We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snowview(Chakrata)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Imperial Clarks Inn Dehradun(Dehradun District)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ratan Palace(Dehradun District)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Chutney Merry(Dehradun District)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
K Blessings(Dehradun District)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
74
30
9
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
30
9
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexotic birdsorganic farmmini zoojungle resortindian armynature loversorganic foodpeace of mindnight stayamazing placeaway from the hustle and bustlesuiteshantispadehradunmrgreenery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I made to Vishranti during the late evening at around 5.30 p.m. and the sun was settling down, The lights of the whole area was being lit when we arrived.

We were greeted by very sweet and welcoming staff who showed us our room to be precise the room of the the king title Araam which had a huge bathroom with a Jacuzzi fitted in it, although could not make use of it during this time of the winter but would surely love to be there during the summer.

This place is ideal for people who want to run away from the every day running around of our lives. No horns no pollution just pure nature and the voices you hear in the the jungle as this resort is located far from the concrete jungle.

I did not get a chance to meet Mr. Mike who has been very dedicated in developing and decorating this place. A great restaurant and a wonderful in house dining experience. Brigadier's bar and Goldy's pub are once again very delicately decorated with old artifacts and the mix of the west.

An amazing collection of international birds at least I have not seen so many together at one place.

A whole area dedicated to an organic farm with the aroma of fresh vegetables growing around you.

The restaurant service needs a little reformation as preparation time in about 45 mins of which we were prepared as were told by previous visitors.

Be prepared to be welcomed into a place which has a blend of the royals as the rooms proudly speak of the same.

Room Tip: The room by the name of Araam connect to the the restaurant downstairs so I felt it was quite convenient to connect whenever I wanted to ask for tea etc.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhaychandna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maddy274, Owner at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of Vishranti. We have been truly inspired by it and will strive to better your experience the next time you choose us as your home away from home.
Thank you
The Vishranti Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Wow! That's the way I would like to begin. An unexpected treasure awaited us. The stay in the vishranti suite along with the serenity of the place was truly calming. With the gentle chirping of the birds, it was a real treat to experience the surroundings. And what to say of the decor!! So tastefully and meticulously planned. The 19th hole pub was a visual treat. The staff are extremely kind and informal. The food is good made to your taste. It is a great place to take long walks. Do not expect the typical service of a five star hotel . It is a different experience and a star in its own right. At least a two night stay is recommended.

Room Tip: Stay in the suites. They are very stylishly made.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shubha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maddy274, Manager at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of Vishranti. We have been truly inspired by it and will strive to better your experience the next time you choose us as your home away from home.
Thank you
The Vishranti Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We, 2 families, drove from Gurgaon early morning in 2 cars with an idea of reaching there in the afternoon as the total distance to be covered is approx 250kms. But it took almost 10 hrs to reach there due to road condition and location map was not clear. Once we reached there, it was an unforgettable experience. A soothing calm and relaxing environment away from the noisy and polluted cities. Since there is limited mobile/net connectivity we were able to spend our time in a very relaxing atmosphere. The personal property belonged to Mr. Michael Dalvi former Cricketer and the place was beautifully done. The staff were very friendly. The cuisine was not elaborate and the food choice was limited . The room and attached bathrooms and toilets needed lot of makeover and repairs. The electrical points were burnt and dangling dangerously and hope they have fixed by now. The spa experience was good and we would love to visit the place again. The organic garden, variety of exotic birds and gerberas garden are a treat for the guests staying there. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are better in every sense.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emeraldqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maddy274, Owner at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of Vishranti. We have been truly inspired by it and will strive to better your experience the next time you choose us as your home away from home.
Thank you
The Vishranti Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We were lucky enough to celebrate my husbands birthday here at the beginning of November as part of a two week trip in Northern India. From the moment of arrival we were treated like honoured guests. The staff could not have been kinder or more attentive especially Rajani the manager but all were extremely helpful and pleasant. We had an amazing welcome with a beautifully decorated room with fresh flowers and balloons, enjoyed a fascinating guided nature walk and had a cookery demonstration by the chef. The icing on the cake however had to be meeting Michael Dalvi, the owner who presented my husband with a bottle of champagne and joined us for drinks and snacks in the restaurant. A fascinating and charming man who then very kindly invited us to have breakfast with him in his home the next morning. I cannot recommend this hotel too highly, the best stay of our holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redcrestedduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We had gone there on 30th nov 2012 for 3 days to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary... It was such a wonderful experience staying at Vishranti.. Rajni , the manager was so warm and loving that she took care of everything. The property, the room (Aram) with a big bathroom and Jacuzzi was an add on... the food, the collection of birds, dogs each and everything was just amazing.. My 3 yr daughter had so much fun , it 's the first resort I have been to where so much care is taken of the kids... Kids really enjoy cycling, on swings , watching and feeding birds and dogs.... This place brings u so close to the nature....! We just loved every moment we spent there.. Thanks to Mr. Michael Dalvi for making our day the most memorable one!... lots of love and all the best...

Room Tip: You can go for Suite... or Aram..., all the rooms r good..
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorers1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maddy274, Owner at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of Vishranti. We have been truly inspired by it and will strive to better your experience the next time you choose us as your home away from home.
Thank you
The Vishranti Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews