We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Room - Food??” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Apollo International

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Plus Apollo International
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Room - Food??”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here for business and was recommended to me by a work colleague. This hotel is set on the hill top of Charlestown approx. 15 mins from Newcastle NSW. It looks like your typical conference, function style hotel, aesthetically pleasing, ample parking and just a pretty spot. On arrival after a stressful day working and then having to drive around bushfire closed highway thankfully check-in was relatively pain free.

I stayed in a nice air conditioned quiet room with a comfortable bed and well-appointed bathroom facilities. I also had a nice little balcony with a view into the bush surrounds with the sounds of nature tweeting in the background. TV was nice sized modern model and reception was good.

As I was very tired and starving I thought that I would go to the motel restaurant for dinner. I looked at the menu and the crumbed cutlets took my fancy. I tried ringing down but got no answer so I made my way to the restaurant and even though the restaurant had 5 people in it and it was a Thursday night I was told that the restaurant was full? OK so room service or local takeaway?? Being absolutely shattered I chose room service,

My food order was promptly delivered with a smile and I was ready to tuck into some yummy crumbed cutlets, and at $28 I was expecting quality. Oh Well!!! at $28 + room service delivery fee (I think $4) I got 2 cutlets bit of mash and beans. OK must be good then, Nooooo, they had to be some of the worst cutlets I have had since I gave up interstate truck driving. The cutlets tasted like they were frozen past their use by date 12 months ago and what about the mash – sorry but cannot bring myself to write about that??? Simply this was a $12 truck stop meal not a $28 + room service fee restaurant quality meal = not even close. The only thing missing was the smell of diesel. If I was not so tired I would have gone down the road for - anything, and gladly paid for it out of my own budget!

Breakfast on the other hand? The sun filters through the windows of the restaurant with a backdrop to the bush, blissful but after the dinner episode I was not expecting much. There were the usual continental choices of fresh fruits and cereals, breads, rolls etc as well as a good selection of cooked breakfast. With much trepidation I chose eggs benedict. While waiting a friendly Kookaburra came and sat under my window so that relaxed me for what I feared was coming.

Breakfast was excellent , chalk and cheese to dinner. The eggs benedict, the hollandaise was fresh and the eggs were perfect, the Croissants were so good that I had two with jam. They say you should have a good breakfast and this made me feel ready to attack a new day

All in all the staff are friendly and helpful. The lady behind the counter though needs to learn to relax. She was trying to be efficient and professional but she seemed to be a little stressed all the time.

The mark of a hotel with its faults is “Would I stay there again” – Yes I would. The hotel is convenient for what I need and is comfortable but unfortunately I would definitely not risk eating dinner there. It was just too expensive for roadhouse food and Charlestown has many fine takeaways and restaurants nearby to choose from anyway.

Room Tip: Eat out - At the prices the restaurant charges it is not worth the hit and miss experience unless so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nev64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give a most constructive review our property. After recently refurbishing and extending the Best Western PLUS Apollo International it is pleasing to hear that you thought highly of your room and facilities of the hotel.

It is however very dis-heartening to hear that you felt this way about the food received from the Babbingtons restaurant. Babbingtons has recently gone through a refurbishment, menu change and complete chef overhaul. Our head chef has also worked with some of Europe's best chefs and both of us will personally look into the seriousness of the situation. The Crumbed cutlets are undoubtably the most popular dish on the menu and usually get the best feedback.

Thank you for the positive feedback in regards to the breakfast, it's always great to hear that they are doing a superb job in the breakfast room.

I truly hope you consider giving us another opportunity in the future to prove that we truly are the best hotel with the best staff in our great city of Newcastle!

Kind regards

Richard Christie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    281
    64
    22
    10
See reviews for
149
228
41
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Check-in was a bit lengthy, discussing all the noise options (Highway, Kids, etc.) but that was my fault. We ended up with the room where, on the floor above, a hyperactive girl was jumping around. At ten pm all was quiet until 7 am sharp when she woke up. The rooms were okay, but nothing special. Location is way out of town along a very busy road. We didn't check out the Restaurants.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the back unless you love motorway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear valued guest

I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and that your stay was affected by others in the hotel. Your impressions of our hotel are vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed to.

Having newly extended and refurbished the hotel, we pride ourselves on offering impeccable service and a superior product at a most competitive price. I thus find it very disappointing to hear about your poor impressions of our sparkling new property.

We appreciate your observations and have taken your comments on board as we are continually working on ways to improve our guest experience.

We hope that this has not marred future stays and would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel really is international class, with luxuriously comfortable beds, soft yet supportive and the most comfortable pillows I have slept on outside of Switzerland. The rooms are lovely and clean, light with a lovely outlook as well as spacious. The breakfast is the best I have had outside of Europe. Lovely fresh fruits and muesli as well as an array of breads, rolls and interesting cakes. There is also a cooked breakfost for those that would prefer. The staff are wonderful and helpful. I left my laptop on leaving and they kindly kept it safe till I could collect it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear valued Guest

Thank you for the positive feedback that you gave us on your recent stay. We at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel recently went through an extention and full refurbishment, so it is great to hear such a glowing review.

We welcome you back on your next stay in our wonderful city of Newcastle.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband and I often stay at the "Amazing Apollo" and it is just a wonderful experience each and every time. Our special times are made even better by staying there. It is very obvious that the staff are continually striving to exceed guest expectations and it's all the little touches that make every stay an experience to remember. The restaurant has a menu that would rival any other and the food is divine and served by excellent wait staff. To stay in this hotel is a MUST....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear valued Guest

It was lovely to hear all the kind words on your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel. We are grateful for your loyalty over the years and appreciate your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next vistit to Newcastle.

Best regards

Richard Christie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Have travelled to Newcastle for 16 years on business and did not discover the Apollo until about 2 years ago. Thank goodness I did as this is not only great value but the service and restaurant are 5 star. My greatest compliment must go to reception where the staff really make you feel at home.
A lot of hotels could learn a lesson from the way the Apollo run their hotel/ a simple formula of really pleasant reception, spotless rooms and quality food are for me a winning formula.
Well done and wish there were more like you around rural NSW.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Trevorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

It is great to here that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay once again at the Apollo International. We pride ourselves of delivering personal service at a price that is hard to beat. Thank you for the great feedback, I will ensure that all staff involved are commended for their hardwork.

I look forward to to catching up with you on your next visit to our great city of Newcastle.

Kind regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night for work. I can say I'm not impressed. The shower room wasn't draining fast enough, it caused a small swimming pool in the bathroom, they only provided one piece of soap as well! In fact I was the lucky one, my colleague in the room next door didn't even have soap to shower with! Room was partially renovated, still had an antique aircon. Not the best air quality. It was mostly clean, although I found a hair in supposedly clean towels! My company paid for everything, but upon checking out, the front counter staff said I had to pay for the bottle of water I took from the mini bar in cash, despite me insisting the cost to be added to the room!! Not impressed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Raphael

Thank you for your constructive feedback and may I sincerely apologise for the issues that you experienced during your recent stay.

Having newly extended and refurbished the hotel, we pride ourselves on offering impeccable service and a superior product at a most competitive price. I thus find it very disappointing to hear about your poor impressions of our sparkling new property.

We take feedback very seriously and use it as a tool to ensure optimal future guest satisfaction. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems experienced and to prevent any future occurrences. Please note that the older style air conditioner in your room is scheduled for replacement.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove that the disappointments that you have described were out of the ordinary, and will certainly not reoccur should you stay with us on your next visit to the Newcastle area.

Kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Apollo at Charleston was in a great location. The king spa suite was extremely comfortable. The restaurant food was 5 star and the service was excellent. All at an amazing reasonable price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear recent guest

Thank you for the excellent feedback on your recent stay, its great to be recognised for the hardwork that all the staff have put in recently. I will be sure to mention to all the staff that they are doing an exceptional job.

I look forward to meeting up with yourself on your next visit to our beautiful city of Newcastle.

Kind regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
3.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Apollo International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Apollo International

Property: Best Western Plus Apollo International
Address: 290 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Apollo International)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Apollo International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel is a 94 room, recently totally renovated and extended 4.5 star hotel, located 10 minutes south of Newcastle CBD and providing easy access to the city and local beaches. Set against a backdrop of native bush reserve, Apollo International provides quality accommodation, professional personalised service and well appointed modern facilities. Just minutes drive to the heart of Newcastle and 2 hours from Sydney via the F3 expressway. Unmistakable in appearance, the hotel offers arguably the newest, largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Plus Apollo International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Best Western Plus Apollo International Charlestown, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing