We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Kata Beach Resort and Spa”
Review of Beyond Resort Kata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beyond Resort Kata
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We have just returned from our second family holday at this hotel and it was every bit as amazing as our first. This time we had eleven family and friends the first week and were joined by six more for the second week,
We did have a fairly major hiccup with our rooms on arrival having paid for deluxe seaview rooms three of us had been put in rooms with no views (I don't count carparks and rooftops as views) and we had requested adjoining rooms for us and our teenage children. My husband and I were given a grand deluxe (not a problem) and our children were down the hall a bit. All things considered we decided to stay put, after all, we had a great room with a view and the children decided they were ok with theirs. The other two rooms were changed to deluxe as soon as something became available, one was able to change the next afternoon but the other people had to spend two nights overlooking the carpark before they could move. Not ideal, but it was sorted in the end and didn't detract too much from our experience.
We stayed for two weeks this time and it was fabulous again. Kata Beach is a great place to stay, it has everything you could need, beach, restaurants and shoppng and more of the same only bigger up the road in Patong. We found great meals at what we call "the strip" turn left out of the resort and it's the first street (that looks like a street) on the right. We can recommend Cafe Opera, Chaweng something or other, Natalies 2, Mama seafood (right on the corner predominately white) and Danny 44 ( many a fun night was spent here, cheap cocktails and headaches for free). Down the end of the beach we found another good place to eat while you overlook the gorgeous beach I think it was called Kata Seafood, it has a big verandah and a big tree for shade (bliss). We also loved a restaurant called Number 6 in Patong, we ate here three times. It's only tiny and there is always a wait for tables, and having a large group we take up a lot of room. The first time they said we could either wait a while or they could take us up the road to their other restaurant on their shuttle tuk tuk. What a hoot, we had no idea where we were going but once there it was unbelieveabe. Love it. We took the rest of our group up there when they arrived and they loved it too. Best way to descibe how to get there is walk to the end of Bangla Rd (Jungceylon end) and turn left and keep walking til you come across Number 6.
If it sounds like all we did was eat and drink, you'd be correct. However we did fit in quite a bit of pampering, massages, facials, manis, pedis ahhh take me back please. I hadn't experienced the Kanda Spa in the resort before preferring to find cheaper outside but we were given a voucher for a forty five minute treatment which I used on a facial. Absolutely gorgeous. It was only a taste but it is so lovely in there, if you can afford it, it's worth a look, mind you it would still be cheaper than the same treatments here in Australia.
We also did a lot of relaxing by the pool and swimming in the surf. All in all, it was another fabulous holiday spent at Kata Beach Resort and Spa and we will be returning in the future, you can count on that.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theryans-barrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

I had read mixed reviews about this resort but my husband and I loved everything about our stay here. We had a deluxe seaview room on the first floor with amazing views over pool area and beach. The room was well equipped and comfortable with good air conditioning. 2 complimentary bottles of water supplied each day. A great selection of food for breakfast and excellent service received from all staff. Travel staff very helpful and very easy to book activities with. Would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LollyLady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The hotel was great, right on the beach and the facilities and location were great. Close to shops, beach & restaurants. The food and drinks at the resort are quite expensive but there are so many other options around you would be mad to eat or drink there anyway. There is a mini mart and 7 eleven opposite that is cheap for everything. The mini mart on your left as you leave the resort is alot more expensive.
Breakfast wasnt the best buffet we have had but it certainly did the job. There are 3 restaurants on the end of the beach, all of them were great otherwise we found natalies good also. There is a street about 2 minute walk towards karon that is mostly restaurants, you will get a great thai meal at any of the restaurants for about $3.00. Shopping is a little more expensive in kata but ok if you dont want to travel to patong. Banana pancakes out the front of the hotel nightly are a must and a bargain at 90 cents! The skewers from the little bbq trolley were good too. The after beach bar was a great place to have a drink and the view was amazing. Fantasea was really good and i highly recomend going for the show only. We did an elephant trek with adan (??) Tours,(sold to us by mr a the travel rep mr a.)This was an all day tour, although it was good it took 2 hours to get there, you are probably better to do a tour more local. Big buddah and temples are also worth a look. The phuket weekend night market was worth the experience and the food was ace (30 cents for a noodle dish - yes, i did eat myself stupid). We also had to visit the phuket international hospital as my daughter suffered from a high fever, the hospital and staff were fantastic. (the nurofen sold there is double strenth so keep that in mind if buying off the shelf). Make sure you book the deluxe seaview room so you get a great view. All in all i rated the holiday a 9/10.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VIEWTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This hotel was great for our family, with its fabulous pool and close proximity to the beach! My 2-year-old and I could spend our time in the pool, while my 5-year-old and my husband would hang out on the beach. The pool was large and had a variety of depths, which was great for our kids. We all loved hanging out there.

Our room was beautiful and large, with a very comfortable bed and a view of the ocean. The staff was very friendly, and the location was excellent- you just walk outside and within five minutes can get to a number of coffee shops, convenience stores and great restaurants. We loved the Capannina Italian restaurant a block away, though the hotel itself has an Italian restaurant where we has a terrific lunch. The hotel also has a wine shop in the lobby, which is very convenient!

We will definitely stay here again when we return to Phuket, and we highly recommend it to anyone traveling. We think Kata is the best of the three main beach towns (Kata, Karon and Patong), and Kata Beach Resort and Spa has the best location and building, in our opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mairinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed here for 11 nights and had 2 connecting deluxe rooms, the rooms were great and we had heaps of room, always nervous when booking connecting rooms but we had no problems however our friends who we were travelling with also had connecting rooms and reception tried to stay there was none left, however this was sorted out.

Rooms - good rooms however bathroom really needs a reno ! Air con was very noisy.

Breakfast - Everything you wanted but have had better.

Lunch - We had lunch at the cafe beside the second pool and the pizza was very good, we didn't eat dinner at the resort.

Pool - Not as big as it looks on the website but still good, only thing no deep end and a bit warm in the afternoon.

Staff - All seeemed nice enough to us.

Location - This is what makes this reosrt it is right onthe beach so you can lie on your sun lounger and watch the kids on the beach, be careful if they go in the see as it can be rough , also it is in the heart of Kata for shopping at the end of the beach there was 3 really good restaurants, dont go to the very first one it was terriable but Kata seafood and reaggie bar were good the best one was Bella Vista which is up above the reaggie bar food here was really good a little more expensive but well worth it.

Overall would retrun to the Kata Beach Resort, we had a great family holiday.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoldCoastGillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

our first holiday to Phuket and we stayed here, the location is truely amazing , right on the beach, the staff were so friendly, couldnt do enough for us, except for our last day before leaving,...... i put out our laundry for service and left in our room as we had done before etc which our details etc, we get back to our room around 2-3 and our room had been serviced etc and the laundry still in the bag and our slip in the bag !!!!, not done at all.i was a bit angry about this as the cleaner or whoever looks after the laundry etc had delibritly put our details etc in the bag , and didnt take it !!, but over all its a great location, the rooms however are well used, paint chips etc every where, needs some attention, air con is very noisey, the staff and food were very friendly and we had great service from them, once again the shower is over a old timer bath.

would stay again , but hope they do up the rooms a bit, theres so much more places out there these days, you have to keep up your game,

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flowerbomb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We travelled to Thailand and Phuket a few times and searched the net for a hotel in Phuket that would give us direct access to the beach for the children and therefore decided on this resort. We were not disapointed with the location and the children loved the beach.

I must compliment the resort on the cleanliness and up keep of the resort. However we were extremely dissapointed in the service of the resort, no personal touch or attention to detail.

I flew in from a business trip and arrived earlier. I had communicated directly with the resort to arrange for pickups. At the airport, the driver apologized as the airport rep was late then was asked were is the rest of the family. After explaining that the rest of the family will only arrive later but that I have arranged a second pickup for the family with the resort, I was told that they have no record.

During check-in I again reminded them of the pickup for the family and got some dull stairs. I had to show them the confirmation mail from the resort for the two pickups before they liaized with there transport department to arrange for the second pickup. After check-in I asked them if the two rooms are adjoining as the kids would be staying in the second room. They were not aware that I have booked two rooms and again had to show the resorts confrimation mail of adjoining rooms. After getting the second room sorted, they had to do three changes to get two rooms next to each other.

During the entire weeks stay I have not seen one happy staff member, never saw one smile, never had anyone greet us although we would greet them as we walked by espescialy my youngest, once or twice we got some murmer back.

Twice appraoched staff to get some details of the resort, but left standing while staff will engage in a convestation with onther staff member. This also happened in the restaurant that they will be standing to take your order and then start a convesation and joking with someone else a couple of tables away. Arriving at the restaurants no one will greet you, you only get some stairs. Staff wil rather stand in groups talking than give you any service. Restaurants service to say the least absolute terrible. Food on the other side very good. For the last couple of days we ate at restaurants in the area and experienced a lot beter service, especially from Horn Bill's steakhouse right opposite the road. The resort can go learn from them about service.

If the resort upped there guest service, guest relations or putting the customer first they could definately become one of the finest resorts in Thailand, they already have location and building for it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jaco_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,290 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
874 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#41 of 56 in Kata Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jinta Andaman
Jinta Andaman
#14 of 57 in Kata Beach
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
844 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Resort Kata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Kata

Address: 1 Pakbang Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Kata Beach Resort and Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £54 - £1,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Kata 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond Resort Kata (formerly Kata Beach Resort & Spa) is a 4.5 star resort set directly on Kata Beach, a spot that provides the calm blue of a wide horizon and all the fun of a classic tropical holiday for families and couples. The resort features 275 smart and stylish rooms and suites with sea view and pool access options, and with room categories especially suitable for families. Lush gardens and a shimmering swimming pool are a restful beachside setting for sun-filled days and incredible sunset views across the blue of the Andaman Sea. The Kids’ Club is supervised by trained carers and will keep the youngsters busy and happy. Kanda Spa is the ultimate retreat for individuals and couples. A gorgeous wedding venue, with wedding planners and packages to make the great day a success, the resort can cater for up to 400 guests at any event in its attractive function spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Beyond Resort Kata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort
Beyond Resort Kata Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing