We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”
Review of Finca Las Encinas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iznajar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca Las Encinas
Ranked #4 of 9 Iznajar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Clive, Maki, and Cei welcomed us into their home and we spent five wonderful days immersed in rural Spain. Clive's cooking lessons were excellent (full of practical tips) and evening meals overlooking the pool and hills covered with olive trees will not be forgotten. We only hope we can treat our friends to paella, flan, asparagus, etc with half the flavor and presentation Clive was able to elicit in classes. Maki provided pleasant transportation to surrounding sites and arranged olive oil and sherry tastings that were fun and informative. We consider this experience a highlight in our years of wanderings- would love to return someday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Finca Las Encinas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

What a lovely place to stay and relax at, great home cooked food and wonderful hosts. Good place to use as a base to visit the local area. This is definitely a place we will return to on future travels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRHtester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I just love this place. It's my second time staying at Finca Las Encinas and both times were just perfect. It's the perfect place to wind down; to enjoy the gorgeous views from the porch while sipping on a glass of wine and eating the most delicious meals. Clive, Maki and their son Cei are great hosts; very relaxing and welcoming. They can tell you a great deal about the area and places to visit. The cooking course Clive gives is a lot of fun and educational and makes your stay at Finca Las Encinas even more special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MireillaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My partner and I have just returned from 5 nights at Finca Las Encinas. This sympathetically restored house set among the local Holm Oak (the Encinas) and olive trees as far as the eye can see was a delightful place to stay and we were very well looked after by our hosts Clive, Maki and Cei. The room we had was spacious, comfortable and spotless, and the pool nice to cool off in after a day out. The Finca is located close to the Subetica National Park with good walking country and beautiful towns and villages near by, and is an easy drive to Cordoba. Don't miss the amazing El Torcal national park with its stupendous limestone rock formations - it will blow you away. May is a perfect time to visit Andalusia with fabulous wild flowers everywhere. Our hosts were always helpful with advice about where to go and with useful tips, and the food was divine. We had dinner there on 3 of our 5 evenings with Clive using fresh local produce to produce mouthwatering dishes and lovely wine. Overall a really super base for a holiday in Andalusia.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Finca las Encinas gave us the most wonderful holiday.

Breakfast and dinner were eaten outdoors with fantastic views across the mountains. The food was fabulous: fresh fish delivered 3 times a week; chicken from the free range hens and cockerels strutting around the finca. Each night gave us a new culinary delight, but the authentic paella with rabbit and bacon was probably our favourite. After describing a patatas bravas we'd eaten out for lunch Clive produced the authentic version the next evening - the best I've ever eaten.

We enjoyed Clive and Maki's hospitality and helpfulness: beers and fino on the terrace at the end of
the day and excellent wine to go with the meals. Maki arranged our oil tasting event and gave us suggestions and directions for places to visit; e.g. parking the car by the bridge opposite the Mesquita.

We stayed for a week, looking for a base from which to visit Granada and Cordoba and have a few
days relaxation in between. After scorching days in the tourist honeypots it was heaven to return to our rural retreat and cool off in the pool. We discovered a beautiful and interesting part of Spain and were spoilt by hosts Clive and Maki, staying in a gorgeous house with two very endearing and well behaved dogs.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra to stay in the suite, Priego de Cordoba
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidalanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed for two nights in this lovely place in the olive trees and can only say good things - the hosts were brilliant and friendly, always there with a cold beer and directions for good drives. Easy for day trips to Cordoba and into the surrounding countryside. Food and wine also excellent, dinner and breakfast, and we even had a swim, maybe a bit cold for march but still worth it. Thanks to Clive and Maki for a great,and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I've just come back from 4 nights at Finca Las Encinas. It was a wonderful break with very friendly and accommodating hosts, Maki, Clive and Cei.

The finca itself has been sympathetically restored and comes complete with 2 dogs, a cat and chickens. It is in a gorgeous and rural location surrounded by olive groves as far as the eye can see (you would definitely need a car to get around). The room I had was spacious with its own little sitting area and balcony with nice features like wooden beams. It was very clean and comfortable.

I had a combination break which included excursions to Cordoba, Granada and Priego de Cordoba and cooking lessons in the evening. Maki played host during the excursions and could not have been more accommodating. She was very knowledgeable about the area and graciously answered my 200 questions. Clive ran the cooking classes in the evening which was a lot of fun. He was quite relaxed and patient in teaching and the food itself was simply wonderful. Both of them had great suggestions on what to buy / eat / visit. They came off as very genuine and warm hosts. I left feeling like I had spent a weekend with friends, not to mention probably about 10kg heavier after all that great food :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank discerningWanderer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iznajar
3.4 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
9.2 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
24.6 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Cortijo La Haza
Cortijo La Haza
#2 of 9 in Iznajar
144 reviews
4.9 mi away
Caseria de San Jose
Caseria de San Jose
#3 of 9 in Iznajar
44 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cortijo La Fe
Cortijo La Fe
#1 of 3 in Montefrio
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Las Encinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Las Encinas

Address: Calle Los Juncares, Los Juncares, S/N, 14979, Cordoba, 14979 Iznajar, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Iznajar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Iznajar
Price Range: £49 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gourmet B&B with Cooking Courses - Finca Las Encinas, Iznajar, Andalusia, enjoys a magical setting surrounded by the unspoilt landscapes and offers its guests a homely and idyllic atmosphere. Centrally located in Andalusia, the guests can easily explorer the area or indulge oneself and get way from it all. Sample great food and wine or participate in cooking courses for an exceptional culinary experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing