We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - attentative staff - super menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Taillard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Taillard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goumois
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great hotel - attentative staff - super menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 days in early July. We had one of the 'duplex' rooms in the annex adjacent to the hotel. Our room was very comfortable comprising; lounge with WC off, private balcony with views across the valley towards Switzerland and a double bedroom and en-suite. We booked half board and dinner on each night was very good albeit limited of choice. However, we found we had dishes we may not have chosen normally and were not disappointed. The hotel wine list is large and prices as sensibe as you wish to make them. All in all we liked the hotel and the staff very much and will most likely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view - its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21stCPragmatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    38
    8
    12
    0
See reviews for
20
55
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

A relais de silence but with little silence as the main road albeit a country road seems to have all night traffic into switzerland

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank confit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff ,Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We were driving from the UK to the Valais in Switzerland, first night in Laron then here in the Hotel Taillard in Goumois, not the most direct route but were we glad we did the detour. This hotel has a beautiful situation above Goumois, looking across the valley to Switzerland, everything was delightful, a most beautiful garden, an open air swimming pool which we appreciated. Our room was room 3 which was perfect, large, at the front with a small balcony with the wonderful views. The dining room was wood panelled and the service was delightful, even better was the dinner, imaginatively presented and perfectly cooked courses, an excellent meal. You need your French here as only one waiter spoke English, but all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were very sorry to have only booked one night, we could quite happily have stayed here much longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaiReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2009

After staying three nights in late May 2009 at Talliard, a family-run hotel since 1875, we are planning a circuit that will allow us to return. We booked demi pension (always the best deal and very relaxing not to have to find a restaurant each night) in room 3 -- one of the better rooms, with a small balcony overlooking the Doubs valley. Switzerland beckons on the other side. The room was elegant, with yellow fabric walls, well furnished with real antiques, and a nice bathroom with a real bath.

On our two most sunny and warm mornings we took breakfast (a very nice buffet with typical morning items along with boiled eggs, local cheese, and meats) on the covered terrace overlooking the valley. (See photos.)

Dinner each night was in the main dining room, a classy and elegant site with old oak woodwork and beautiful high windows. (Avoid being seated in overflow side room, used mainly for breakfast.) The kitchen and staff were professional and accommodating. When, one night, we wished to substitute local trout for an item on the (no choice) demi pension menu, they said “yes, that’s possible,” and out came the freshest trout we can recall. Speaking with the proprietor the next day about that, we asked to see their trout supply, and she walked us to a series of ancient water troughs, unlocked one, and showed us about 20 plump trout swimming in the icy and fast-flowing water. That’s fresh.

When we return, we hope to enjoy the pool -- our days exploring the area brought us back too late in the afternoon to jump in, and in any event, it was a bit chilly. Nearby, we enjoyed visiting and hiking at Saut du Doubs (an impressive waterfall); lunch a few km from the Saut at Restaurant-Bar-Pizzeria Du Port, a local restaurant near Viller-Le-Lac, on the Doubs; and hiking the “Échelles de la Mort” (the ladders of death) -- really they are steep stairs, and not nearly as dangerous as it sounds -- offering a nice view of the valley.

When we checked out, we complimented Madame proprietor on her hotel, and alluded to the long tradition of keeping it as a family-run establishment. Alas, a sad look came over her face, as she explained that it was not clear that her son wished to take over. The perennial problem of a family run place. That would be a shame, but she’s young, and so we hope that it remains as it is for many more years.

--Jake (http://parisandbeyondinfrance.blogspot.com/ )

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PByF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2006

We had very relaxing time at this small hotel. Goumois is in the middle of nowhere but natures: river water and green trees. Nothing pretending.So quiet.

The dinner was excellent. Also a wide selection of quality local cheese.

I was also impressed by the small garden, beautifully done.

A recommendable stop when exploring the franco-swiss border area of the franche-comte region.

  • Liked — food, bathroom,quietness
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank porta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2005

We found this hotel a great disappointment. The road there was undergoing repairs and took us on a long and tortuous detour. This meant that getting to anywhere nearby in France was all but impossible. We asked for advice and were told to go into Switzerland. The hotel is on the border but we wanted to visit France, not Switzerland.

The welcome was rather chilly and the room even more so. We had to ask for supplementary heating.

We found the service to be cold, too. Not our favourite.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boutis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goumois
2.5 mi away
Hotel De La Gare & Du Parc
Hotel De La Gare & Du Parc
#1 of 1 in Saignelegier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
2.6 mi away
Restaurant & Hotel Georges Wenger
13.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Les Endroits
Grand Hotel Les Endroits
#1 of 5 in La Chaux-de-Fonds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant L'Etang du Moulin
18.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 9 in Montbeliard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
8.1 mi away
La Maraude
La Maraude
#1 of 1 in Fournet-Blancheroche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taillard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taillard

Property: Hotel Taillard
Address: 3 route de la Corniche, 25470 Goumois, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Doubs > Goumois
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goumois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taillard 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, HRS, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Taillard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing