We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular views..”
Review of Cortijo La Loma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iznajar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cortijo La Loma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“spectacular views..”
Reviewed 15 July 2010

What a beautiful place, the views are superb. Martin and Gaynor have thought of everything. We arrived with plans to visit all of the nearby towns and cities but ended up realising that La Loma was the main event and that the location cannot be beaten! We enjoyed lazing by the pool looking out over the olive groves to the lake and mountains beyond.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelanieandRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
120
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SOUTH WIRRAL
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

This was our second vist to La Loma.Having spent 8 nights here last September we returned this year in June for sixteen nights with high expectations and are pleased to say that we were not disappointed.
We spent most of our time relaxing and taking in the spectacular views of the Andalucian countryside,with frequent dips into the swimming pool.
We visited Cordoba and took in an authentic flamenco performance,we also visited the
World heritage city of Ubeda were we stayed overnight in the Parador,we also took day trips to Priego de Cordoba,Antequera and Fuente de Piedra site of the lagoon where we saw flamingoes and a variety of other wild birds.
La Loma is ideally situated for visiting many places of interest in Southern Spain having easy access to the major road network
Martin & Gaynor are wonderful and are always available for assistance or just to chat.
During our stay we also enjoyed meeting fellow travellers who also had been lured by the charms of La Loma and having time to discuss various places of interest they also visited.
Supermarkets are within easy reach as are a number of restaurants ,We tended to visit El Charcon more often than most as we particularly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and good reasonably priced food
We have also booked a further stay for two nights in September as an extension of a previously planned holiday in Anadalucia

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

La Loma is one of those amazing discoveries occasionally experienced on a holiday;
peace, quiet and luxury with a view. Enjoy the privacy of country location as well as
proximity to several great day trip possibilities such as the beaches of Malaga, the
Alhambra of Granada and the Sierra Nevadas as well as Cordoba and Seville.
Martin and Gaynor are gracious hosts who are rightfully proud of their elegant, comfortable villa.
Don and Joy Thiessen, Ottawa Canada

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

After driving up the winding roads to La Loma in the early hours, we were greeted by the Owners Martin and Gaynor with a cold drink and a warm welcome, instantly dissolving the stress of a nightime drive in an unfamiliar car on unfamiliar roads.
We woke in the morning and looked out to one of the most beautiful views imaginable. Our teenage son and his friend soon woke themselves by taking a swim in the clean and well maintained pool. The villa is well furnished, clean and suitable for up to six people. We were only four and had ample room. We spent the week sightseeing and lazing around the pool catching up on reading and basically doing nothing. Alhambra in Granada is a must to visit and La Ronda is also impressive. La Loma is only suitable for those wanting peace, quiet and tranquility away from the bustle of everyday life and as far away from your average "Brits abroad with Kiss me Quick hats" as you could wish for. There are some nice restaurants in the local vicinity but stock up with food, wine etc as soon as possible as the trips to the shops are not short (at least 25 minutes each way to a decent supermarket).
Overall, a wonderful place to relax and take in the local culture and "views to die for".

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judgeatnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coin, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2010

La Loma is absolutely divine, with the most fabulous views, and every home comfort. It is the perfect place to relax and re-charge your batteries. Martin and Gaynor are wonderful hosts, unobtrusive but about to offer any help or advice needed. The pool is superb and the thoughtful pack of goodies on arrival most welocme and useful. As I was with friends, I appreciated the en-suite bathrooms so much.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbounre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

This is a great place for a base if you want to take in some sites. Worth visiting towns within 30 miles as well as the famous ones.I would recommend an early start,lunch out,siesta, pool duties and then a supper on the terrace! The views and stars were fantastic.

We found it much hotter than expected and the pool was much appreciated.
You don't need to take any books as there is a good stock on site.

Our hosts were charming and most helpful.We had a great time.
Sally , Evesham, UK

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyH35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnstaple
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Ideal for visiting Cordoba and Granada and for getting a feel of the countryside in this part of Spain. Fantastic views over Lake Iznajar. Unusually helpful hosts who made friends with us even before we arrived.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrietcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iznajar
2.2 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
7.3 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
0.5 mi away
Caseria de San Jose
Caseria de San Jose
#4 of 9 in Iznajar
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cortijo La Haza
Cortijo La Haza
#2 of 9 in Iznajar
139 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo La Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo La Loma

Property: Cortijo La Loma
Address: Alarconas 21 | Cordoba, 14978 Iznajar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Iznajar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Iznajar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the crest of a hill, surrounded by Olive trees, the Cortijo enjoys breathtaking views of the Lake Iznajar and the mountains. With the mountain village of Iznajar just 7km away we are ideally situated to the attractions of Granada, Cordoba, Seville, Malaga and the coast. We have two quality self catering Casitas, a one bed (sleeps 2)and a two bed (sleeps 4). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing