We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy Stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Apollo International

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Plus Apollo International
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfy Stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely two night stay , large & welcoming room with bushland views & abundant bird life.
Bed & shower A1 - generous free WiFi a big bonus.
The gym is clean & very adequate .... great to have it onsite.
Robyn on front desk was very helpful & Babbington's breakfast was delicious.
Next Newcastle visit shall see us return , thank you Apollo.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joelouise75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    282
    64
    22
    10
See reviews for
149
228
41
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Rooms well appointed. Stayed last year and we're very impressed, very quite, modern room. Restaurant very nice also. Staff very helpful. This year we had noisy neighbour's but no fault of hotel. Maybe suggest room on right side of reception

Room Tip: Away from reception on right hand side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My experience as a housekeeping manager makes me look at things differently. I was impressed by the size of the room and the facilities but the cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired. I'm not fussy by any means but clearly know what a clean room is. ( hair on the toilet paper, wine glasses as if they were just put back after using, spills and food bits left all over the bench) the only thing I requested was clean wine glasses. These things should be checked after each and every guest and all surfaces should be cleaned for dust and grime after each guest. As I have inspected many a room in my career, this room would not have been allowed to be sold as is.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deadrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We are at present training up new housekeepers and believe that your room may as a result of the new team members been affected. This clearly is in no way an excuse for the poor standard of your room cleanliness and as a result have had a meeting with all my housekeepers and have stressed the importance of a clean room.

If you could provide me with a room number or your surname this would be greatly appreciated, this way I could identify the individual that may require further training. My email address is gm@apollointernational.com.au

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any future assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 02 4943 6733.

Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have stayed here a few times before, we have always been happy there. It is in a good location, and the rooms are comfortable and the Breakfast is good.I do hate showers over baths though, so next time will enquire if they have rooms without baths. A container for used tea bags would be a good idea too, better than dripping them over the floor to the rubbish bin!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christine 852 W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed in other good hotels in Newcastle but this beats them all on comfort and value. The renovated hotel offers spacious rooms, comfortable beds,quiet location overlooking a woodland view, good parking and unbelievable breakfast and it's great value. No fancy trimmings but a high standard of comfort which is what we want on a business trip.

Room Tip: This is a long building so I think that all the rooms are at the back away from the road and overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestville, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights on a business trip, very nice hotel, comfy bed and good breakfast. Always find it hard to review places I stayed at on business as its hard to say if its value for money! But this was clean, modern, the staff were helpful. A 5 minute car ride from Charlestown Square, but nice food in the restaurant on site. Definitely a good place to stay in Newcastle

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaUnitedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Well appointed business hotel with great features let down but the front desk staff who while unfailing polite where completely inefficient and incapable of providing professional service.

The room was booked and paid for on a company card - upon arrival they had lost the payment details and required me to provide a card for the charge - despite the fact I had a printed receipt for the booking which clearly included the details of the payment(complete with reference details)

They also debited the card an additional $100 'security deposit' should I choose to raid the mini bar - while I get that... its over a week later and despite requests when I left and a follow up telephone call , where they promised to redeem it immediately, I'm still showing a $100 owing on my card.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Bradley

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to profusely apologise for not exceeding your expectations. As mentioned your details provided prior to arrival had not fully been updated to your reservation and for this can only sincerely apologise, this in turn caused confusion and delayed the check-in process.

As for the authorisation taken on your reservation, just like most hotels, our procedure is that we take an authorisation on all guests’ credit cards on check-in to cover any extras that may be used during the stay. As we do not know all our guests by first name this safe guards the hotel against any fraudulent activity.

This process allows the hotel access to the $100 hold on the card as a deposit, it is not removed from the card and should it not be needed will automatically be released by the bank. This whole process unfortunately depending on the bank can take up to 10 working days.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements and revaluate our procedures to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 02 4943 6733.


Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
3.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Apollo International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Apollo International

Property: Best Western Plus Apollo International
Address: 290 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Apollo International)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Apollo International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel is a 94 room, recently totally renovated and extended 4.5 star hotel, located 10 minutes south of Newcastle CBD and providing easy access to the city and local beaches. Set against a backdrop of native bush reserve, Apollo International provides quality accommodation, professional personalised service and well appointed modern facilities. Just minutes drive to the heart of Newcastle and 2 hours from Sydney via the F3 expressway. Unmistakable in appearance, the hotel offers arguably the newest, largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Plus Apollo International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Best Western Plus Apollo International Charlestown, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing