We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Taillard
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel de la Maison-Monsieur(La Chaux-de-Fonds)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Petit Relais Hotel(Pont-de-Roide)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
AjoieSpa(Porrentruy)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Motel Fleur De Lys(La Chaux-de-Fonds)
US$153
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CIP Hotel(Tramelan)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
53
43
10
12
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
43
10
12
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroad tripwonderful foodswimming poolfine foodswissvalleyswitzerlanddoubsjuraterrace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We were driving from the UK to the Valais in Switzerland, first night in Laron then here in the Hotel Taillard in Goumois, not the most direct route but were we glad we did the detour. This hotel has a beautiful situation above Goumois, looking across the valley to Switzerland, everything was delightful, a most beautiful garden, an open air swimming pool which we appreciated. Our room was room 3 which was perfect, large, at the front with a small balcony with the wonderful views. The dining room was wood panelled and the service was delightful, even better was the dinner, imaginatively presented and perfectly cooked courses, an excellent meal. You need your French here as only one waiter spoke English, but all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were very sorry to have only booked one night, we could quite happily have stayed here much longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaiReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

After staying three nights in late May 2009 at Talliard, a family-run hotel since 1875, we are planning a circuit that will allow us to return. We booked demi pension (always the best deal and very relaxing not to have to find a restaurant each night) in room 3 -- one of the better rooms, with a small balcony overlooking the Doubs valley. Switzerland beckons on the other side. The room was elegant, with yellow fabric walls, well furnished with real antiques, and a nice bathroom with a real bath.

On our two most sunny and warm mornings we took breakfast (a very nice buffet with typical morning items along with boiled eggs, local cheese, and meats) on the covered terrace overlooking the valley. (See photos.)

Dinner each night was in the main dining room, a classy and elegant site with old oak woodwork and beautiful high windows. (Avoid being seated in overflow side room, used mainly for breakfast.) The kitchen and staff were professional and accommodating. When, one night, we wished to substitute local trout for an item on the (no choice) demi pension menu, they said “yes, that’s possible,” and out came the freshest trout we can recall. Speaking with the proprietor the next day about that, we asked to see their trout supply, and she walked us to a series of ancient water troughs, unlocked one, and showed us about 20 plump trout swimming in the icy and fast-flowing water. That’s fresh.

When we return, we hope to enjoy the pool -- our days exploring the area brought us back too late in the afternoon to jump in, and in any event, it was a bit chilly. Nearby, we enjoyed visiting and hiking at Saut du Doubs (an impressive waterfall); lunch a few km from the Saut at Restaurant-Bar-Pizzeria Du Port, a local restaurant near Viller-Le-Lac, on the Doubs; and hiking the “Échelles de la Mort” (the ladders of death) -- really they are steep stairs, and not nearly as dangerous as it sounds -- offering a nice view of the valley.

When we checked out, we complimented Madame proprietor on her hotel, and alluded to the long tradition of keeping it as a family-run establishment. Alas, a sad look came over her face, as she explained that it was not clear that her son wished to take over. The perennial problem of a family run place. That would be a shame, but she’s young, and so we hope that it remains as it is for many more years.

--Jake (http://parisandbeyondinfrance.blogspot.com/ )

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PByF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2006

We had very relaxing time at this small hotel. Goumois is in the middle of nowhere but natures: river water and green trees. Nothing pretending.So quiet.

The dinner was excellent. Also a wide selection of quality local cheese.

I was also impressed by the small garden, beautifully done.

A recommendable stop when exploring the franco-swiss border area of the franche-comte region.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank porta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2005

We found this hotel a great disappointment. The road there was undergoing repairs and took us on a long and tortuous detour. This meant that getting to anywhere nearby in France was all but impossible. We asked for advice and were told to go into Switzerland. The hotel is on the border but we wanted to visit France, not Switzerland.

The welcome was rather chilly and the room even more so. We had to ask for supplementary heating.

We found the service to be cold, too. Not our favourite.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Boutis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews