We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Idyllic Stay in Rural Andulasia”
Review of Cortijo Las Rosas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iznajar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cortijo Las Rosas
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
“An Idyllic Stay in Rural Andulasia”
Reviewed 29 April 2011

My wife, daughter and her best friend (both 16 years old) spent six fabulous days at Casa Perdiz during Spring Break this year. We arrived late the first day during a Spring shower and Gillian and Marylynne were there to greet us holding much-needed umbrellas. This was just the first of many kindnesses afforded us by the sisters during our week there. Usually we would return from a long day of sight-seeing to find a fire started in our stove and our laundry folded. Gillian and MaryLynne provided excellent and practical information on which sights to see, how to get there, and where to park once you arrived. Our unit contained a large quantity of tourist information that was invaluable in prioritizing what we wanted to see.

The property itself is a renovated farm house with several "casitas" added to the property. Casa Perdiz was a delight. It was quaint and yet functional. We fell in love with the place. The views from the terrace are breathtaking - acres of olive trees covering the hills - and the setting is perfect for those wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of urban life, but still be close to the major sights in Andalusia. We were able to take relatively easy day trips to Grenada and the Alhambra, Ronda and the Costa del Sol, and Cordoba. Seville dropped off of our schedule due to the fact we ran out of time with all the things to see and do - obviously a "next time" is in order! We also enjoyed hiking the trails around Cortijo and were awed by the beautiful views on top of the mountain.

As is evident we highly recommend Cortijo. We had a memorable stay!
We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooter_gtwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We had the most wonderful experience at Cortijo Las Rosas. From the very first email enquiry Gillian and Marylynne helped to shape our trip to Andalucia with recommendations for places in Granada, modifying the arrival pack to my dietary requirements and of course the spot on directions to the casita.

Follow their instructions to the place they are spot on...Incredibly rural, surrounded by olive groves we had every excuse to stay put in the our Casita Galgo. It's perfectly suited for 2 people, the ground floor bedroom is cool and airy with a great ensuite bathroom. Upstairs via the outdoor steps is the kitchen and living area with great views across the valley and catches the sunset. Brilliantly equipped for self catering (including plastic options for poolside meals and drinks!) they provided salt, stock cubes, and the delicious local co-op olive oil. As a cook, this was incredibly refreshing for self catering.

Outside the house within the grounds of our casita was a lovely private terrace and BBQ. The pool is really refreshing, and every little thing thought of here... sunshades, inflatable's, poolside fridge and freezer, cushions...

The area is lovely. The local shops have most things you could need, but the larger towns such as Rute have well stocked supermarkets.

You really couldn't ask for a better place to stay.. personal friendly service, with excellent facilities and a peaceful place to catch some sun.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

My husband and I stayed in Casita Galgo, the smallest of the cottages at Cortijo las Rosas for two weeks in May. We loved the location and the views out over the pool to the hillsides covered with olives. The property was beautifully restored and everything was clean and well maintained. The owners Gillian and Marylynne were so considerate and thoughtful and made sure that everything was provided to make our stay enjoyable. They were always on hand to provide advice about local places and things to do, but were never intrusive. It was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays we have had.
Whilst there we visited Restaurant Piolas in Algaranejo - a truly amazing dining experience - we had the tasting menu for 48 euros and it was superb value for money. A seemingly endless array of dishes arrived - beautifully presented and prepared with amazing ingenuity - a definite if you are in this part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinaPeebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Recently returned from this idyllic little place high up among the Olive groves of Andalucia where we spent 10 lovely days in Casitas Liebre. I have been on several self-catering holidays before, but this was by far the best appointed and equipped accommodation of them all. The owners, Gillian and Marylynne have thought of everything and you will have no trouble doing proper cooking and entertaining. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated and the bed linen and towels were of excellent quality. The Casitas has it's own private courtyard with a BBQ and feels very secluded.

Gillian & Marylynne are keen you get the best out of Andalucia and were so helpful on advising on places to go and getting directions - especially on how to avoid the roadworks. One of the reasons I chose Las Rosas was for it's location which puts you within day-trip reach of Granada, Cordoba, Seville and Ronda. One day we also managed to take the scenic route to Nerja on the coast east of Malaga.

The swimmimg pool is beautifully landscaped and is very clean and overlooks a valley of olive groves. The water was a little cold when we were there, but this was late September after a spell of thundery, rainy weather, which had taken the warmth out of it.

The time spent there seemed over all too quickly - a sure sign of a great holiday and it was sad to have to leave.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetpea098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2009

This was the most perfect place to unwind and relax. Set amongst tranquil olive groves in a beautiful location, it feels a little remote but this adds to its charm and we really can't recommend Cortijo las Rosas highly enough.

The casita we stayed in (Liebre) was flawless. Well appointed, really comfortable, clean, spacious and with a lovely private outdoor courtyard, ideal for eating al fresco or having a barbecue. In fact everything there has been well thought out, beautifully designed and stylish. The swimming pool is fantastic with views over the hills and we spent much of our time there; either in the pool, lying by it reading in the shade of the olive trees, or in the evening watching the stars and the swallows - sounds clichéd, but it really was without fault.

Gilly and Marylynne are perfect hosts and made us feel at home straight away, they really care that you enjoy your time there. Always ready to answer your questions and give advice on the area, but never ever in your way or intrusive. Their driving instructions on how to reach them and places to visit are impossibly spot on and the welcome pack we ordered with them was ideal and well worth ordering.

As mentioned it is a little remote and the last part of the road is windy and a bit rough, but we had no problems with our hire car on it and just took it slowly. Saying that, getting around is no problem, it's a short drive to the local supermarket at Rute and we did day trips to both the Alhambra Palace and Cordoba. We could easily have gone out and seen more, but to be honest it was too relaxing to stay at the casita and walk through the olive groves that we didn't feel the need to.

Again, we highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0sef_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

After spending a week exploring Malaga and the Spanish enclave of Melilla in North Africa (both well worth visiting) we'd booked our last week in Spain in Cortijo Las Rosas, the idea being that we'd just get a chance to relax and unwind somewhere peacfeul. We weren't disappointed.

The trip up is easy enough from Malaga, although in their infinite wisdom the car hire company had subsituted my request for a small 4x4 with A/C to a huge jeep without it. Cortijo Las Rosas is quite remote, which is part of it's charm, but the last miles can be a bit windy and rough - let's just say the jeep wasn't the best car for this sort of territory. In fact I find it hard to think of any country that I'd actually choose to drive the damn thing (it's more suited to a war than a holiday), but that's another story.

We arrived very late and very tired, but Gilly and Marylynne where there to meet us and we instantly felt welcomed and at home. Our own casita (Galgo) was simply but beautifully fitted out, and the welcome box that we'd pre-ordered was indeed very welcome, especially the bottle of wine in the fridge!

The next day, and to be honest for most of those that followed, were spent relaxing around the pool, eating late, strolling in the olive groves and popping out to local places such as Iznajar and Priego de Cordoba. We'd planned trips to larger places, as the villa is not too far from cities such as Granada and Cordoba, but it was just so relaxing to be at the villa that we didn't really feel the need to be anywhere else.

I'd highly recommend Cortijo Las Rosas - it's not just that it's in great location and well fitted out, but most importantly that your hosts really do care that you enjoy your stay and will go out of their way to ensure it. That's something that's hard to find sometimes, so when you do find it I think it's worth passing it on!

  • Liked — Our hosts
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richpb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

Cortijo Las Rosas in Andalucia, Spain is the most wonderful place to unwind. Set in the midst of an olive grove you can decide just how much activity you want to do. Relax by the fantastic, private pool; walk through the countryside; visit the local villages; experience a true Spanish market; ride a mountainbike, treat yourself to a massage or just sip some wine while reading your book under the shady trees.
Marylynne & Gilly are totally committed to providing you with a unique experience. Both are well travelled and they have literally thought of everything you could possibly need or want during your stay. All the casitas are spacious, beautifully appointed and just so comfortable. The ability to open them up for a big group to share or stay private for individuals is a great feature. Private outdoor courtyards and gorgeous communal areas give you the flexibility to dine alone or share a meal with the friends you are sure to make with the hosts or other guests.
Fresh eggs & farm produce from the neighbours were a good way to start our holiday and it just got better every day.
Situated at the crossroads in Southern Spain all the main attractions of Andalucia are easily reachable by car for a day trip.

  • Liked — Quality of the accommodation - they have tought of everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mooremob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iznajar
6.1 mi away
MS Fuente las Piedras
22.1 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
23.4 mi away
Cortijo La Haza
Cortijo La Haza
#2 of 9 in Iznajar
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Caseria de San Jose
Caseria de San Jose
#4 of 9 in Iznajar
37 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Las Rosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Las Rosas

Property: Cortijo Las Rosas
Address: Apdo de Correos 61, 14970 Iznajar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Iznajar
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Iznajar
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing