We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't. Stay somewhere else with people you can trust”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't. Stay somewhere else with people you can trust”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

There may be some positives, but I cannot recommend this place. The management team and/or booking system lack any integrity. At the end of the day you'd like to stay in a place hosted by people you trust, and this is not one of them.

We spent two nights at the Apollo in June. We booked the first night online, and late, so it was expensive. When we finally arrived after a long day we found to our chagrin that we had been "unbooked" as the management claimed not to have had a phone number for us. This was patently untrue as our printout of their booking confirmation included our mobile phone number. Begrudgingly they gave us a slightly larger room, but only because it was one of the only ones left. It was not a great start.

There was already a likelihood we'd need to spend an additional day in Newcastle, so as we checked in we asked about rates for an additional day. They were surprisingly high. We therefore asked about a specific offer we'd seen on their website but were told it wasn't available because of some curious conditions which frankly did not match our recollection of the website.

By next morning we knew we had to stay another day in Newcastle. Before checking out we again asked about rates for another night, and again the quoted rates were high. We had checked the special offer on their website overnight (it was a king bed room and other extras at a base room rate) and the conditions quoted the previous evening by management were simply not there, so we asked about it as well. This time there were no make-believe conditions and we rebooked for a night, albeit in a different room. We even paid in advance for convenience.

Checking in the second time was quick, but the room seemed odd. As we went to dinner we asked if it really was a king size bed, as it looked smaller. We were pained by the answer. We were told their system automatically allocates a standard room, not the advertised upgrade, but we could be upgraded in accordance with the offer if we insisted. In other words, Best Western Apollo would honour its offer only if got caught out cheating on the guests and they complained.

We didn't bother unpacking and changing rooms. There was no point getting riled by their dishonesty. This was simply a management team we did not want to deal with ever again.

The other negatives - the towels were clean and white, but there were as few as possible in the rooms, and they were thin and aged. There were long queues each day at the 10am checkout as there was only one person to handle the easily-anticipated numbers.

The positives? The desk staff were friendly and almost made up for the rest of the admin.The rooms were clean and comfortable and they fixed the restaurant coffee machine promptly when it broke down in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SanMarco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

It is our hotel procedure that we call all guests after a certain time to ensure their arrival. This is common practice and is done in most hotels. On the night of your arrival we had just started phoning all guests, came across your reservation and then noticed that we did not have your number reflecting on the computer.

You had then just arrived and we mentioned to you that it was perfect timing as we were about to call you but was struggling to get hold of you. You then showed on your reservation page your number and therefore should be in the reservation as the Best Western print out did reflect your number. We apologised and said that it must me a technical fault. At no stage did we say we unbooked your reservation as you had provided your personal credit card number to guarantee.

The room that we provided the first night was no larger than the room you booked as this was never changed, you had booked an executive room last minute on a long weekend which is one of our hotels most expensive rooms when Newcastle was at its busiest. Whilst most hotels including this hotel runs dynamic rates the price of accommodation can vary dramatically one day to the next depending on demand.

You then came down early on the Sunday and enquired about extending, as you were currently in an executive room we therefore quoted for you to be extended in the same room at the internet price. You mentioned the fact that you had seen a different rate on the internet for $149 and Stacey our receptionist explained that was in fact for our entry level deluxe room. You mentioned that you would like to move to this new room type and Stacey offered you to stay in your room till 11am and that she would make the booking for you and call you when the room was clean and ready to be moved.

Later she called you to say that the new room was ready and that you could move. When you came down you asked about the free breakfast and it was at this stage that Stacey realised that you were initially referring to the exclusive limited offer “Apollo Special” that was advertised on the internet and changed the code on your reservation to include breakfast and a late check-out. What my receptionist forgot to do was then move you into a superior room as promised in the deal and for this we profusely apologise.

Other areas that were of a concern were the amount of towels and that they were aged, I will personally look into this as a matter of urgency – Thank you for bring this to our attention.

Thank you for the positive comments in respect to the staff at the desk and in the restaurant, I will certainly pass these comments on as it is always great to hear positive feedback.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience that we are known for.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 02 4943 6733.

Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    288
    66
    22
    10
See reviews for
154
234
43
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I recently held a training session and the facilities were great, the staff friendly and very accommodating to our needs, and the food wonderful.
The accommodation was well appointed and the restaurant food delicious!

We look forward to hosting another conference at this venue in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kspar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your most recent stay. My team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself here at the newly extended and refurbished BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel.

Our restaurant "Babbingtons" that you refer to is well renowned and awarded within Newcastle and the team members take great pride in offering an exceptional experience that can't be beaten.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you training session back to the Apollo International and our wonderful city of Newcastle in the not so distant future.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singleton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Lovely big room, comfortable beds. Fantastic staff - thanks to Stacey on the front desk and a big shout out to Emily in the restaurant for brilliant service. Very friendly, made us feel right at home.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESETERN PLUS Apollo International, we truly appreciate you sharing about your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. It’s great to hear that our friendly Team Members were able to enhance your stay with the superior level of service we strive to provide all of our guests!

We welcome you back home on your next stay in our wonderful city of Newcastle, and if I can be of any assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 02 4943 6733.

Sincerely.

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Apollo Best Western, was well worth the stay, very friendly staff and great value for the room and continental breakfast.

The bed was really comfortable and the room spacious.

Well designed with no road noise

Room Tip: Ask for the free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Signus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your most recent stay. My team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself here at the newly extended and refurbished BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback and any future recommendation of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apollo International and our wonderful city of Newcastle in the not so distant future.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I stay here quite regularly and it never fails to impress us each and every time. The hotel has excellent facilities (love the gym and pool) but it's the friendly professional staff who genuinely care about us which makes our stay a cut above the rest. Berenice is truly a delight to deal with and ensures that everything is arranged perfectly. What a wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Spa rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Tracey

Thank you for completing the survey and sharing with all your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

I will express to all the staff members concerned esspecially Berenice your appreciation to the service received, it is always very encouraging to hear positive feedback like this.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 02 4943 6733.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We really appreciate your loyalty to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I drove from Sydney to Charleston. It took me 2hrs and a few minutes. Great road. The hotel is quite big and easy to park, as I found a spot close to reception. They had all my details at check in and it took me a few minutes till I was inside my room. The room was brand new and very spacious, as was the bathroom. A lot of daylight and a balcony facing a green reserve that makes you feel like you are in a National Park. The food at the restaurant was excellent and quite sophisticated. I had the lamb for dinner and it was impecable. Great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel. We truly appreciate you sharing with others, on Trip advisor, your wonderful feedback.

Our hotel’s young and dynamic team takes great pride in guest satisfaction and we care about each and every guest. The team was delighted to hear that our well-appointed and refurbished guest rooms, along with the efforts of our excellent front desk and award winning restaurant staff provided you with service that you can come to expect and deserve from a BEST WESTERN PLUS hotel.

We look forward on your return back to our our wonderful city of Newcastle, and look forward to providing you with another exceptional experience.

Sincerely,
Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed at the Apollo International in Newcastle with Mum and Dad in February of this year.

We were given a good-sized, freshly-refurbished room on the top floor at the end of a long corridor, with brand-new EVERYTHING in the room which made us so happy!

The quiet room with balcony was fresh and clean, and the linen crisp.

The balcony offers a breathtaking view of the lush valley which is abundantly covered in native trees, and which - we were reliably told - was home to a couple of resident kookaburras!

However, what REALLY impressed us most was the staff - the wonderful people running the hotel!

They were genuinely friendly, warm and happy that we were there.

And the one who stood out was Danny the Night Manager at the front desk who helped us with everything from finding a nice cruise at Port Stephens to exploring the macadamia farm in Medowie which I had no knowledge about.

Danny completely went out of his way to make us feel comfortable, and very welcome; and for that, we could NOT thank him enough!

Needless to say, we look forward to our next stay in the very near future!

Benjamin Lai

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel. We truly appreciate you sharing with others, on Trip advisor, your wonderful feedback.

Our hotel’s young and dynamic team takes great pride and passion in their work and are constantly on the quest for complete guest satisfaction. As you have clearly pointed out Danny is one of those stand out team members that glows enthusiasm and it will bring me immense joy and satisfaction in mentioning to her that it has not gone un-noticed.

The team was delighted to hear that our well-appointed and refurbished guest rooms, along with the efforts of our excellent front desk staff provided you with service that you can come to expect and deserve from a BEST WESTERN PLUS hotel.

We look forward to you returning to our wonderful city of Newcastle and providing you with another exceptional experience.

Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
3.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Address: 290 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Apollo International)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel is a 94 room, recently totally renovated and extended 4.5 star hotel, located 10 minutes south of Newcastle CBD and providing easy access to the city and local beaches. Set against a backdrop of native bush reserve, Apollo International provides quality accommodation, professional personalised service and well appointed modern facilities. Just minutes drive to the heart of Newcastle and 2 hours from Sydney via the F3 expressway. Unmistakable in appearance, the hotel offers arguably the newest, largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel Charlestown, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing