We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure relaxation on a real Spanish getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cortijo Las Olivas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iznajar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cortijo Las Olivas
Dorney, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure relaxation on a real Spanish getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Some friends and I were recommended the Cortijo Las Olivas when we were looking for a 3 day break and I cannot rate this holiday venue high enough! We flew into Malaga airport which was only an hours drive away and got a great deal on car hire as recommended by the owners when we booked. There is some breath taking scenery on the drive to the Cortijo and the directions were clear so we had no problems getting there. The owner, Jess, is one of the most friendliest, welcoming person I have ever met and he quickly showed us to the villa we were staying in, La Finca, leaving us to it and letting us settle in. The villa was beautifully rustic and perfect for our needs, my partner and I stayed in the double bedroom which had a balcony/terrace with seating with stunning views. Our friend stayed in the other upstairs bedroom which had plenty of space and comfort. We spent a great deal of our time in the beautiful pool, soaking in the view of the hillsides and olive groves. We spent some time playing on the full size pool table and using the unique BBQ. There are shops and a supermarket not too far away to stock up and the villa had a great kitchenette so we could cook some things on the hob and store bits in the fridge. Make sure you stock up with water if visiting in the summer as you'll get through it quick enough! I do a daily yoga practice and being able to do it either on the terrace or by the pool in the mornings with the sunrise peaking up over the hills was simply magical. We also took some day trips to the lake in Iznajar which was great for cooling off and had watersports for hire which I would definitely look into when we visit again! Also unmissable is a visit to the nearby gardens and palaces of Alhambra in Granada..... Book in for the early slot to avoid the majority of the crowds!
Overall our time spent at the Cortijo Las Olivas was superb! This is a great place to use as a base when visiting the region or just to stay put, relax and recharge the batteries. Many thanks to Lianne for helping us book our trip and Jess and his amazing stories as well as his amazing hospitality. Mucho Bueno!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenafleur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Cortijo las olivas is situated in a stunning location amongst the olive groves. We were a family of five and found there were so many different places we wanted to go we could easily have stayed another 2 weeks, including lobo park, aqualand, el torcal park, mijas, Granada etc. lake iznajar is nearby and is stunning. The pool was fantastic and our children had a ball in it. There is a great BBQ area with pool table and the gorgeous garden area was great to sit in whilst relaxing with a glass of wine. Jess the owner is such a lovely man and couldn't have done enough for us, and the children just loved him and his dogs mina and Harry....so much so they didn't want to leave. Lots of great places to eat around about and jess gives lots of helpful info. A great place to have a chilled holiday or if your after adventure as long as you have a car there is lots to explore. We are sad to be home and will miss waking up to the beautiful view, stunning pool and fabulous hospitality of jess. Excellent holiday and really good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly2075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is the perfect getaway, at an affordable price, in beautiful rural Spain. Loved the rustic charm of the apartment, and the easiness of Jess the owner, always on hand to help out with any enquiry we may have had. This is a beautiful part of Spain, and well worth a visit, with so many places to see. We would love to come back to this area, as we have still a lot to explore, and we just never tire of the beautiful scenery! It was lovely to come back from our excursions, and have a dip in the lovely pool, then maybe a bbq, washed down with some lovely Spanish wine, which just finished the day nicely. Just loved our visit to Las Olivas, and hopefully will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

If you want to experience a rural traditional spain, this is the perfect place to do it from! Set amongst spectacular mountainous views, its tranquille and unblemished location makes it the ideal place for peace and quiet. The villa was spacious and well maintained, and its clear to see that the owner Jess has put his heart & soul into every detail, I cannot praise and thank him enough for how welcoming and caring he was during our stay. A car is essential, but the villa is really easy to find and some of Spain's most amazing wonders are within an hours drive (Do not miss the Alhambra!!) You also get a welcome pack full of local restaurants which are personally recommended and whether travelling as a family or a couple, this place really is an absolute must.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hacienda which was ideal with our 2 year old boy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Traveling on my own, I stayed in the casita for 2 nights in June. The apartment was lovely, especially the charming old beamed ceiling in the bedroom. I also enjoyed having breakfast every morning at my table in the courtyard planted with gorgeous roses. It is so peaceful and such a lovely rural location right in the middle of all the olive trees, that one can easily spend the whole day at the cortijo. The pool was absolutely sparkling and I had it all to myself.

Jess, the owner who lives there, was full of local tips and is a delight to chat with. I had forgotten my bathing suit and he produced one for me to borrow!

I absolutely loved the short drive down the dirt track and splashing through the little stream - it was all part of the adventure. It's a really great value for money as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

A week in June - some relaxation, peace and quiet and sunshine - that's all we wanted. We got that, a million times over!

The location is stunning, peaceful yet easy to drive to a few local villages and towns. The directions from Malaga are spot-on and so easy, the road infrastructure to Iznajar is so great.

The cottage was comfortable and had all the facilities we needed. We loved the rustic charm so much.

The gardens and pool were second to none.
Our cottage opened out onto the pool area, with table and chairs just for us, so we sat under the stars, watching the bats and hearing nothing apart from the fantastic wildlife noises in the olive groves surrounding us, in the evenings after dinner.

We ate out every evening having been recommended some good restaurants. We didn't have one complaint about any of the food, it was all super.

It's also easy to drive to the large supermarket 15 mins away to stock the fridge with everything you need if you don't fancy eating out.

The area is picturesque, Cortijo Las Olivas is wonderful and Jess is fantastic - you made our holiday much more enjoyable! We enjoyed our chats and hearing your stories, we were sad to say goodbye to you, Meena and Harry. You made us so welcome and at ease.

We weren't sure we'd be good at this type of holiday (we go every year to European Cities) but Las Olivas has converted us for sure!

Jess, we will be back to see you that's definite, you are wonderful and what you have at Las Olivas is amazing! As long as you can promise the same weather we had last week ...?! :)

Thank you Lianne also, for all your pre-holiday help and assistance. We felt well looked after even before we arrived.

From start to finish, definitely our most enjoyable holiday.

See you next year Jess!

Mel & Nick

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rods_3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PESSAC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We spent a very pleasant week in May at Cortijo Las Olivas. We enjoyed the convenient location, not far from the great places of Andalusia and the very beautiful village of Iznajar. We appreciated the nicely-decorated patio and the terrace of our own where we had our dinners. Even though we had no time to try the swimming-pool, we think it's a worthy asset. Last but not least, we are thankful for the quietness of the place and the discreet presence of the owner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank queenPessac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iznajar
3.0 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
4.7 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
1.0 mi away
Cortijo La Haza
Cortijo La Haza
#2 of 9 in Iznajar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Caseria de San Jose
Caseria de San Jose
#4 of 9 in Iznajar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
59.9 mi away
El Molino Del Abuelo
El Molino Del Abuelo
#1 of 2 in Montecorto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
13.4 mi away
El Rincon de Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Las Olivas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Las Olivas

Property: Cortijo Las Olivas
Address: Lugar Adelantado 12, 14978 Iznajar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Iznajar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Iznajar
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing