We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really special - thank you Clive & Maki”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Finca Las Encinas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iznajar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca Las Encinas
Ranked #3 of 9 Iznajar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“really special - thank you Clive & Maki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the 2 rooms with terrace. Wonderful, wonderful place. Fabulous food and Clive & Maki so welcoming. We had a cookery lesson and had a fun evening learning lots of tips and techniques whilst making the evening meal.

dinner here is such good value, and you would be missing a treat if you only stayed B&B. we went to the beach one day (at Iznajar) and visited an olive producer and local market - all recommended by Maki. we were here in the height of summer but the rooms still remained cool, and one evening we didn't even need the fan.

This was the end of a Spanish road trip for us (starting in Madrid), and this was the best food on the trip. Thank you so much Clive & Maki !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerrardFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
59
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Finca Las Encinas. The house and surrounding groves are in an out-of-the-way village and look out across the valley to olive trees. The room was very clean and pleasant, and in spite of the heat in the afternoon, we did not miss air conditioning. The pool was a welcome afternoon attraction, especially for our daughter. The food was wonderful, and served family style, which led to interesting conversations with other travelers at breakfast and dinner. Best of all were our hosts, Clive, Maki, and son Cei, who were welcoming and knowledgeable about the surrounding area and culture.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

A tucked-away Fina in the Andalucian countryside. Clive and Maki provide a warm welcome. The rooms are rustic and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner are high quality. We availed of horse-riding and cooking lessons organised by our hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We were very impressed with Finca Las Encinas. Pretty house in a lovely setting on a hillside surrounded by a tapestry of olive groves. Detailed instructions made it straightforward to find, although we would recommend arriving in daylight. We received a warm welcome from Maki, Clive, son Cei and (very friendly) dogs Smoky and Lassie. Our hosts made special arrangements to ensure that my husband (6'5") had a comfortable bed, and they were a fund of local information, not only about places to visit but also about life in the area.
This house is well situated for trips to Cordoba and Granada, and within easy reach of good walks for all abilities and lovely villages (try Zuheros for magical views)
Make sure you book an evening meal, Clive is a talented chef and the food is restaurant quality. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Steep stairs to the rooms - not suitable for some people
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Excellent accomodation in the stunning scenery of the Parque Natural. This is a traditional Finca conveniently placed for both Grenada and Cordoba, however there are plenty of picturesque local villages to explore. We arrived stressed and tired after an early flight but knew we had found somewhere special the moment we were welcomed by Clive and Maki, who are perfect hosts and could not be friendlier or kinder.

The highlight of our trip was a fun (lubricated by the local wine!) and informative cooking session with Clive using home grown or locally sourced ingredients.

Truly exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

For our trip to Andalucia we were looking for culinary highlights, sun, quiet and some cultural inspiration. We found all that and more during our stay at Finca las Encinas. Clive's cooking was absolutely exceptional. Our cooking session was interactive and fun. This is one of the very rare places where you feel immediately 'at home' and can truely relax. Thanks to Maki, Clive and their son Cei. Highlight of our trip, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I had a brilliant time at Finca Las Encinas... I thoroughly enjoyed Clive's fun and informative cooking sessions, Maki's advice on sightseeing and knowledge of the the local area, together with their insights into the Andalusian way of life. It was an definitely a culinary and cultural experience to remember!
I wanted a relaxing getaway, with the option of exploring the nearby villages, and that is what I got! Finca Las Encinas is centrally located and afforded good access to the local region.
Thank-you!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iznajar
3.4 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
9.2 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Luisa
Hotel Maria Luisa
#1 of 1 in Rute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Caseria de San Jose
Caseria de San Jose
#4 of 9 in Iznajar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cortijo La Haza
Cortijo La Haza
#2 of 9 in Iznajar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Carlos Astorga
Hotel Carlos Astorga
#3 of 6 in Archidona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Las Encinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Las Encinas

Property: Finca Las Encinas
Address: Calle Los Juncares, Los Juncares, S/N, 14979, Cordoba, 14979 Iznajar, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Iznajar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Iznajar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gourmet B&B with Cooking Courses - Finca Las Encinas, Iznajar, Andalusia, enjoys a magical setting surrounded by the unspoilt landscapes and offers its guests a homely and idyllic atmosphere. Centrally located in Andalusia, the guests can easily explorer the area or indulge oneself and get way from it all. Sample great food and wine or participate in cooking courses for an exceptional culinary experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing