4.5 star hotel, located 10 minutes south of Newcastle CBD and providing easy access to the city and local beaches. Set against a backdrop of native bush reserve, Apollo International provides quality accommodation, professional personalised service and well appointed modern facilities. Just minutes drive to the heart of Newcastle and 2 hours from Sydney via the F3 expressway. Unmistakable in appearance, the hotel offers arguably the newest, largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel Charlestown, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing