We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of paradise”
Review of Cortijo La Loma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iznajar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cortijo La Loma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little slice of paradise”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

This was our 2nd trip to La Loma and it was even more fantastic than our first trip a couple of years ago. This time we had the bigger house at the front, with the permanent spectacular views.. and even though I d been before, I still just couldnt take my eyes away from the fantastic scenery.. its just so spectacular! On this 2nd visit we had just come from 5 nights in Nerja, at the sea, eating out every night... so for our 3 night stay at La Loma we came prepared, via the Supermarket, so that we didnt have to leave once, just soaked up the sun, the view, read books and relaxed in total peace & quiet - simply bliss. Martin and Gaynor were lovely, such genuine people, and I feel lucky to know them and know about this magical place. Please dont change it, its just Perfect the way it is . Thanks again, Carole Reece

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithycaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
121
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

A delightful place to stay, the casita exceeded our expectations being both charming in character but with modern amenities. Gaynor and Martin are superb hosts, available for information when needed but not intrusive.
We spent a lovely week exploring the countryside and came home each day to the magic of "la Loma" and its glorious views.
Hope to return one day!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerryabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Went back again to La Loma and enjoyed it as much as last year.
Weather perfect
Martin and Gaynor once again perfect hosts. Thank you so much for a perfect 10 days.
See you again soon Mal and Connie

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostinSpain55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay, the accommodation is well designed. It is easy to self cater, plenty of pots and pans. Gaynor & Martin are very helpful and on arrival there is a food pack waiting.

It's a great place to relax and unwind. The views are stunning. We stayed for 4 nights and travelled to a few of the local towns, also walked around lake Iznajar. My partner took his road bike and cycled most mornings. The cycling is quite challenging as the roads are hilly, but great for improving fitness and very very quiet. I took the easy option and relaxed by the pool with a book.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuftyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We have just returned from a week's break at La Loma, and cannot speak highly enough of the casita or its hosts. The setting is just stunning - the panorama from the terrace is vast and spectacular across Lake Iznajar. The pool is great and extremely well looked after, and we almost always had it to ourselves. Gaynor and Martin are the perfect hosts - they strike the ideal balance between being hugely friendly and helpful but also completely unobtrusive. We found La Loma to be a great base for exploring Seville, Granada, Cordoba and Ronda given that it is sat in the middle of the various provinces. The casita is relatively remote - the nearest restaurants or shops are a good twenty minutes away, but if you are looking for peace, complete relaxation and an authentic Andalucian experience - as we were - then this is the perfect destination and great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW12London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldershot hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This is our third year visiting la loma, we stayed in the larger casita with our 1 and 2 yr old sons, we all thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay and we're so sad to leave such a beautiful tranquil place, my husband and I felt completely relaxed and even having 2 toddlers with us we were so chilled... The view, wonderfully kept and clean accomodation, the 2 best hosts you could wish for and that pool that my boys wished they could wake up to everyday... We defy anyone who could not be 100% happy here, obviously its out of the way and the need for a vehicle is essential but we knew that when we booked and it is actually a bonus as its private but with the costa del sol only an hour away you can have a lovely drive a beach walk, visiting lots of local treasures and take all andalucia has at your leisure and guaranteed tranquility when you wake in the morning ... Travelling with toddlers was a worry yet with gaynor and martin so on the ball we had everything we needed and so usefull not to have to pack everything as a stairgate on the main door provided the safety of knowing the boys could not escape whilst we had a break by the pool and a highchair, a cot with bedding and steam sterilliser for bottles are all in place also therefore making travelling with young one's so much easier (less luggage too) .. if you need a single thing Martin and Gaynor are there to help and are more than happy to do so yet when you want your privacy you wouldnt know they were on site, they are both just magic & the icing on the cake, we will miss them both this year and the beautiful home they have but on the other hand we will be seeing them again next year and as we cant resist each year we visit to rebook again we will probably be seeing them year after year as after staying here nothing we've experienced before lives up to la loma ... thank you Martin & Gaynor for giving us paradise for a week xxx

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimandmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2010

High on an Andalucian hilltop, La Loma is just one rung down from heaven.

While the pictures on the La Loma website may look very good, they in no way do it justice. The view is simply huge! This little piece of paradise crowns a steep slope of cascading olive trees with a turquoise lake way down below, hills rolling off in every direction, a dramatic trio of jagged peaks across the way and, in the distance, the snow topped caps of the Sierra Nevada.

It is possible to sit on the beautiful pool terrace, relax and drink in the view for hours on end and enjoy every second of the experience.

As the light ebbs and flows across the olive groves, goat bells tinkle in the distance and the sleepy sounds of the working day, wreathed in the scent of wood-smoke, drift up from the valleys, you feel you could sit there forever.

But of course you’re in Andalucia and there is too much to be seen not to drag yourself away from time to time. For people who lean towards the natural, a hike around the bizarre limestone turrets of El Torcal, a national park near Antequera, is not to be missed.

There are countless wonderful places to visit within an hour or so and La Loma is a perfect base, right at the geographic centre. Antequera, Ronda, Grazalema, Setenil de las Bodegas, El Chorro, Marbella’s old town, Montefrio and of course the magnificence of Granada’s Alhambra and the Mezquita at Cordoba.

And back at the cortijo, after a big day out, the comfort levels, the ambience of the location and the discreet friendliness and helpfulness of Gaynor and Martin make La Loma the best place possible for a totally relaxing and fulfilling holiday.

We live fifteen thousand kilometres away and, even so, we’re seriously considering going back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iznajar
2.2 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
7.3 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
19.6 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Caseria de San Jose
Caseria de San Jose
#4 of 9 in Iznajar
41 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cortijo La Haza
Cortijo La Haza
#2 of 9 in Iznajar
139 reviews
15.7 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo La Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo La Loma

Property: Cortijo La Loma
Address: Alarconas 21 | Cordoba, 14978 Iznajar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Iznajar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Iznajar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the crest of a hill, surrounded by Olive trees, the Cortijo enjoys breathtaking views of the Lake Iznajar and the mountains. With the mountain village of Iznajar just 7km away we are ideally situated to the attractions of Granada, Cordoba, Seville, Malaga and the coast. We have two quality self catering Casitas, a one bed (sleeps 2)and a two bed (sleeps 4). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing