We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Rural Oasis of Calm...”
Review of Cortijo Las Rosas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iznajar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cortijo Las Rosas
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic Rural Oasis of Calm...”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

If ‘Cortijo Las Rosas’ was a novel it would fall under the ‘magical realism’ genre of fiction in which magical elements blend with the real world.

The impressive owners have created a beautiful and idyllic rural haven in Andalucia, it’s probably the most peaceful, tranquil and divine hideaway in Spain. The lovingly renovated farmhouse and delightful casitas are situated in a breathtaking location cradled deep in the ancient olive groves that fill the region and are adorned amongst bulbous & burgeoning fig trees (even pomegranates, I believe). There is an abundant scent of lavender that subtly pervades the pathways and terrace, where swallows glide, dive and sequentially skim for a welcome drink from the exquisite swimming pool which overlooks a stunning valley; intricately stitched and woven with olive groves. This is the perfect retreat, an enchanting and ‘magical’ place to relax and unwind – truly a slice of paradise!

Gilly and Marylynne are not only two of the most extraordinary and magnificent women you’ll ever meet, but adorable sisters in arms – literally! They are the astounding owners, who energetically and effortlessly manage Las Rosas, which is clearly lovingly well maintained and runs like clockwork. They made us feel incredibly welcome from the off and are extremely attentive hosts who care deeply that you enjoy your time and stay; nothing is too much trouble! They’re tremendous fun, so kind, thoughtful, extremely witty and utterly charming. They’re enthusiasm simply knows no bounds (I can only dream of having that kind of boundless energy in my prime!)

The dual focus and friendly advice is invaluable, both immersed in Spanish culture, they are extremely knowledgeable on not only when and where to visit, but how to navigate yourselves there. These women really know they’re stuff! Both were extremely helpful and accommodating in guiding us and they seemed uncannily able to gauge just what we needed (or did not) at any given time; excursion, adventure, relaxation – appearing with guides, maps and further literature with an almost sixth sense! Right from the start, you know you’re in very good hands. You sense they probably have the capacity to solve the current global economic crisis between them!

Las Rosas’ location is a fantastic starting point to tour the Subbetica de Cordoba region; our day trips and excursions included: Cordoba (World Heritage Site), Priego de Cordoba, Zuheros and Granada (the Albayzin). We have stayed in Antequera before and highly recommend El Torcal natural reserve where there are some of the most beautiful and impressive limestone landscapes in Europe - it really is otherworldly! Also, approaching Iznajar you have an incredibly dramatic setting, when you first glimpse the Embalse de Iznajar; the largest lake in the whole of Andalucia, which is frequented throughout the warm season as a beach. Each casita has plenty of guides and a comprehensive instruction book containing good routes, clear road directions and very useful tips on parking.

The property boasts three superb casitas with private entrances and the facilities are excellent. We stayed in Casita Galgo and savoured every minute of it! The accommodation itself was top notch, very comfortable, immaculately clean and fantastically well equipped; combining many home comforts with traditional touches and bright fabrics. There is a delightful private courtyard with jasmine, potted plants and a built-in BBQ. The bedroom on the ground floor is lovely and cool with comfortable beds and has a well-proportioned ensuite bathroom.

The upstairs living / kitchen area has stunning views across the valley and captures the sunset (and sunrise, if you’re early risers). The kitchen is well conceived and brilliantly kitted-out, there’s simply everything a cook would need (bar a tagine), but then it’s a long way from Tunbridge Wells and slow cooking! Opt for the abundant and generous ‘welcome pack’ (exceptionally good value at 20 euros), it provides all the essentials and much, much more besides. They also ply you with delicious virgin olive oil from the local cooperative.

Simply spend time basking in the sun, lazing, dozing, lolling about or reading under a parasol by the beautifully situated pool overlooking the olive groves. It’s spectacular by the pool at night; either lit or unlit, just gazing under the vast myriad of stars and constellations dancing and winking at you (look out for shooting stars in July & August). It’s blissfully quiet by day and night, with the sounds of swallows and crickets only interrupted by the popping of a cork (or two!) from the poolside fridge/freezer. A perfect setting to enjoy a glass of cava, sip fine wine or try Gilly’s own summer tipple (cerveza and ginger ale, which makes for a delicious bittersweet Spanish lemonade) Salud!

One of the most pleasurable and ‘magical’ holiday experiences ever – we had an incredible time and felt so bereft on departing that we’re already planning an autumnal break in October 2012; madly scouting for flights only after a couple of days back in UK. We’re very much looking forward to a snug bolt-hole, lit wood-burning stove, day trips to the Alhambra, Sierra Nervada and a unique dining experience at Casa Piolas in Algarinejo with a gastronomic tour-de-force – yum, yum!

My last bit of advice, if you’re planning an Andalucian holiday and ‘Cortijo Las Rosas’ is on the list, look no further. Like an extraordinary novel – you’ll fall in love with it, definitely want to delve in again and revisit… its compelling and magnifique!

Room Tip: Casita Galgo is designed for two - it suits friends, couples or siblings. It's corner positionin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire_nordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband, son and I stayed at the Cortijo in December 2011 as part of a four month holiday in Europe. To be honest, the 9 km drive from the village to the casitas almost scared us off. However, once established in the casita, we loved its furnishings, amenities and ambience. So much so, we extended our stay. In fact we voted it the best accommodation of our holiday. This was the only place we stayed during our long holiday that actually provided instructions on how to use the TV, the washing machine and other appliances. This sounds such a small thing but it relieved so many frustrations. Each casita has a book of directions to various towns nearby, with instructions on the best parking to be found, plus plenty of guides and information. Marylynne was so kind and helpful, keeping our fire going each day and giving us some cake to take when we left. The casitas are incredibly well set up, but it is the thoughtfulness and kindness of the hosts that really set it apart.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepid13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at Cortijo Las Rosas in September 2010 and had the most fantastic holiday there and can't wait to go back. Marylynne and Gillian were fantastic hosts, so friendly and helpful. They offered advice on where to visit, leant us a number of books and helped us find some amazing places to eat.

The cortijo itself was beautiful and well looked after, set in the hills amongst the olive groves. We stayed in Casita Galgo which was lovely, and we really appreciated the outside bbq and seating area - perfect for relaxing in the evenings after a day exploring Andalucia!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandClaire_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2011

My wife, daughter and her best friend (both 16 years old) spent six fabulous days at Casa Perdiz during Spring Break this year. We arrived late the first day during a Spring shower and Gillian and Marylynne were there to greet us holding much-needed umbrellas. This was just the first of many kindnesses afforded us by the sisters during our week there. Usually we would return from a long day of sight-seeing to find a fire started in our stove and our laundry folded. Gillian and MaryLynne provided excellent and practical information on which sights to see, how to get there, and where to park once you arrived. Our unit contained a large quantity of tourist information that was invaluable in prioritizing what we wanted to see.

The property itself is a renovated farm house with several "casitas" added to the property. Casa Perdiz was a delight. It was quaint and yet functional. We fell in love with the place. The views from the terrace are breathtaking - acres of olive trees covering the hills - and the setting is perfect for those wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of urban life, but still be close to the major sights in Andalusia. We were able to take relatively easy day trips to Grenada and the Alhambra, Ronda and the Costa del Sol, and Cordoba. Seville dropped off of our schedule due to the fact we ran out of time with all the things to see and do - obviously a "next time" is in order! We also enjoyed hiking the trails around Cortijo and were awed by the beautiful views on top of the mountain.

As is evident we highly recommend Cortijo. We had a memorable stay!
We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooter_gtwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We had the most wonderful experience at Cortijo Las Rosas. From the very first email enquiry Gillian and Marylynne helped to shape our trip to Andalucia with recommendations for places in Granada, modifying the arrival pack to my dietary requirements and of course the spot on directions to the casita.

Follow their instructions to the place they are spot on...Incredibly rural, surrounded by olive groves we had every excuse to stay put in the our Casita Galgo. It's perfectly suited for 2 people, the ground floor bedroom is cool and airy with a great ensuite bathroom. Upstairs via the outdoor steps is the kitchen and living area with great views across the valley and catches the sunset. Brilliantly equipped for self catering (including plastic options for poolside meals and drinks!) they provided salt, stock cubes, and the delicious local co-op olive oil. As a cook, this was incredibly refreshing for self catering.

Outside the house within the grounds of our casita was a lovely private terrace and BBQ. The pool is really refreshing, and every little thing thought of here... sunshades, inflatable's, poolside fridge and freezer, cushions...

The area is lovely. The local shops have most things you could need, but the larger towns such as Rute have well stocked supermarkets.

You really couldn't ask for a better place to stay.. personal friendly service, with excellent facilities and a peaceful place to catch some sun.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

My husband and I stayed in Casita Galgo, the smallest of the cottages at Cortijo las Rosas for two weeks in May. We loved the location and the views out over the pool to the hillsides covered with olives. The property was beautifully restored and everything was clean and well maintained. The owners Gillian and Marylynne were so considerate and thoughtful and made sure that everything was provided to make our stay enjoyable. They were always on hand to provide advice about local places and things to do, but were never intrusive. It was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays we have had.
Whilst there we visited Restaurant Piolas in Algaranejo - a truly amazing dining experience - we had the tasting menu for 48 euros and it was superb value for money. A seemingly endless array of dishes arrived - beautifully presented and prepared with amazing ingenuity - a definite if you are in this part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinaPeebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Recently returned from this idyllic little place high up among the Olive groves of Andalucia where we spent 10 lovely days in Casitas Liebre. I have been on several self-catering holidays before, but this was by far the best appointed and equipped accommodation of them all. The owners, Gillian and Marylynne have thought of everything and you will have no trouble doing proper cooking and entertaining. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated and the bed linen and towels were of excellent quality. The Casitas has it's own private courtyard with a BBQ and feels very secluded.

Gillian & Marylynne are keen you get the best out of Andalucia and were so helpful on advising on places to go and getting directions - especially on how to avoid the roadworks. One of the reasons I chose Las Rosas was for it's location which puts you within day-trip reach of Granada, Cordoba, Seville and Ronda. One day we also managed to take the scenic route to Nerja on the coast east of Malaga.

The swimmimg pool is beautifully landscaped and is very clean and overlooks a valley of olive groves. The water was a little cold when we were there, but this was late September after a spell of thundery, rainy weather, which had taken the warmth out of it.

The time spent there seemed over all too quickly - a sure sign of a great holiday and it was sad to have to leave.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetpea098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iznajar
6.1 mi away
MS Fuente las Piedras
11.6 mi away
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
#1 of 1 in Dona Mencia
117 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hacienda Minerva
Hacienda Minerva
#2 of 2 in Zuheros
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#1 of 4 in Cabra
28 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
23.4 mi away
Cortijo La Haza
Cortijo La Haza
#2 of 9 in Iznajar
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Las Rosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Las Rosas

Property: Cortijo Las Rosas
Address: Apdo de Correos 61, 14970 Iznajar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Iznajar
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Iznajar
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing