We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Holiday Ever, great rooms, food,house,pool,bar everything wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iznajar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brazos Abiertos Casa Rural
Ranked #9 of 9 Iznajar B&B and Inns
Malaga, Spain
1 review
“Our Best Holiday Ever, great rooms, food,house,pool,bar everything wonderful”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We visited Brazos Abiertos i June for a bridwatching holiday...fabulous. Bee Eaters just a 100 m down the road saw sop much, couldn´t have been better. We were out most days with Julie providing a packed lunch and then back to the house for a swim and then drinks on the terrace. Our evening meals were lovely, local food some grown at the house and cooked in a traditional way, excellent and greatv value for money. We particularily liked the honesty bar which made us feel very at home. Sheelagh and Julie willhelp you plan any visits and they even telephoned the local birdwatching expert to ask where we could see the most birds...We can´t praise the girls enough for their hospitality. An added bonus were the guests who were staying at the same time. Thanks for a great holiday we will be back!

Room Tip: all rooms are the same just look on the web site and choose which colour you prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had a wonderful holiday here at Brazos Abiertos. It has a wonderful relaxing atmosphere. Julie and Sheelagh are so helpful and fun to be with. The Hotel is set in a lovely location and the views are out of this world. The rooms are large and really comfortable. Although off the beaten track there is easy access to Cordoba and the coast if you want. We just stayed put and chilled by the pool and took some great walks along the lane. One of the great things about Brazos Abiertos is the welcome you get from the girls. We felt at home and totaly relaxed there. Julie is a fab cook too and we had some lovely meals while there. We are thinking of going back in the winter to make the most of the sunshine.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the ground floor we stayed in the summer room that was at the end and very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We visited Brazos Abiertos mid september looking for a place to relax between the sightseeing trips. We couldn't have chose better. The views are just stunning and the stars at night incredible. We visited the Mesquita and then some lovely places suggested by Julie who is happy to spend time helping you plan your visits. Priego de Cordoba was a real find as was the Castle and Church in Iznajar. In the evening we tended to stay at the house as the wine was good and very reasonable (cheaper than the local bars) and the food superb, such a relief not to have to take the car out again at night.
The pool was great and plenty of places to lounge and relax. We will certainly be back again, thank you so much for such a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theloneranger_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

A wonderful place with wonderful hosts. We were looking for a quiet, chilled out week to catch some sun and respite. We got it and much more besides. We took advantage of the the treatments from Sarah who is excellent and much more than just a beauty therapist. The rooms are very large and comfortable and the terrace is huge with great views, a wonderful place to sit and admire the stars and the lack of noise.
Breakfast is simple but with different fresh fruit and cooked dishes every day and Julie wil even get you to try some of the more unusual fruits available in the area. Julie's dinners are very good and excellent value and if you have any special dietary needs she will accomodate with no problem. They also have a green ethos and use local products as much as possible.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

If you are looking to stay at a quiet, secluded place off the beaten track, accessible via a small winding road, to enjoy days by the pool or driving to explore local towns and monuments, then Casa Brazos Abiertos may be the place for you. We had the perfect honeymoon! It is more like a family run villa than a hotel overlooking acres of olive groves in the beautiful surrounding hills and tiny white villages.

‘Casa Brazos Abiertos’ translates as the house of open arms, a well chosen name for such a welcoming place. Julie and Sheila, who set up and run it, have judged well the balance between being being helpful and leaving guests to themselves. They were always happy to give help and advice whilst remaining discreet. We even enjoyed a pleasant aperitif together with on the quiet terrace and tasted the delicious local olive oil and vinegars.

Food: We ate at Casa Brazos Abiertos a few times and relished exquisite dishes ranging from salads with local goats cheese, nuts and freshly picked figs, to tasty local cheese wrapped in Spanish ham to lamb tagine. They were most accommodating of my dairy intolerance, buying in soya milk and altering the evening menu accordingly. Just let Julie know if you want to eat in.

On other evenings, Julie recommended local restaurants serving delicious food: At the Beach bar I started with a plate of 12 enormous prawns in garlic and oil- such copious servings that I had to ask for the main to be a ‘racion’ (small portion). We also sat outside the restaurant at the end of the main road and enjoyed excellent veal and fish. The food was excellent and setting at both restaurants is rural and not smart, although I am sure if you are looking for a more upmarket dining experience then Julie would be able to recommend somewhere.

Breakfast is served – a variety of cooked options, cereal, fresh local fruit, toast – I highly recommend Sheila’s delicious homemade marmalade! We also enjoyed lunches at local tapas bars in Iznajar (ridiculously cheap) and Salinas after horseriding through olive groves, or bought cold lunch at a local shop to keep in the fridge and help ourselves to.

Drink: We went out the last night in the nearby town of Rute, getting a prebooked local taxi (return 30Euros), and had a lovely evening enjoying lively bars. The place is secluded and the stars are beautiful in the evening – we planned to lie on the sun loungers and do some stargazing but invariably enjoyed too much wine / spirits (the help yourself honesty bar was ideal), and never managed to do so. Perhaps we will do so when we go back for a holiday or long weekend?!

We spent a day in Cordoba (approx. 1hour drive – good directions from Julie) after exploring the stunning Mesquita and winding streets. Granada is another interesting day trip. Also a day on the local, almost empty beach, swimming in the enormous lake, as a few locals fished, played guitar or threw sticks for dogs.

My favourite day was a visit to Iznajar, where the locals say hello to you! For 4euros we were given an in depth tour of the little local castle, amazing church and library and great insight into local history. The town is beautiful and un-spoilt (if rather hilly for a wheelchair user – although the access was surprisingly good in terms of ramps).

Access at Casa Brazos Abiertos allowed me to be entirely independent as a wheelchair user. There are automatic sliding doors, windows low enough for me to open, wetroom, wheeled shower chair, grab rails by the toilet, good sink, pool hoist (pool is approx. 1m deep – check with Julie). Level access from pool to house and slight hill to massage yurt (however you spell that)

Massage: We both enjoyed full body massages, organized by Julie, with a local English woman called Sarah who offers a variety of beauty and massage treatments.

Reiki: The other couple staying and my husband and I had reiki and all experienced a variety of positive results.

Perhaps we were lucky that the other couple staying was delightful, but we were sad to leave and are keen to go back. Thank you Julie and Sheila!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skiraceanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My wife and I booked a week at Brozos Abiertos for our honeymoon - from the stress of planning the wedding to the peace and tranquility of rural Spain.

The moment we arrived Julie and Sheelagh made us feel completely at home and nothing was too much bother or a problem for them to do for us. Prior to our arrival they'd even sprinkled rose petals on the bed for our honeymoon!

My wife is a wheelchair user and the layout of the property means everything is accessable without being too obvious, including the pool, sunloungers and light switches!

Evening meals are offered and we were blown away by the excellence of Julies cooking - the traditional first night Andalucian meal to the fig and goats cheese starter later in the week.

Treatments are available (either by Julie/Sheelagh or other therapists they know locally) at an extra cost but they certainly helped to enhance the relaxing stay we enjoyed.

Yes a car is essential to visit local places of interest or just spend time next to the pool to catch the suns rays.

A place for couples, singles relaxing or a small group wanting to share a holiday together - Brazos Abiertos is the place to go and we'll be looking to go back within a year or two.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murietta
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2011

So glad we chose Brazos Abiertos, stunning views, great rustic local food, honestly bar, lovely breakfast and wonderful hosts who couldn´t do enough for us. The pool area was very good with lots of shade and sunloungers with padded beds. The value for money was amazing...we will be back again , for sure.We did some touring and some lazy days, it was a perfect getaway. Also glad to see that Brazos Abiertos is a fully registered business, unlike most of the other B&B in Iznajar, something we hadn´t thought to check on but will do from now on. Almost forgot take a look at the stars at night in this area...awesome

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same design just different colours so have a look on the web site , we asked f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iznajar hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
6.0 mi away
Caseria de San Jose
Caseria de San Jose
#4 of 9 in Iznajar
37 reviews
8.0 mi away
Cortijo La Haza
Cortijo La Haza
#2 of 9 in Iznajar
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brazos Abiertos Casa Rural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brazos Abiertos Casa Rural

Property: Brazos Abiertos Casa Rural
Address: Los Juncares, Iznajar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Iznajar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Iznajar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brazos Abiertos Casa Rural is a luxurious B&B offering breathtaking views and heavenly scenery. You can spend lazy days around the pool and still be in an ideal location to visit some of the world's best historical sites: Alhambra Palace & Cordoba's Mezquita etc. We have four luxury bedrooms, each has flat screen monitor/DVD, luxury bedlinen and beautiful wet rooms. We are open all year round and also serve evening meals.Brazos Abiertos is fully accessible to any guest. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing